Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

18 year old girl sues parents for support after running away from home

• 05-03-2014 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

I couldn't believe this story that's big in the US at the moment. A teenage girl who ran away from home because of rows with her parents, is now suing them for $650 a week support.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2573165/My-mom-called-porky-dad-got-drunk-told-I-just-daughter-Explosive-claims-spoiled-cheerleader-18-suing-parents-support-ran-away.html
    A judge today blasted an 18-year-old girl suing her parents for support after she ran away claiming they were behind her bulimia and that her father showed her 'inappropriate affection'

Her parents claim their daughter ran off to stay with friends when she turned 18 because she refused to abide by rules they had set down, including to stop dating her boyfriend.
    But today the judge clearly took a dim view of the lawsuit. He said: ‘What kind of parents would the Canning’s be if they didn’t try to set down some strict rules?....

.....Summing up, Judge Bogaard said: ‘The court was called upon to find whether immediate financial relief was needed… It is not necessary….

‘We have to ask ourselves, do we want to establish a precedent where parents live in constant fear of enforcing the basic rules of the house. If they set a rule a child doesn’t like, the child can move out, move in with another family, seek child support, cars, cell phone and a few hundred grand to go to college.
    ‘Counsel, also needs to ask themselves, what is the next step…. Are we going to open the gates for a 12-year-old to sue for an Xbox, a 13-year-old to sue for an iPhone… what about a 15-year-old asking for a 60 inch TV….
    ‘I want both counsels to think of the potential slippery slope here.’

She sounds like a nightmare, judging by the message she left on the parent's answerphone. Good on the parents here. If the spoiled little madam wishes to emancipate herself, let her get a job and support herself!

The parents sound strict but fair and seem to have done a great job bringing her up. No teenager likes rules, but we all have to live by them. You read stories all the time about parents who couldn't care less about their kids; this girl should be counting her blessings, not suing the people who love her the most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Thou shalt not let moochers into thy....hut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

She's 18, legally an adult. Therefore she can go fùck herself and support herself, although judging by the type she'll have herself a sugar daddy in no time considering her obvious father issues(and issues in general)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

actually I support the girl's view.
    her parents sound quite like mine - I was tormented with "house rules" when I was a teenager. which was usually some twisting of some tenet of christianity.

left soon after my leaving cert.

What bugged me was there were no "house rules" they just made sh*t up on the spot to suit them and a lot of the rules where designed to stop me having any non-religious enjoyment in my life.

anyway back to the story at hand.
    I appauld her - I wish I stuck it to my parents like she is.

her parents are cnuts. I have lived with the type and i know them.
    I have no doubt she was subjected to mental abuse based on their rules.

While you might argue she is 18 - in ireland the standard divorce have provisions to pay child maintenance till the child leaves full time education or till 23 if they remain in education. no terms on whether they live at home or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

GenieOz wrote: »
    She's 18, legally an adult. Therefore she can go fùck herself and support herself, although judging by the type she'll have herself a sugar daddy in no time considering her obvious father issues(and issues in general)

Not the rule in NJ, parents legal responsibilities don't end at 18. But what a little b*tch, hope she gets taught a good life lesson by the judge. She needs it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

At 18 she is not longer a child but an adult and she can sod off.

Even regular child support is only paid up until the child turns 18

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

The people that need a kick in the face here are her best friends parents, who are funding the court case.. asshats.

Caliden wrote: »
    At 18 she is not longer a child but an adult and she can sod off.

Even regular child support is only paid up until the child turns 18

who told you that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Its a bit weird that her lawyer had her dress up in her school uniform.

Expect a reality show in the next 6 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

The parents sound strict but fair and seem to have done a great job bringing her up.

Sounds to me more like they raises a little cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Reminds me of Sarah Michelle Gellar character in Cruel Intentions,

on topic though, if you are 18 and you leave home its on you.

yes there are constantly arguments and fights betweens teens and parents, we all did it it nothing special but imo if you leave home and are 18 then you cannot bring your parents to court looking for money. You made your bed, you sleep in it.

I know nothing is black and white and both sides of the story are different but for someone with (as the judge says) such a good academic and sporting grades the parents must be doing something right.

What the other 2 sisters have to say on the matter is gonna be the make or break of the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

She looks like a bitch, therefore the judge better tell her to do one. /after hours justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

She looks like a bitch, therefore the judge better tell her to do one. /after hours justice.

I can see the canine resemblance, alright. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

who told you that?

