Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TMZ slag off Ireland?

• 14-03-2014 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭

So an Irish guy on American TV suggests that some Irish people wouldn't know who Jay-Z and Beyonce are (perfectly true) and the ONE girl says that she hadn't heard of Dublin until Jay-Z mentioned it in a song ... and for some reason there has been a huge amount of backlash with one iradio DJ leaving TMZ a "wiity response" via voicemail. Can anyone explain why this is so offensive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

tmz actually stood up for Ireland as the entire room looked at her like she was a ****ing idiot for saying what she did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Why do people care? They are the worst rag site going. They troll people all the time and i bet they're loving all the free publicity they got this week in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Sure Irish people get offended when the rest of the world calls us drunks!!!

The Irony of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Who's offended or gives a Shoite.Stop reading that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

MayoSalmon wrote: »

The Irony of it all

*hic* Tis ridiculous boi *hic*

And with our national day of celebration coming up and all *hic*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

MayoSalmon wrote: »

The Irony of it all

How is that ironic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Wtf is an Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The Irish guy on that was some right gombeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Beyonce could take a dump in my jacks and I wouldnt give a toss.
    They are humans like the rest of us and as long as she flushes and refreshes like the rest of us then thats fine with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Jesus, her voice would go through you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Beyonce could take a dump in my jacks and I wouldnt give a toss.
    They are humans like the rest of us and as long as she flushes and refreshes like the rest of us then thats fine with me.

*Adorns curious hat* What does "refreshing" involve? Have I unwittingly skipped a whole vital step of taking a dump in the last 33 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Sure its all a bit of craic as we Irish would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

In fairness, I never even heard of TMZ before the Nostalgia Critic started attacking them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭BrendaN_f

find it funny when irish people get offended when foreigners are ignorant of the country. we're not as popular as some like to think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

BrendaN_f wrote: »
    find it funny when irish people get offended when foreigners are ignorant of the country. we're not as popular as some like to think

Well you don't have to like a country to know of its existence, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

To be honest I wouldnt have recognised them, but we should probably have to add the fact that I dont give a **** who they are into the equation. Someone is walking, and? I can watch people walking whenever I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

1st of all TMZ like to stir ****e ....her voice is annoying and she so stupid to think of the only reason Dublin is "on the map" coz Jay Z had it in a song.

The Irish guy is gonbeen, and I was more annoyed about the fact the other implied were behind the times "oh we wouldn't know who they were until 15 years time"

.....someone needs to teach them that Irish people and most of people in the world would leave people alone....its being polite ....something in that is not TMZ dictionary.

Rant over.....Did I say TMZ is pure ****e and there is a special place in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There are 11 Dublins in the US. I couldn't point to any of them on a map either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Doesn't have the same ring to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Doesn't have the same ring to it.
    It does if you gizoogle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 UtopianWarlord

I don't get it at all. Read it on some website showing the djs response attacking yanks, went something along the lines of 'if you've been living under a stone and haven't heard TMZs massive insult to Ireland check it out here'. Thought I'd clicked on the wrong video there was so little to be outraged about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

TMZ. New to me. Who's he again? Is he anything to the Reillys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

They all just seem like pricks, even the iradio guy. There's no winners here people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

who are these people?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

who are these people?:confused:

The cool kids? Or possibly the ones Spin 103.8s "Celebrity Nork-Fest" tends to start referring to, just before I switch the dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Joe Schmit will pin this to the dressing room wall in Paris, and the Irish team will come out like raged mad men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The Irish guy started of off by saying people wouldn't know jay z and beyonce then the black girl came in with the 'is it coz they black' rubbish. A joke was cracked then by the old guy and the rest seemed to be about how dumb the black girl was for not knowing anything about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Like omg seriously, we should totes like take our army there and invade them fockers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

If Ireland didn't know who Beyonce and Jay Z were they obviously wouldn't come here.
    Blatant attention seeking from TMZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What's a TMZ, and why should I give a polite shyte?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

FunLover18 wrote: »
    ............................................................................................... and the ONE girl says that she hadn't heard of Dublin until Jay-Z mentioned it in a song ...........

There are at least 12 Dublins here in the States. I'm sure she would have heard of at least one unless she had hearing problems :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Just threw in a boards search and came up with this by another poster:

How many towns are called Dublin in the US?

Answer: 21

Dublin, Montgomery, Alabama, USA
    Dublin, Graham, Arizona, USA
    Dublin, Logan, Arkansas, USA
    Dublin, Alameda, Californa, USA
    Dublin, Bladen, North Carolina, USA
    Dublin, Lake, Florida, USA
    Dublin, Laurens, Georgia, USA
    Dublin, Wayne, Indiana, USA
    Dublin, Graves, Kentucky, USA
    Dublin, Harford, Maryland, USA
    Dublin, Manistee, Michigan, USA
    Dublin, Coahoma, Mississippi, USA
    Dublin, Cheshire, New Hampshire, USA
    Dublin, Seneca, New York, USA
    Dublin, Franklin, Ohio, USA
    Dublin, Mahoning, Ohio, USA
    Dublin, Bucks, Pennsylvania, USA
    Dublin, Fulton, Pennsylvania, USA
    Dublin, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
    Dublin, Erath, Texas, USA
    Dublin, Pulaski, Virginia, USA

I did not realise there was so many...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Jay z and little miss fake pregnancy come here and wander around the park and nobody notices or bats an eyelid ,

A Little country bunkin called Garth Brooks announces a concert here and half the population goes nuts for tickets ,

Though the voice mail made me crack a smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I don't get why everyone is so up in arms. Are we really that insecure that we get offended when a tabloid-like celebrity gossip programme put their ignorance of global geography on display for all to see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

they'll know in 15 years - howls of laughter -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

How is that ironic?

Alainis Morrisette style ironic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Caring about what TMZ thinks about you or your country makes you just as shallow and as vapid as they are.

Happy potato guinness mick to be sure weekend. xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Reminds me of the joke about the Yank having a meal. Says to the waiter, "Gee Paddy, what are those little round things on my plate"?.
    "They're potatoes", he replies.
    "Well over in America we have potatoes the size of footballs", says the Yank.
    "Aye", retorts Paddy, "We grow them to fit our mouths too"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

I got 99 problems but that bitch ain't one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

What Irish People Actually Did When They Saw Jay Z & Beyonce ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The wife's friend was in the park with another couple of mothers when they were there.

"oh look, there's jay z and beyonce"

"oh yeah"

"isn't sarah's mam at school after putting on weight"

"oh jesus she's after getting fierce big"

"i'd say they eat sweets all day"

rabble, rabble, rabble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

If that's what they broadcast tmz is dreadful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Fecked2bits

This is all over the Irish interweb. I really don't see the big deal at all. So some dumb girl never heard of Dublin. Who cares?