Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats with all the shootings??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

What is happening around Dublin at the moment?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0315/602571-shooting-lucan/

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0315/602550-tallaght-shooting/

Its sad to see turmoil in a city that is about to celebrate St Patricks Day this weekend.

Its down to a lack of guns.

We need more guns so that people with guns dont shoot people without guns.

Cause there'll be people with guns there to shoot them first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

shur up or i'll bleedin shoot you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

In all truth I read the BBC and the Daily Mail every morning, and I would guess we have more gangland killings per year than London alone, never mind the whole of England has per year, despite the x11 population.

English suppileris mus be some soft f'uckers to rip off :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

In all truth I read the BBC and the Daily Mail every morning, and I would guess we have more gangland killings per year than London alone, never mind the whole of England has per year, despite the x11 population.

Right.......

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Church is the mire, morals are gone to hell, scumbags run riot, nobody is going hell anymore or so they think.

Right.......

Ireland, per year since the early 90's, has between 15 to 24 gangland murders per year.

Bar an exception or two, all in Dublin or Limerick.

Care to respond? Or does "right...." answer her all :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Duck season!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The Church is the mire, morals are gone to hell, scumbags run riot, nobody is going hell anymore or so they think.

Religion is probably responsible for more murders throughout history than anything else. Murders aren't increasing anyway, so there's your theory out the window.

Ireland, per year since the early 90's, has between 15 to 24 gangland murders per year.

Bar an exception or two, all in Dublin or Limerick.

Care to respond? Or does "right...." answer her all :pac:

There was 54 murders in Ireland last year, 722 in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Religion is probably responsible for more murders throughout history than anything else. Murders aren't increasing anyway, so there's your theory out the window.

Surely murders have increased in the last generation.

Not really:
    www.tara.tcd.ie/bitstream/2262/2144/1/jssisiVolXXVII_135175.pdf

http://www.cso.ie/Quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=cja01c1.asp&TableName=Homicide+Offences&StatisticalProduct=DB_CJ

In per capita terms, murders are quite low in a historical context.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Religion is probably responsible for more murders throughout history than anything else. Murders aren't increasing anyway, so there's your theory out the window.[/QUOTE

Yeah yeah bullsh1t, How many murders happened in Ireland in the 50s and 60s? One a year used to be the statistic, these days nearly every weekend theres some atrocity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Dublin certainly seems to be the muder capital of Ireland atm - aka gun city. From news reports the amount of illegal firearms around appears to be staggering yet AGS appear to be attempting to get rid of the legally held ones.....

Yeah yeah bullsh1t, How many murders happened in Ireland in the 50s and 60s? One a year used to be the statistic, these days nearly every weekend theres some atrocity.
    Homicide Rate:

1845-1854 24.0
    1895-1904 15.8
    1945-1954 3.4
    1995-2004 13.7

50s was a low point for sure, but population was far lower. Religion existed in the time frames before it also when Ireland had its highest per capita levels of murder.

http://books.google.ie/books?id=U-zAOTg22O4C&pg=PA80&lpg=PA79&ots=tt-Qk--_X6&focus=viewport&dq=violence+in+europe+ian+o%27donnell&output=html_text

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The Guards are too busy cancelling pelanty points to do real crime stopping

It's understandable that since that upstanding hard working factory man was recently shot at that there would be some fallout, but a 60year old woman and her daughter?

Dublin is a ****ing kip no matter where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭championc

I would reckon that every murder gets coverage in the media, with hightened coverage for gangland ones.

Only a very small proportion of them in the uk get reported, because it's not such a rare thing. The media over there seem to only jump all over one if a minor is involved, or if the victim is a friend or relative of someone half famous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

It's understandable that since that upstanding hard working factory man was recently shot at that there would be some fallout, but a 60year old woman and her daughter?

Nah its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Yes it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

gozunda wrote: »
    Dublin certainly seems to be the muder capital of Ireland atm - aka gun city. From news reports the amount of illegal firearms around appears to be staggering yet AGS appear to be attempting to get rid of the legally held ones.....

Yeah, as legally held ones "could fall into the wrong hands". Here's the news, the "wrong hands" already have all the guns they want or need and if you showed them the average farmers 12-gauge, they'd have a laugh and show you their Glock. Crime in Ireland is now much more International, it's influenced by Irish lads who have travveled to the continent and seen the easy access to firearms there and brought that culture home. There's also a lot of foreign gangs operating that have always taken guns for granted....so you get more shootings.

On another note though, I spoke to a stone cold foreign chap I know and he told me that on the continent, if they shot someone, they would have to do time as they would be caught, almost 95% certain.. he reckoned here, getting away with it is theoretically much easier as the Gards just don't have the resources and the language barrier is very hard for the Gardai to overcome. Which makes sense. The prevalence of lads flying in for the day then flying back out again that evening also makes the chances of getting arrested pretty slim..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭conorhal

Except that's rubbish. It clearly states that from 1945-57 the average murder rate was 3. These days that represents a bad week.
    In 2012 the murder rate according wikipedia was 54, low by the standards of Afghanistan, but unacceptably high to any member of a victim's family I assure you.
    The stats presented in that article also only go up to 1993 wich is around the time that gangland violence really began to spiral out of control, there have been more murders in the first quater of this year then the whole of 2013. If you took the years '93 to present the murder rate on that graph would resemble mt. Everest.
    I'm baffled that the 'nothing to see here' brigade seem so determined to bury their head in the sand at what is clearly an alarming increase in violent crime in this country.

conorhal wrote: »
    In 2012 the murder rate according wikipedia was 54, low by the standards of Afghanistan.

