Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman accidentally joins search party looking for herself.

• 12-03-2014 12:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭

A 'missing' woman on holiday in Iceland managed to unwittingly join a search party looking for herself.
    It happened after a tourist group traveling by bus to the volcanic Eldgja canyon made a pit stop near the canyon park.
    The woman in question went inside to freshen up and change her clothes at the rest stop, and when she came back "her busmates didn't recognise her".
    Word spread among the group of a missing passenger, and the woman didn't recognise the description of herself.
    A 50-person search party - including the 'missing' woman - was soon canvassing the area, and the coast guard was mobilising to deploy a search party of its own.
    It wasn't until 3am that someone finally figured out that the missing woman was actually in the search party, albeit in different clothes, and the search was called off.
    Anyone else got Lionel Richie's "Hello" stuck in their head now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

A bus full of complete eejits. Did anyone think of doing a head count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

You just couldn't make this stuff up... Would have been a cracking Waterford Whispers article though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

O very good . Mind you saying that I've been searching for myself for years... Still didn't find .

I know that's deep .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Is this from The Onion?

You can't blame her for not realising she was supposed to be missing. Unless she came out of the loo wearing an invisibility cloak.

She knew where she was after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Cydoniac wrote: »

Bloody hell. There's a village somewhere being sorely deprived of its idiot.

Not her fault really! More the people who couldn't even recognise her ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Imagine how that conversation goes:
    OTHER PASSENGER: Someone from our group is lost!
    WOMAN IN DISGUISE: Who?
    OTHER PASSENGER: I don't know what her name was, or where she was sitting, but she was definitely a woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

She should have went to Australia. She no doubt would have "found herself" there and be endlessly banging on about it to her mates when she got back home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd say she got an icy reception for the rest of the holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I pulled a bird in a club one night many years ago. On the way out she popped into the jacks to freshen up. So i'm waiting outside, when this cracker walks up to me and links my arm. I was about to reluctantly tell her to fcuk off when I realised it was the same bird. Wasn't she after doing a fine job of re-painting her face! Honestly before and after was like chalk and cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Reminds me of that scene from Anchorman 2 where Brick is at his own funeral.

Spoilers man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

WikiHow wrote: »
    I have now :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

dan1895 wrote: »
    Spoilers man!!

Ah, but you have made it concrete by quoting it now. If he edits it, it will still be there to see in your post. And I've highlighted your post in turn...oh what a circle we tread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Woman accidentally joins search party looking for herself.
    Quote:
    A 'missing' woman on holiday in Iceland managed to unwittingly join a search party looking for herself.
    It happened after a tourist group traveling by bus to the volcanic Eldgja canyon made a pit stop near the canyon park.
    The woman in question went inside to freshen up and change her clothes at the rest stop, and when she came back "her busmates didn't recognise her".
    Word spread among the group of a missing passenger, and the woman didn't recognise the description of herself.
    A 50-person search party - including the 'missing' woman - was soon canvassing the area, and the coast guard was mobilising to deploy a search party of its own.
    It wasn't until 3am that someone finally figured out that the missing woman was actually in the search party, albeit in different clothes, and the search was called off.

WikiHow wrote: »
    That's an old story, I read the same exact story last year maybe it is one of those urban myths doing the rounds.

Only saw the link now old story