Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post - Paddy's Day CURE

• 11-03-2014 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭

Think it's about time for me to create nudder AH thread.
    So, you've worn the furry green hat, waved the plastic flag, have your tipple and pretended to act like any good old leprauchaun another buffoon, what is your suggestion for an antidote? So you'll be clear as a bell on Tuesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

A pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Drink some good beer instead of the chemically heavy crap served in most bars. Can't remember the last time I've had a hangover after a good session, just need a double espresso to deal with the lack of sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Don't go out. I don't mind seeing my local parade but the day is a bit of a joke and the likes of Dublin after 3PM is disgusting...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

jester77 wrote: »
    Drink some good beer instead of the chemically heavy crap served in most bars. Can't remember the last time I've had a hangover after a good session, just need a double espresso to deal with the lack of sleep.

I call bollocks! People used to tell me years ago after doing the college working summer in Munich that German beer doesn't give you hangovers because it's so pure etc. I've had some of the worst hangovers of my life after benders in Germany. I really don't think you can disguise alcohol that much, whatever form you put it into you in, have enough of it and you're sick for a couple of days no matter what.
    The best thing to do is accept that you're going to be ill, get through it, and try not to do it again for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

gugleguy wrote: »
    what is your suggestion for an antidote? So you'll be clear as a bell on Tuesday?

Go out Sunday night instead. Much better and you'll be grand on Tuesday.
    Paddy's day is for tourists really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Not going out this Patrick's Day-going out the weekend instead.

I normally take two paracetemol with a pint of water, go back asleep til that kicks in, wake up headache-free an hour or two later, make a big cup of tea and do a sausage sandwich or a BLT.

Drink plenty of fluids all day and if I can't get rid of the dry tongue that always befalls me when I'm hungover, I crack open a bottle of Bulmers, but only the one.
    Never fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

So, you've worn the furry green hat, waved the plastic flag, have your tipple and pretended to act like any good old leprauchaun another buffoon, what is your suggestion for an antidote? So you'll be clear as a bell on Tuesday?

Lobotomy is the only cure

for wearing those stupid fcukin hats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Curl up into the corner and die.

Resurrect a few days later when the poison has eventually left your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I call bollocks! People used to tell me years ago after doing the college working summer in Munich that German beer doesn't give you hangovers because it's so pure etc. I've had some of the worst hangovers of my life after benders in Germany. I really don't think you can disguise alcohol that much, whatever form you put it into you in, have enough of it and you're sick for a couple of days no matter what.
    The best thing to do is accept that you're going to be ill, get through it, and try not to do it again for a while!

Totally agree 3 days drinking in Munich gave me one of worst hangovers i have ever had in my life could still feel the effects a week later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Don't mind it.

Off work and taking the kids to the local parade and then heading for a pint or two and heading up to Belfast for a football match.

Totally agree 3 days drinking in Munich gave me one of worst hangovers i have ever had in my life could still feel the effects a week later

ha, had the same experience. It wasn't even Oktoberfest but the first time I went there to visit a mate was a serious 3 day bender. I was shivering mess on the flight home, convinced my heart was going to stop, the panic was unreal.
    I wish you could get rehab on the NHS sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

ha, had the same experience. It wasn't even Oktoberfest but the first time I went there to visit a mate was a serious 3 day bender. I was shivering mess on the flight home, convinced my heart was going to stop, the panic was unreal.
    I wish you could get rehab on the NHS sometimes.

Was that the bier or the jager?

I've had some monster sessions in Munich and if I've stuck to the beer I've never felt even slightly rough the next day. Definitely can't say that for the stuff we get here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The only pain cure wise is its on a Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've only experienced hangovers when I've knocked back the free shots that regularly get handed out at the bars when you are out here. I tend to avoid those these days and just stick to the beer, nothing else. But saying that I'm not throwing back a liter of beer every half hour, I would rarely have more than 10-12 pints when out on a session. I would go at a nice steady pace and finish up around 5-6 before going home. And I'm ok the next day apart from the lack of sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

At the end of the day it's alcohol that gives you a hangover and if you drink a load of anything you're going to be bate from it. Yes, darker drinks like red wine and whiskey etc can exacerbate the symptoms but in general if you want to avoid a hangover then just don't drink that much. It's inescapable.

I pretty much only drink ale or if it's available proper German brew. I've also spent many a morning puking my ring up and sh*tting my guts out on the jacks praying for death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Stay at home instead of looking like a clown. That will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Best way is to keep yourself hydrated (an occasional soft drink or water throughout the evening isn't going to make people look at you as if you have 2 heads) and make sure you have a decent feed too. A few coffees the morning after might help too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Time cures all. Embrace this with all hangover related episodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Climb Croagh Patrick and sip whiskey from a flask while puffing on a pipe and contemplating the magnificence of this land. Wash your bare feet in a mountain stream and revel in your bloodied, majestic Irishness. Wrap yourself in this cloak of superiority in all your dealings with the hungover on March 18th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Muise... wrote: »
    Climb Croagh Patrick and sip whiskey from a flask while puffing on a pipe and contemplating the magnificence of this land. Wash your bare feet in a mountain stream and revel in your bloodied, majestic Irishness. Wrap yourself in this cloak of superiority in all your dealings with the hungover on March 18th.
    don't forget some firewood and ofcourse matchsticks and firelighters. For the bonfire.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

don't forget some firewood and ofcourse matchsticks and firelighters. For the bonfire.:pac:

What need of Zip and Zippos when you have the eternal flame of patriotism in a tinderbox in your pocket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Drink a pint of water every 2 or 3 pints or drinks on Paddys Day. Seriously, it's the only way.
    The next morning have a pint of water ready aswell and a good feed along with a lucozade sport or powerade type drink.

99% of a hangover is dehydration and lost electrolytes.

Alternatively, buy some dioralyte (you can get in a chemist for about 50cent a sachet) you mix it with 200ml of water and it'll have you feeling right as rain in no time.

I've only experienced hangovers when I've knocked back the free shots that regularly get handed out at the bars when you are out here. I tend to avoid those these days and just stick to the beer, nothing else. But saying that I'm not throwing back a liter of beer every half hour, I would rarely have more than 10-12 pints when out on a session. I would go at a nice steady pace and finish up around 5-6 before going home. And I'm ok the next day apart from the lack of sleep.

I only tend to drink beer yeah. I guess it just affects people differently :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I would rarely have more than 10-12 pints when out on a session. I would go at a nice steady pace and finish up around 5-6 before going home. And I'm ok the next day apart from the lack of sleep.
    Do you even drink, bro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

GenieOz wrote: »
    Drink a pint of water every 2 or 3 pints or drinks on Paddys Day. Seriously, it's the only way.
    The next morning have a pint of water ready aswell and a good feed along with a lucozade sport or powerade type drink.

99% of a hangover is dehydration and lost electrolytes.

Alternatively, buy some dioralyte (you can get in a chemist for about 50cent a sachet) you mix it with 200ml of water and it'll have you feeling right as rain in no time.

Done the pint of water thing 2 years ago was fecking great. So good in fact that last year i thought I'd get away with taking less water,

Terrible idea. Think Fr. Jack sums it up best with More Water