Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dole Stopped WTF

• 06-03-2014 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭

Keeping this brief ok

Cohabiting with partner , she earns €5500 per month before tax , about 870 pw after tax

Me not working

10 month old , and a 3 year old

I have a mortgage of €1000 per month

She has a mortgage of €1400 per month

She pays the childcare costs ( playschool for 3 year old €200 per month

She pays for health insurance €150 per month

She has a car loan €250 per month ( finished in may )

I used my dole to pay 50/50 on food and bills and i use €50 a week petrol

Is it right that they stopped my payment based on her income when in fact she has alot of **** to pay for that they don't factor into their means test , must stress she has €5000 credit card bill and mine is €4000

While i know 10 people who never worked a day in life but get the dole ? While ive been paying tax for 17 years and only in the last year made redundant

Now i know its not the social welfares prob me and her having mortgages etc but in reality she is trying to sort her own financial mess but now under alot more stress etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Which payment are you on?

If you're on jobseekers allowance then you are means assessed, so they would take into consideration your partners income, which would exceed the means threshold. The way they calculate it is described here

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/irish_social_welfare_system/means_test_for_social_welfare_payments/means_test_for_jobseekers_allowance.html

If you on jobseekers benefit, as far as I know it's not means assessed so you should be able to keep your payment. See here for details

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/unemployed_people/jobseekers_benefit.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I have a mortgage of €1000 per month

She has a mortgage of €1400 per month

While ive been paying tax for 17 years and only in the last year made redundant

If you have only lost your job in the last year then you should be on jobseekers benefit and not means tested? (I think it lasts 9 months now).

I see above you talk about two mortgages, if you are cohabiting then why are there two mortgages? Can one property not be rented out?

In short - SW dont care about your personal outgoings, you dont get help with lifestyle choices that have caused debt and in fact, if you were a sensible type and saved for a rainy day youd fail the means test on that - so the message here is that you get punished for not spending your money, you get punished for buying stuff with your money - the only way seems to be to have no money to begin with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

If you have only lost your job in the last year then you should be on jobseekers benefit and not means tested? (I think it lasts 9 months now).

I see above you talk about two mortgages, if you are cohabiting then why are there two mortgages? Can one property not be rented out?

In short - SW dont care about your personal outgoings, you dont get help with lifestyle choices that have caused debt and in fact, if you were a sensible type and saved for a rainy day youd fail the means test on that - so the message here is that you get punished for not spending your money, you get punished for buying stuff with your money - the only way seems to be to have no money to begin with!

Cheers , i was made redundant last jan and was on js benefit for 9 months and then i had to sign on every 3 months and collect my €188 in post office

In regards to renting the house out , it was badly treated by last tennant so ud need 2-3k to clean it and fix what needs to be fixed , and i dont have the cash

Ive no income now from them , but alco's out on streets get funds and longtime spongers get it no probs , ordinary joe soaps get told to assume postion and take it with no lube

Cheers , i was made redundant last jan and was on js benefit for 9 months and then i had to sign on every 3 months and collect my €188 in post office

In regards to renting the house out , it was badly treated by last tennant so ud need 2-3k to clean it and fix what needs to be fixed , and i dont have the cash

Ive no income now from them , but alco's out on streets get funds and longtime spongers get it no probs , ordinary joe soaps get told to assume postion and take it with no lube

Seeing as you're unemployed now would you not do whatever fixing and cleaning you can yourself over a week or so?

Or move back in and reapply to SW, no longer cohabiting?

Seeing as you're unemployed now would you not do whatever fixing and cleaning you can yourself over a week or so?

U missed the part about needing 2-3k

Furniture as old one was thrown out and broken

Boiler fixed ( not working )

Repainted whole house ( had a bad family who did this in final 2weeks ) as they where behind on rent

So thats not an option at the min

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

When your applying for Jobseekers Allowance your asking for assistance with your week to week living expenses.
    You dont need any assistance.
    You own a property which is not your principal residence, and your not even using it to get rent to help pay the mortgage on it.
    It was your responsibility to make sure the tenants didnt damage the property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That could be considered attempted fraud

Gatling wrote: »

As apposed to this country robbing us ?

Im getting to a stage where i don't blame the dole cheats

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    When your applying for Jobseekers Allowance your asking for assistance with your week to week living expenses.
    You dont need any assistance.
    You own a property which is not your principal residence, and your not even using it to get rent to help pay the mortgage on it.
    It was your responsibility to make sure the tenants didnt damage the property.

Tennants were 2 months in arrears . I paid mortgage with redundancy , i gave them notice , day b4 they left , r
    Neighbour rang me with info re furniture in garden and loud noises , went up next day they were gone ( travellers ) so how did i mess-up ? Cop on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Repainted whole house ( had a bad family who did this in final 2weeks ) as they where behind on rent

They don't take into account your rental property when calculating means if it is in negative equity (ie: they don't count it towards income). But your partners income of €66000 per year does seem like it would be way over the threshold. €66k is more than enough to live on as a family. I'm not judging here by the way just going by my brothers situation last year with 2 kids, a house and 2 investment properties both of which are negative equity. He was refused JA with wife's income of €40k. He's since got a job but was unemployed with no assistance for 11 months. Luckily they managed. His only mistake was after working paying tons of tax for 14 years he started a business which lasted for 3. So by becoming self employed and creating employment, he lost any entitlement to benefits.

