Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can this be a true story? Garda criticised for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 KevinEldon

Yeah I know a Garda in Dublin who says they do this to people who have given them grief in the past when they come to the station to sign the book.If they don't bring their own pen they won't be signing on until they return with one.Nothing to do with lack of biros,more Guards being difficult to people who've crossed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The guy was on bail and signing on. It probably wasn't much of a stretch for him to head to the local newsagent and steal some pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Can I borrow a pen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Scumbag throws a wobbler and the judge sides with him..... should have given the pr1ck 5 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

He should have told him to stick it somewhere.

Intentionally being ambiguous as to he and him refer to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I like the view of the Judge tbh
    “It’s not acceptable that people, who are coming in to sign on in compliance with their bail are being told to go away and return with their own biro,” he said.
    The judge added that, if cases continue to come before the court arising from the lack biros at Henry Street garda station, he will consider not granting applications to include a signing-on condition when granting suspects bail.

It is NOT acceptable that they can't buy a pen to carry to work with themselves, when others are more than capable of doing so. Especially so in a profession that requires paper-work to be complete in black ink too, should be plenty of black pens in all stations but hey, don't seem to be exactly be run to any high standard these days if recent news events are anything to go by.

taken from here.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Guards up to there old tricks again when will it stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Hootanany wrote: »
    Guards up to there old tricks again when will it stop.

When they become accountable to a body not comprised of their colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

A Garda fone app is needed for this. Just think you can sign on virtually and remotely using your state of the art nicked phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Judge is dead right imho. Garda are taking the píss and trying to wind people up. They should be above that shíte, but unfortunately they aren't.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I like the view of the Judge tbh .

It is NOT acceptable that they can't buy a pen to carry to work with themselves, when others are more than capable of doing so. Especially so in a profession that requires paper-work to be complete in black ink too, should be plenty of black pens in all stations but hey, don't seem to be exactly be run to any high standard these days if recent news events are anything to go by.

taken from here.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

By the same token, if these lads are going in with the sole purpose of signing on, can they not bring a pen?Are they too busy planning their next crime to worry about things like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Stroke My Trout

I think this is less about a pen and more indicative of the culture of 'public service' that we accept here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

True? About as believeable as a €7 note.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭asteroth

By the same token, if these lads are going in with the sole purpose of signing on, can they not bring a pen?Are they too busy planning their next crime to worry about things like this?

I can imagine your uproar if you received a hot-tip for a horse and ploughed into Paddy Powers with minutes to spare before the "off" only to be told "bring your own pen, asshole!" to fill out the slip :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

That judge should go down to his local drug treatment centre, hiv/hep b clinic or prison detention center and produce his fine parker pen to all who require the loan of a pen, for ten hours a day, 60 hours a week.

See how he likes it when later on in the day he realises he has his fine parker pen in his mouth while thinking or completing another task....

Let him then think back to the 500+ junkies that handled his pen that week....

To prevent a pen getting robbed from a Garda Station public office you would need to secure the pen to the desk with titanium steel chain.

Even then somebody "looking for a bit of scrap boss" would make off with the chain and leave the pen, for somebody else to rob.

That Judge needs a dcuking reality check, and as we have all said before, when transitioning from barrister to Judge they should have to do a months placement with the Gardai to give them a dose of reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I was in Ballymun Garda station awhile back and there was a sign stating that due to 'Health & Safety' issues peope must bring their own biro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

they should be sent to the PENitentury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

In all fairness. Was this really worth going to court.. over a biro?

We waste some money in this country..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

KevinEldon wrote: »
    Yeah I know a Garda in Dublin who says they do this to people who have given them grief in the past when they come to the station to sign the book.If they don't bring their own pen they won't be signing on until they return with one.Nothing to do with lack of biros,more Guards being difficult to people who've crossed them.

Sounds like a petty retard.

Nemeses wrote: »
    In all fairness. Was this really worth going to court.. over a biro?

We waste some money in this country..
    Sure why not, when you've free legal aide and you've nothing but time till your next court appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 KevinEldon

anncoates wrote: »
    Sounds like a petty retard.

Common enough in his station (and others) judging by the article.The job beats you down I suppose,and arsehole behaviour and pettiness follows soon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

The guy was on bail and signing on. It probably wasn't much of a stretch for him to head to the local newsagent and steal some pens.

for gods sake with attitudes like this that makes this incident believable.

As for the good ol' "Health and Safety" excuse, when's the last time we had to bring in our own pens to fill out forms at the hospital? Or the solicitors office? Or paddy power? I'm sure diseased people pass through all three yet they have no problem with it.

It was a petty thing to do and im glad they got called out on it.

And the people defending the lack of pens with "they'll be robbed" I'm sure you've never accidentally nicked a pen from Argos or the bookies. Give me a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Remember seeing ,Mr Bean I think, asking a clerk behind a counter if he could borrow his pen, and then using the pen to clean his ear, before giving it back to the clerk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Turner wrote: »
    That judge should go down to his local drug treatment centre, hiv/hep b clinic or prison detention center and produce his fine parker pen to all who require the loan of a pen, for ten hours a day, 60 hours a week.

See how he likes it when later on in the day he realises he has his fine parker pen in his mouth while thinking or completing another task....

To prevent a pen getting robbed from a Garda Station public office you would need to secure the pen to the desk with titanium steel chain.

Even then somebody "looking for a bit of scrap boss" would make off with the chain and leave the pen, for somebody else to rob.

That Judge needs a dcuking reality check, and as we have all said before, when transitioning from barrister to Judge they should have to do a months placement with the Gardai to give them a dose of reality.

Post Office's, banks and credit unions seem to manage it ok. Surely an organisation responsible for the rule of law in the country could manage similar.

Its remarkable that they've managed to create further negative publicity over something so menial. Whatever opinions about the Garda, this story just demonstrates an absolute lack of professionalism, and does the many hardworking, honest professionals in the organisation a disservice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Not sure if serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Cienciano wrote: »
    Judge is dead right imho. Garda are taking the píss and trying to wind people up. They should be above that shíte, but unfortunately they aren't.

"Hoho Seamy, and so I told him, if you didn't have your own pen ye can't sign in can you? Back home with yerself and ask yer mammy fer a pencil!"
    "You're a grand lad Sergeant Jimmy!"

for gods sake with attitudes like this that makes this incident believable.

As for the good ol' "Health and Safety" excuse, when's the last time we had to bring in our own pens to fill out forms at the hospital? Or the solicitors office? Or paddy power? I'm sure diseased people pass through all three yet they have no problem with it.

It was a petty thing to do and im glad they got called out on it.

And the people defending the lack of pens with "they'll be robbed" I'm sure you've never accidentally nicked a pen from Argos or the bookies. Give me a break

Argos and the bookies are profit making businesses. If they want to give everyone free pens that's their choice.

Would you want your pen back after it was mauled by a heap of junkies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Argos and the bookies are profit making businesses. If they want to give everyone free pens that's their choice.

Would you want your pen back after it was mauled by a heap of junkies?

They're not giving out "free pens" they have pens people to fill out forms.

So what about the hospitals then? Junkies pass through those often enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

It's not fair that the Gardaí can no longer chew their pens after loaning one for a few seconds to a member of the public!

Or the Garda could ask for it back when their done. Even remind the person beforehand.

The type of people joining the Gardaí these days seem to be sad little individuals in need of an ego boost.