Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford Focus thinking of buying

• 15-03-2014 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

Bit of background, recently sold my e60 BMW 520i 2.2 petrol after the MPG was just killing me off at 19mpg. Anyway, I enjoyed my time in the BMW and we have come to part. Having sold off the car I have a budget for a new car at around 3000-4000, I could stretch to 5000. Going to save a little in the weeks until I see something nice I am in no rush to buy.

Anyway, I have an interest in the Ford Focus 2004 new shape the 1.6 TDCI. Basically looking for some feed back on what people think of the car, the MPG seems decent at around 58/60 mpg. Conveniently another car I like the look of the Volvo s40 2004 new shape 1.6 TDCI uses the same engine.

Just wanted some options as I am not in any rush at the moment to buy.
    • Got to be diesel
    • 3000-4000 could stretch to 5000 if the car is worth it, kinda want the car not to plummet to much in value
    • 2005+ could drop back to 2004 for right car but no lower than 2004
    • cc max 1.6

Just wondering what people on here think as I have gotten some great advise on here before!

Thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I had one of those volvo's for a while, I found it underpowered, particularly for overtaking. Mpg wasn't great either 40-45 at best. Never had a problem but I believe that engine can cause no end of trouble if not maintained correctly and on schedule with the right oil. Personally I wouldn't take a chance on an 04 unless the service history is immaculate. That's rare in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

All I'll say is if your trying to save money a 1.6tdci focus is not the car to buy. Infact I wouldn't touch anything with the peugoet 1.6hdi/ 1.6 Psa engine this is the engine that the focus / volvo has. Them focuses do early 50s mpg on very long trips you'll never see 60mpg out of them. I have a 07 one btw so I am talking from experience on the mpg thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭DaveJac

that volvo will probably have all for suspension ect id go with the volvo, that 1.6 is not a bad engine and its in loads and loads of cars and vans have seen some with massive milage on them in work and never any major problems

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

How many miles a year OP ?
    What kind if driving are you at ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Can you remap those Focuses? Looking at one myself. Only 90bhp i believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Bpmull wrote: »
    All I'll say is if your trying to save money a 1.6tdci focus is not the car to buy. Infact I wouldn't touch anything with the peugoet 1.6hdi/ 1.6 Psa engine this is the engine that the focus / volvo has. Them focuses do early 50s mpg on very long trips you'll never see 60mpg out of them. I have a 07 one btw so I am talking from experience on the mpg thing.

I've done 60mpg on a 110bhp C5 on motorway runs. Usually averages round 50-55 most the time.

They're a fine engine once looked after, its abuse they dont tolerate. Go for the higher power one, with the variable vane turbo, loads of torque from 1400rpm and onwards.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I've done 60mpg on a 110bhp C5 on motorway runs. Usually averages round 50-55 most the time.

They're a fine engine once looked after, its abuse they dont tolerate. Go for the higher power one, with the variable vane turbo, loads of torque from 1400rpm and onwards.

I know the Citroens and Peugeots do 60mpg as I know a few people with them put I've yet to here of anyone who gets 60mpg out of a focus early 50s is what they do and I only do long trips. Had my parents octavia for a few weeks and found it far far better on diesel on the long trips I do. The 110 would probably be a better drive alright but then you have a dpf to go wrong on top of all else.

I know the Citroens and Peugeots do 60mpg as I know a few people with them put I've yet to here of anyone who gets 60mpg out of a focus early 50s is what they do and I only do long trips. Had my parents octavia for a few weeks and found it far far better on diesel on the long trips I do. The 110 would probably be a better drive alright but then you have a dpf to go wrong on? top of all else.

They DPF should only go wrong if they're being driven wrong though; round the town and never getting up to temp and not achieving the sustained RPM to force the DPF to regenerate.

Motorway driving? Back road driving? Your grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

When you say force a DPF regen, what sort of revs are we talking about?

FrontDoor wrote: »
    When you say force a DPF regen, what sort of revs are we talking about?

A little over 2000 should be fine. The car will do the regen when it sense it's in a long steady drive on a motorway etc. it's not as much about revs. But as said if you only ever drive around town then the car never get the chance to do this regen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

DPF was only fitted to the 110bhp version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

How many miles a year OP ?
    What kind if driving are you at ?

Sorry was away for a week there just back.

I say around 15-20KM per year. Just doing the run to work and then I collecting herself from work from town so would be stuck in traffic on the way out of Dublin City Center.

Like I know I could get a Polo or something but I don't think them cars have much appeal to me and are a bit pricy for a 2004+ model that's diesel.

Has anyone any suggestions? Like I know someone said the engines are troublesome in the Ford 1.6 TDCI but I am fairly mechanically smart so wouldn't buy a junker.

I think buying any turbo car in Ireland is risky as most people drive them very hard and over rev them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

msg11 wrote: »
    Sorry was away for a week there just back.

I say around 15-20KM per year. Just doing the run to work and then I collecting herself from work from town so would be stuck in traffic on the way out of Dublin City Center.