I know you say you can't afford to do up the property but it would be worthwhile borrowing or something to get it done. Payback would be only about 3 months followed by a good income each month after that.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You don't need the other house. You're not living in it. Can you not sell it? A lot of people are having trouble getting by on half of what you have, and you're giving out that they stopped giving you a means tested income for people who really need it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You messed up by renting to people who, in the majority of cases, do not respect other people or their property. Its a tough lesson, and no doubt you won't be making that mistake again. Try advertising as "unfurnished" and perhaps you will get some people who have had their own house repossessed. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭psalbmb

Tennants were 2 months in arrears . I paid mortgage with redundancy , i gave them notice , day b4 they left , r
    Neighbour rang me with info re furniture in garden and loud noises , went up next day they were gone ( travellers ) so how did i mess-up ? Cop on

You said in your first statement that your mortgage is currently 1,000 per month, and above, you've stated you paid it off with your redundancy money, so which is it? and yes, as the owner of the house, you, no-one else made you rent your house out to travellers... so it is your own fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

I was the same op and the missus earning considerably less than yours. You honestly dont expect the government to pay your mortgage for you while you live with the missus and rake in 5500 a month plus childrens allowance or whatever.
    She can probably change her tax situation around for cohabiting and get a few quid knocked off for you.
    But come on now your hardly being starved.

People on here really need to learn to read

At what point did i say i want the government to pay my mortgage ? Its my prob im fully aware of that , the knackers in my house was by estate agent who said the people were genuine , u never get to meet tennants who estate agents get in ( never said they were travellers ) otherwise id have said f off

While 870 a week after tax a week is good money , she has her own huge bills to pay so 870 isnt a true disposable figure

Mark id gladly sell the noose around my neck if that bank did a deal , i borrowed 305k in 2007 and owe 264k now , house worth 140k , the bank wont let me sell it

Regarding redundancy issue , the knackers left me with just 3 months arrears which i paid out of my own pocket , but now my redundancy us gone

Hope this clears up the mess

Gatling wrote: »

Whats fradulent about it? He is currently cohabiting and being means tested on his partners earnings. If he decides to live alone he will be means tested alone - there is nothing fradulent about it. I am not suggesting he doesnt declare the situation to SW or "pretend" they are not cohabiting. I am actually suggesting he move into his own property and stop cohabiting.

The way things are now for OP - he cant afford to cohabit. He probably cant insure his own property while it stands empty so he would be financially better off moving back into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

psalbmb wrote: »
    You said in your first statement that your mortgage is currently 1,000 per month, and above, you've stated you paid it off with your redundancy money, so which is it? and yes, as the owner of the house, you, no-one else made you rent your house out to travellers... so it is your own fault.

I'm fairly sure that he means he supplemented the €1000 monthly repayments using his redundancy and not that he paid off the whole thing :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 OneWayAround

Can you imagine how hard it is for families making far less money than the OP's family? 66k is more than enough to survive on, even when you include debts. The dole should be for people who really need it. You failed the means test for a reason.
    By the way most of the people on social welfare are people who really need it, there's far fewer people who've never worked a day in their lives and drunks on the dole than the OP and most Irish people think.

Can you imagine how hard it is for families making far less money than the OP's family? 66k is more than enough to survive on, even when you include debts. The dole should be for people who really need it. You failed the means test for a reason.
    By the way most of the people on social welfare are people who really need it, there's far fewer people who've never worked a day in their lives and drunks on the dole than the OP and most Irish people think.

So forgetting i paid tax for 17 years this is my first claim . Should i not be entitled to it ?

Again read , do the drunks really need it ? Or spongers ?

What my partner earns is pointless , break it down

1400 a month mortgage or 350 a week gone from her 870 , leaves 520 then health insurance €25 thats €495 then car loan €70 a week thats €425 then 60 a week petrol €365 then creche €50 a week €315 then phone €20 down to €295 thats before food bills and electric and gas and car tax and insurance , now she has to pay more because i can't put my share in

And its not a case of people who need it more , i contributed alot to this society financially but get nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

She could try applying for FIS but I think you might be over the threshold for that even.
    Why do you spend 50 a week on petrol? Where do you be going? lol
    Also, why does she pay for creche, if you're at home?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 OneWayAround

No you shouldn't be entilted to it as you failed the means test. 66k is too much.

There's barely any drunks or spongers who receive social welfare in Ireland.

What year car do you or your partner have? You own 2 houses, what size is the one you're living in. You have 200 euro or thereabouts to spend on food weekly, that's far more than a lot of people.

You got jobseekers benefit didn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Talking about 'knackers', 'alcos' and 'spongers' doesn't help you with your problems, it'll just derail your thread so maybe not worth the effort?

Could you take the children out of crèche and mind them yourself? That way you would have an instant saving of £50 a week.

From the information you have given, it appears your outgoings are the problem. This is what I would address first.

Best of luck.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Closed for clean up.