Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cutting car keys as a business?

• 15-03-2014 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Hi everyone iam new to boards and just wondering would anyone know what road i would have to go down to go working for myself doing car keys like what is involved to get up and running and do i need permission from dealerships and the garda
    Thanks for any help in advance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Assuming you have the tools and equipment all you need to do is register as a sole trader or company and then advertise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tbh, you should start by working for an already registered business and then branch out on your own. It's the best way to get the know-how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

cutting them is the easy bit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭DaveJac

as above cutting them is the easy bit, nearly all the cars on the road now have a chip in the key that has to be programed in order for the car to start and the equipment will cost alot and there will be always some you cant do, there is alot of companies doing it already.

Im a storeman in an Opel garage if you need the key numbers for example im going to charge you €30 to get them, a blank key can range anything from €15-€110ish then €50 if it needs to be programed, we usually do a package €170 would be the dearest all in for an Insignia for example.. Only think it takes me 4 working days to get the key in, its not worth our while to get a key machine for the amount of them we do, but ive never need beaten on price by the local lock smith.

Curtis Keys are a big supplier of key machines and key blanks to garages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭discodavie

DaveJac wrote: »

Curtis Keys are a big supplier of key machines and key blanks to garages

And where are them lads based. ?

Any contact info you could be sending me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭DaveJac

discodavie wrote: »

Cant remember being honest years since i had any dealings with them i think they were based in the North somewhere, i have a number in work id say will send it on when im back in

DaveJac wrote: »
    Cant remember being honest years since i had any dealings with them i think they were based in the North somewhere, i have a number in work id say will send it on when im back in

Appreciate that. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

If Googling them is too much effort, maybe starting the business might prove a bit much?

Well it wasn't me who asked the original question , and I did I only found ones in the states. Since yer man said they were in Dublin or something like that I thought maybe , like most major suppliers in the motor industry in ireland thier online presence is minimal.

This would also be a nice little add on to my already up and running businesses.

Thanks for the smart answer though stavros. Appreciate the help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Well it wasn't me who asked the original question , and I did I only found ones in the states. Since yer man said they were in Dublin or something like that I thought maybe , like most major suppliers in the motor industry in ireland thier online presence is minimal.

This would also be a nice little add on to my already up and running businesses.

Thanks for the smart answer though stavros. Appreciate the help.

Wasn't being one bit smart, but if someone was really serious about getting into this business, maybe a quick Google of the contacts name would be advantageous. The next-door neighbour runs AutoKey in Dublin. The amount of investment, skills, technology and sheer capital involved in an operation like that is very large, and they're the competition - just cutting keys won't, err, cut it anymore. You are straight away into chip programming, card replacements, ECU compatability, etc etc. It would need a serious set-up to really be competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kildarelad

Two guys i know set up at it about two years ago.Spent alot of money on it one was a qualified mechanic.It was a complete flop they couldnt get enough cars to get a weeks wages from it and the brands like Hyundai were extremely difficult to code too.It would be ok as an on the side but i would not like to be trying to get a weeks wages from it