Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Plumbing an Altered Reality?

• 13-03-2014 8:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Why is Irish plumbing so fugged up? We still have Hot and Cold Taps here so you either get hypothermia or first degree burns washing your hands. Even on new house builds there is rarely a combo tap you can adjust the temp when hand washing.

A box containing a modest lake in your attic waiting to explode and flood your house.

Immersion Heaters!

You get none of this crap in other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Install a thermostatic mixing valve, problem solved OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

The water's always greener on the other side

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Hot water in other countries is something that just happens. Here we turn it into a major effort with dire consequences if you do it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I've lived in and used the plumbing in Ireland all my life and never been drowned by an exploding water tank while at the same time managing to avoid both first degree burns and hypothermia while washing my hands.

But maybe I'm just lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

We should build public baths in every city/town. Imagine how nice that would be.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Before people start complaining about the lower pressure I have to say prefer it to what you get over here, taps that go from a small flow to a large one with no inbetween, you either end up waiting for even longer than with the irish system or you drench the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Why is Irish plumbing so fugged up?

Group water schemes and an inability to have Constant pressured water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Hot running water - that's SO 2007 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

it works grand here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wait, is it supposed to be hot when it comes out of the tap?

What's the feckin' kettle for then? Hah?

Answer me that smart boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

We should build public baths in every city/town. Imagine how nice that would be.

Yes,a giant open-air urinal is what every irish town needs.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Yes,a giant open-air urinal is what every irish town needs.

Isn't that what temple bar is in Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

I think you have a silly old house op. I dont remember putting in a new sink without a mixer tap and Ive been around a while.
    I also never seen an attic tank exploding. You get alot of warning time with the old ones and the plastic ones dont explode.
    I think unless you are an english boiler salesman you can live with irish plumbing fine. We dont have the pressure for these products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

What I've always wanted to know is why are hot taps on the right downstairs and the left upstairs?

I've never lived in a house where they were on the same side on every sink. It's not that complicated. Did some plumber hundreds of years ago think to himself "ah sure, how would they know they're upstairs washing their hands if the taps are the same way round!"?

What I've always wanted to know is why are hot taps on the right downstairs and the left upstairs?

I've never lived in a house where they were on the same side on every sink. It's not that complicated. Did some plumber hundreds of years ago think to himself "ah sure, how would they know they're upstairs washing their hands if the taps are the same way round!"?
    Hot on the left cold on the right is what I was always told. Doesnt matter what floor. Sometimes the boss or customer or common sense may ask for the hot bath tap to be against the wall. This is to make it harder for a child to reach it and scald himself.
    Older houses can be all over the place though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Why the fock does the shower turn into the same temperature of lava if someone turn my kitchen tap on?

This happens in many countries but I just need it explained to me.

Why the fock does the shower turn into the same temperature of lava if someone turn my kitchen tap on?

Your house hasnt got the pressure for a mains fed shower. Change it to a tank fed one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

OMG I've left the immersion on :eek:

now I won't be able to afford food for a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Lowers the pressures I presume so less water to heat means it gets hotter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I thought this was going to be about how unutterably shyte a lot of plumbing is here. I was in one place today where the waste pipes ran uphill to the main drain - the people were mystified why their sinks, loos etc kept blocking up. Fun ripping all that out tomorrow..not. Or the state of most attics - pipes everywhere, tanks on wobbly ply platforms etc etc. We were in a Restaurant yesterday to fix a broken tap - easy job - except there was no way of turning off the water, the scalding hot water..good luck if they'd ever had a proper leak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Worked on job once where the mechanical contractor mixed up the hot/cold feed to a restaurant bathroom.
    Boiling water came out when the jacks was flushed.

Worked on job once where the mechanical contractor mixed up the hot/cold feed to a restaurant bathroom.

Lucky he didn't mix up the cold water and the wastes..

All hot taps should be on left hand side, this is so for blind people.

WikiHow wrote: »
    All hot taps should be on left hand side, this is so for blind people.

In Cavan they have cold on the left and the right, usually. And they hide the light switches in the presses.

Didint think they have running water and electricity in Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Heating and dhw systems being completly ran in qualpex. Where has the art of plumbing gone.

jimmy180sx wrote: »
    Heating and dhw systems being completly ran in qualpex. Where has the art of plumbing gone.

Someone robbed all the copper.

jimmy180sx wrote: »

Pfff! Qualplex, Alu-Pex is your pipe now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

great craic when he used the bidet then............:D:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

The UK/Irish system is idiotic at this stage, but "proper" mains pressure systems aren't really an option because of the woeful mains pressure in many new builds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Before people start complaining about the lower pressure I have to say prefer it to what you get over here, taps that go from a small flow to a large one with no inbetween, you either end up waiting for even longer than with the irish system or you drench the place
    The plastic spray nozzles may be missing. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Do Irish Plumbing Trade College still teach 1930's Albanian plumbing methods? Even Albania has moved on.

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Do Irish Plumbing Trade College still teach 1930's Albanian plumbing methods? Even Albania has moved on.

No. No they have not. Their plumbing still involves donkeys entrails.

Red Alert wrote: »
    The UK/Irish system is idiotic at this stage, but "proper" mains pressure systems aren't really an option because of the woeful mains pressure in many new builds.
    Buy a cold water accumulator, they give you the flow that's the same as a high pressure mains system.

One of the best things I bought for the house, a power shower without the motor.

And as for high water pressure, are you sure.....

That's an over-heated sealed boiler though, different thing. Still cool though.

Plus they disabled all the stats and safety devices so the shoite hitting the fan was inevitable.

Almost as much fun as putting G clamps on a pressure cooker and screwing down the pressure release valve. ;)

That be an interesting one to try :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

'Cause you're hot then you're cold
    You're yes then you're no
    You're in then you're out
    You're up then you're down
    You're wrong when it's right

Katy Perry, on the irish plumbing situation

That be an interesting one to try :)
    Someone almost did, just they forgot to fit the clamps. :D
    http://youtu.be/TTr5uZDgkGY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I've lived in and used the plumbing in Ireland all my life and never been drowned by an exploding water tank while at the same time managing to avoid both first degree burns and hypothermia while washing my hands.

But maybe I'm just lucky.

Lucky bastid:(

Someone almost did, just they forgot to fit the clamps. :D
    http://youtu.be/TTr5uZDgkGY

It was a fine looking soup and all :)