Have a read of that there good lad

http://www.divorcenet.com/states/new_jersey/new_jersey_child_support_part_2

We're not talking about rock stars or basketball stars, just 2 regular (albeit, well off) parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

her parents sound quite like mine - I was tormented with "house rules" when I was a teenager. which was usually some twisting of some tenet of christianity.

What bugged me was there were no "house rules" they just made sh*t up on the spot to suit them and a lot of the rules where designed to stop me having any non-religious enjoyment in my life.

While you might argue she is 18 - in ireland the standard divorce have provisions to pay child maintenance till the child leaves full time education or till 23 if they remain in education. no terms on whether they live at home or not.

Ah here, We all have different stories about growing up. You can choose your own religion or lack of when your older. Their house , their rules. Mental abuse? Do me a favour, jaysus if that's the case i'd have a great case...along with millions others*

*But were not still moaning about how our parents made up their own rules

Caliden wrote: »
    Have a read of that there good lad

http://www.divorcenet.com/states/new_jersey/new_jersey_child_support_part_2

We're not talking about rock stars or basketball stars, just 2 regular (albeit, well off) parents.

good man !

however in my case - I've to pay till they're 23 if they still in full time education but that's here so may be different there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The parents sound strict but fair and seem to have done a great job bringing her up.
    Hmmm... debateable. :pac:

She could be a cnut or her parents could be cnuts... or both could be cnuts. It's kinda hard to come to a conclusion really without knowing the full story.

WellThen? wrote: »
    Ah here, We all have different stories about growing up. You can choose your own religion or lack of when your older. Their house , their rules. Mental abuse? Do me a favour, jaysus if that's the case i'd have a great case...along with millions others*

*But were not still moaning about how our parents made up their own rules

fair enough - her parents decription of their upbring just sounded word for word what my parents would say.

I was battered too and I never said I was alone in this.
    although compared to my peers (and those of my siblings) I was very much alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

She's a giant idiot, which is no surprise, she appears to have been raised by a couple of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

She comes across like a right spoiled pain in the arse! good on the parents for refusing to pay $5,000 outstanding school fees, claiming "she's emancipated herself from their care"

(still would though)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

afatbollix wrote: »
    Its a bit weird that her lawyer had her dress up in her school uniform.

Smart move, makes her look younger, more vulnerable, more in need etc rather than looking like an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,076 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Parents making up the rules for their children who are living in the house paid for the parents?!?!?!?!?! What sort of crazy society are we living in???? When will the madness stop??????

The one trump card every parent has is "my house, my rules". If you don't like their rules, you go get your own place and make your own rules but then you also pay your own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

What a spoilt little brat. Want her cake and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

irish_goat wrote: »
    Smart move, makes her look younger, more vulnerable, more in need etc rather than looking like an adult.

Ya trying to manipulate the judge who could see straight through them.

Doesn't help wearing the pearl earrings and 2 pearl bracelets, When was the last time you seen a school girl wear them!

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Parents making up the rules for their children who are living in the house paid for the parents?!?!?!?!?! What sort of crazy society are we living in???? When will the madness stop??????

The one trump card every parent has is "my house, my rules". If you don't like their rules, you go get your own place and make your own rules but then you also pay your own way.

you don't even know what the rules were, but don't worry you win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Is there any way they could have wedged any more photos of her into that article?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The photographer must have looked at the way the photos turned out - essentially a hot yet demoniacally spoiled looking brat - and punched the air in jubilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

anncoates wrote: »
    The photographer must have looked at the way the photos turned out - essentially a hot yet demoniacally spoiled looking brat - and punched the air in jubilation.

EVERYONE LOOK AT THE HOT 18 YEAR OLD IN HER SCHOOL UNIFORM, EH? SHE NEEDS A GOOD SPANKING THAT ONE, EH? SPOILT LITTLE BITCH

Daily Fail at its finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Talking about a sense of entitlement she must have some Irish blood ,
    Amazing how many people can't respect there parents rules in there parents homes that they work and pay for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Well it's hard to judge this case without knowing all the details but it's fair to say that kids that blame their parents aren't usually the best of kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Gatling wrote: »
    Talking about a sense of entitlement she must have some Irish blood ,
    Amazing how many people can't respect there parents rules in there parents homes that they work and pay for

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Hmmm... debateable. :pac:

She could be a cnut or her parents could be cnuts... or both could be cnuts. It's kinda hard to come to a conclusion really without knowing the full story.

The message that she left on the phone for her mother leaves me in no doubt that the daughter is indeed what you said above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Spoilt brat. Absolute lunacy on her part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

A nice big bill for her parents legal bills will be a nice way to start her young life, the dope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

cloud493 wrote: »
    Spoilt brat. Absolute lunacy on her part.