Like I know I could get a Polo or something but I don't think them cars have much appeal to me and are a bit pricy for a 2004+ model that's diesel.

Has anyone any suggestions? Like I know someone said the engines are troublesome in the Ford 1.6 TDCI but I am fairly mechanically smart so wouldn't buy a junker.

I think buying any turbo car in Ireland is risky as most people drive them very hard and over rev them.

Turbo failure in the 1.6 tdci is more down to design faults rather than hard driving.

A KIA cee'd or a Hyundai i30 would be my recommendation. They are both sister cars that share the same mechanicals, including the very reliable 1.6 crdi engine.

Well there's nothing wrong with high revs, it's not like the olden days where it was possible to stray into the red zone and do some damage. The engines ECU and governor will have stopped it before it gets dangerous.

Guys, I am still in the market for a Focus and I have pushed myself to buying one this week. I am a bit all over the place, between getting a

1.4 Petrol
    1.6 Diesel
    1.6 Petrol

I look at the 1.4 in terms of cheap tax and insurance then the good MPG of the diesel and then the upgrade to 1.6 petrol from the 1.4

I am just not sure what to buy.

I have come across a 2007 1.6 TDCI 162KM on clock NCT till 1/2016 for about 3700 which I think is not too bad?

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Not trying to be smart here but you've already been told that the 1.6tdci isn't a very reliable engine so why even consider it.

the 1.4 petrol in the focus is very sluggish and doesn't have a whole lot of power. The 1.6 petrol is a better bet, especially the one with variable value timing in the higher spec models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,109 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Hope u don't me jumping in here.

I've to pick between a 1.6 petrol focus and a 1.6l Jetta by 10am tomorrow.

Nothing between the cars in terms of engine size, mileage, NCT and warranty but the Jetta is 1500quid more.

Took them both for a spin at lunch time and found the handling on the focus to be much better and she's nipper too.

Both are 06 and around your budget too.

Sales man tells me the timing belt on the focus doesn't need doing until 100,000 miles. Currently has 73,000 miles. Is this accurate.

FYI, on autocentre.co.uk I think it was, I read a lot of reviews on there this morning on the 1.6 L petrol focus and there were a lot of comments about it been heavier on fuel than most drivers expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Hope u don't me jumping in here.

I've to pick between a 1.6 petrol focus and a 1.6l Jetta by 10am tomorrow.

Nothing between the cars in terms of engine size, mileage, NCT and warranty but the Jetta is 1500quid more.

Took them both for a spin at lunch time and found the handling on the focus to be much better and she's nipper too.

Both are 06 and around your budget too.

Sales man tells me the timing belt on the focus doesn't need doing until 100,000 miles. Currently has 73,000 miles. Is this accurate.

Don't put yourself or allow yourself to be put under pressure to buy a car. Take your time choosing and don't let any sales person convince you that if you don't buy by x time the car will be sold to someone else. It's an old trick to make you make a hasty decision, something that you may regret at a later date.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Not trying to be smart here but you've already been told that the 1.6tdci isn't a very reliable engine so why even consider it.

the 1.4 petrol in the focus is very sluggish and doesn't have a whole lot of power. The 1.6 petrol is a better bet, especially the one with variable value timing in the higher spec models.

Sorry I thought people ment it was more down to lack of maintance anyway turns out the ABS light is on in the car so its a dead end for me.

Think ill look out for a 1.6, I do mainly city driving so was thinking the 1.4 engine be more suited.

BTW this is why the NCT is half arsed, this car is NCTed till 1/16 and has a ABS light on which was more than likly removed for the test !

bazz26 wrote: »
    Don't put yourself or allow yourself to be put under pressure to buy a car. Take your time choosing and don't let any sales person convince you that if you don't buy by x time the car will be sold to someone else. It's an old trick to make you make a hasty decision, something that you may regret at a later date.

Damn right. Anyone that says that is rushing a sale. God knows whats wrong with the car. Once they have your cash the cars your problem.

Thanks for the kind advice lads but its me who has put the deadline on it myself.

I need a car asap as I've a job in Kilkenny on Thursday/Friday, a wedding in letreim at the weekend and two trips to Cork next week and I don't think my Santa Fe is up to it.

I've been fluting around looking at websites for over two weeks,time to bite the bullet.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I know the Citroens and Peugeots do 60mpg as I know a few people with them put I've yet to here of anyone who gets 60mpg out of a focus early 50s is what they do and I only do long trips. Had my parents octavia for a few weeks and found it far far better on diesel on the long trips I do. The 110 would probably be a better drive alright but then you have a dpf to go wrong on top of all else.

They'll do 60mpg with a gentle right foot.

I've had quite a few of them at this stage. The last one averaged 58.6mpg and the new one 56.6mpg (and improving after a few miles) and I don't drive like a granny.

Funnily enough the lower powered (95bhp) one was the worst on fuel presumably as it needed to be pushed a bit harder. The others were 110/115bhp.

The new one (115bhp) is good. It's smooth, has decent mid range pull, and is both economical and reliable.