Why be sensationalist and compare the rate to Afghanistan? It's similar to the standard of any developed country.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

Within the 20th percentile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

live by the gun, die by the gun

I live by the river. I'm never going in again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

that aul one and her Daughter were hardly living by the gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Hootanany wrote: »
    Yes it is
    Malahide, Sandymount, Clontarf, Foxrock - real sh1t-holes all right.
    Stupid posts should automatically self delete.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

troll_bridge.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Some of this thread is making my brain shrivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

I think the reason things seem worse in Ireland is because of the amount of gun crime which is more headline grabbing than a beating or a knifing. The uk seems to have a lot less gun crime even though their murder rate is the same or higher. Here's one Scottish article from 2013 that says there was only one shooting in Scotland in 2012. We've had two this weekend, not to mention all the attempted murders with guns since the start of the year.

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/433651/Scotland-still-top-of-British-murder-rates-despite-record-fall-in-violent-deaths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Hate living in Dublin, scared to move outside the door for fear of being shot :(

lol jk, I'd still take the risk of getting shot over living anywhere else in Ireland in a heartbeat. Thing's aren't as bad here as you might think.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭conorhal

Why be sensationalist and compare the rate to Afghanistan? It's similar to the standard of any developed country.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

Within the 20th percentile.

I didn't, I said we're nothing near as bad as the worst, but that means little to the victims, why are you misrepresenting what I said by quoting half a sentence? And why are you so eager to pretened there's not problem with gun crime in this country and it hasn't exponentally increased?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭Archeron

How the hell did I read that thread title as what's with all the hedgehogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Archeron wrote: »

St Patrick's Day Weekend is a helluva drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Archeron wrote: »

After years of living in hedges and ditches, they are about to fuck things up! Hedgehog styleeeeeee!

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    After years of living in hedges and ditches, they are about to fuck things up! Hedgehog styleeeeeee!

Their leader came up with a cunning kamikaze plan to defeat the humans involving running out, spines flaring and taking out the front tyre of speeding cars, causing the huge enemy to crash and burn. So far it has met with limited success..and is under re-consideration. But the Hedgehogs are patient...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

Large number of gaurds just went by me 5 mins later a large barrage of gunshots somewhere near the nass road

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Muise... wrote: »
    St Patrick's Day Weekend is a helluva drug.

3 people suffered gunshot wounds and 2 dead in 48hours

hasnt even got to the big day yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Homicide Rate:

1845-1854 24.0
    1895-1904 15.8
    1945-1954 3.4
    1995-2004 13.7

50s was a low point for sure, but population was far lower. Religion existed in the time frames before it also when Ireland had its highest per capita levels of murder.

http://books.google.ie/books?id=U-zAOTg22O4C&pg=PA80&lpg=PA79&ots=tt-Qk--_X6&focus=viewport&dq=violence+in+europe+ian+o%27donnell&output=html_text
    Also modern emergency care means a lot of people who would have been 'murdered' in the past survive their attacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Scouser wrote: »
    3 people suffered gunshot wounds and 2 dead in 48hours

hasnt even got to the big day yet

I don't think that's why Archeron saw hedgehogs, unless they're shooting mushroom bullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

...__... wrote: »
    Large number of gaurds just went by me 5 mins later a large barrage of gunshots somewhere near the nass road

Nothing on the news yet, you sure it was gunshots?

macnug wrote: »
    Nothing on the news yet, you sure it was gunshots?

probably fireworks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

Didnt sound like fireworks but you never know maybe ten shots in rapid order.
    But f me there were some amount of garda cars I counted over 15 plus the ones that went before I got to the wall.
    The helicopter was up too maybe it was the car ramming or something like that no one has heard anything yet.

There was 54 murders in Ireland last year, 722 in the UK.

Which is why I said gangland murders seem to be more common here :rolleyes: Easily about a third of our murders, at that rate the UK would be looking at nearly one per day. Outside of London and Liverpool they just never seem to happen. It just has you wondering, how do they handle informers, business rivals and debts in Newcastle like. Whereas here a hit can happen for the most spurious of reasons. John Gilligan is skint, getting old and has few contacts left who want to deal with him, yet someone still regards him enough to want him dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Which is why I said gangland murders seem to be more common here :rolleyes: Easily about a third of our murders, at that rate the UK would be looking at nearly one per day. Outside of London and Liverpool they just never seem to happen. It just has you wondering, how do they handle informers, business rivals and debts in Newcastle like. Whereas here a hit can happen for the most spurious of reasons. John Gilligan is skint, getting old and has few contacts left who want to deal with him, yet someone still regards him enough to want him dead!

Oh and Manchester, remember this fella?

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-manchester-19648923

And Birmingham

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-birmingham-22488963

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-birmingham-23759393

And Bristol

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-bristol-16955408

Also Nottingham

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-nottinghamshire-22938525

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-nottinghamshire-23604078

Don't forget Leeds

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-leeds-24944770