She moved into a friends house and the friend's parents are funding the case. That's where the root of this problem lies. Sane people would have let her stay the night she turned up, then packed her off to her parent's where she belongs. If she decides to skip further education and get a job now is up to her, but expecting to move out and have an education and support paid by her parents is ludicrous.

Of course the friend's father is a lawyer! Only in America as the Don is wont to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

It's a very strange situation. The friend's father said he contacted the girl's father twice to try and sort out the situation and got nowhere. If the girl is just an entitled, spoiled brat, why wouldn't her friend's father send her home, rather than fork out $12,000 in legal fees? Plus the school are backing her up, despite her fees not being paid. Neither party comes out looking good in this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It's a very strange situation. The friend's father said he contacted the girl's father twice to try and sort out the situation and got nowhere. If the girl is just an entitled, spoiled brat, why wouldn't her friend's father send her home, rather than fork out $12,000 in legal fees? Plus the school are backing her up, despite her fees not being paid. Neither party comes out looking good in this.

The $12,000 in legal fees is probably the friends fathers fee and his attempt to sort thing out with the girls dad was probably about him threatening to take him to court and what an awesome lawyer he is.
    The school don't care, they just want someone, anyone, to pay their fees...and the lawyer guy is probably on the board of the school or something as well.

WellThen? wrote: »
    ???
    Some people have this obsession with going on about how certain dreadful traits are specific to Irish people (apart from themselves) rather than just being universal.

In this, on the face of it, she does seem the cnut.
    Yeah_Right wrote: »

Surely it depends on what the rules are. Unfortunately in a small number of houses there are rules like "Look at me crooked and you'll get a pasting."
    "If you don't like it, leave" does not apply in these cases; "Stop abusing your kids" does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,076 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

In this, on the face of it, she does seem the cnut.

Surely it depends on what the rules are. Unfortunately in a small number of houses there are rules like "Look at me crooked and you'll get a pasting."
    "If you don't like it, leave" does not apply in these cases; "Stop abusing your kids" does.

Yeah I get what you are saying. Obviously abuse isn't covered under the My house My rules.
    From what I have seen of this case though, she wants to do whatever she wants but have her parents pay for it. She wants to be an adult and a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

The friends father will get lots of publicity from this, and will probably end up suing for his expenses in Judge Judy's court room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

fair enough about her being over 18, legally an adult,

but were the allegations of sexual abuse true, Im surprised people are taking such a harsh stance on it. I wouldnt stay either if that was the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

fair enough about her being over 18, legally an adult,

but were the allegations of sexual abuse true, Im surprised people are taking such a harsh stance on it. I wouldnt stay either if that was the case

Where did you get the sexual abuse claim from ??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

She made vague suggestions against her dad, but didn't actually say that anything happened. In the hope of swaying the opinion against him, but without her actually having to state that anything happened that might then be found as being made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

From the article:
    She (Rachel) went on: ‘My father gave me the sense that he was inappropriately affectionate with me. He mentioned frequently that my relationship in his eyes was not one of a daughter, but more than that.
    ‘In the summer before my senior year he got me drunk at a wedding and said I was his date. He kept giving me shots and mango martinis. I blacked out that night and woke up at the toilet bowl in our room and he was in bed.

....‘He constantly put his arm around me in public and would kiss me on the cheek. When we moved to Hackettstown, he once woke me up at 2am to come down to play beer pong with him. The refrigerator was about 75 per cent full of liquor.’

But further down:

She (Rachel's mother) went on: ‘Rachel’s allegation that there was anything other than a father/daughter relationship is utterly offensive… there was never anything remotely sexual or conduct that could be considered in any way sexual. My husband loves his daughter – as a daughter – nothing more.
    ‘She was the apple of his eye.’
    The couple submitted letters to the court which state a Department of Children and Families investigation cleared them. Mrs Canning added: 'In fact, the case worker told us that it was in her opinion that we spoiled our daughter. We gave her too much'.

As a parent, that's got to be one of the most hurtful allegations a child can throw at you if untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

That girl has dropped the suit against her parents.
    ROSELAND, N.J. - The New Jersey honor student who sued to get her parents to support her after she moved out of their home has reunited with them, and the family is now asking for privacy.

The lawyer representing Rachel Canning's parents, made the request during a news conference on Wednesday.

Angelo Sarno says the 18-year-old's return is not contingent on any financial or other considerations.

He says that the suit has been settled "amicably," but refused to comment further on the suit.

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/new-jersey-student-who-sued-parents-drops-suit/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

A good kick in the gowl would do her no harm.