Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giants Causeway Sportive

• 04-03-2014 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭

Anyone do this Giants Causeway sportive last year?
    If so, whats it like?
    How does it compare to likes of SK 160?

It's on same days a Cork's Rebel Challenge, which I was going to enter.
    But have relations up north, so was wondering about the Causeway sportive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

Thinking of doing it this year. It's a tough one by all the reports i have heard. Harder that Wicklow 200 few of my mates said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    Thinking of doing it this year. It's a tough one by all the reports i have heard. Harder that Wicklow 200 few of my mates said.

They do a 127k and a 182k. The 182k looks like a right animal.
    Looking at the elevation, there are 2 climbs over 1000ft, one of which starts at 35ft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭talkabout

I did the 127km last year in horrible conditions, Torr Head is a beast at the end. Great sportive tho and I'll be back again this year. The 127km has about 6200ft of climbing. http://www.strava.com/activities/80778003

talkabout wrote: »
    I did the 127km last year in horrible conditions, Torr Head is a beast at the end. Great sportive tho and I'll be back again this year. The 127 has about 6700ft of climbing.

Will you do the 127k again or move up to the 182k?
    Was there many doing the 182k last year?

Will stick to the 127km as it was tough enough. The 180km doesn't have much extra climbing but is obviously longer. The weather was terrible last year and most people did the 127km, heard that some who started the 180km pulled out due to the weather conditions along the coast. Really enjoyable event tho and worth a visit. Its chipped timed and you're set off in groups of about 30 every 5 minutes.

Thanks Talkabout, that's sound advice.
    I did Rebel Rider last year and was thinking of doing the Rebel Challenge this year until I heard about the Causeway challenge was on same day...grrrr. Originally from that part of the world, so thought it would be nice to try my home event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

lismore7 wrote: »
    Anyone do this Giants Causeway sportive last year?
    If so, whats it like?
    How does it compare to likes of SK 160?

It's on same days a Cork's Rebel Challenge, which I was going to enter.
    But have relations up north, so was wondering about the Causeway sportive.

I've done all 3 of those. The Giant's Causeway is by far the toughest. I found the SK160 and the Rebel Tour 160 quite easy, but 3 times the Giant's Causeway 127km has beaten me. It's all grand until you hit Torr Head. From then on it's only the mountain goats that enjoy it.
    There is a variation on the route which avoids the worst of Torr Head, but pride can be a painful thing.
    It's a great event. Highly recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

I've done all 3 of those. The Giant's Causeway is by far the toughest. I found the SK160 and the Rebel Tour 160 quite easy, but 3 times the Giant's Causeway 127km has beaten me. It's all grand until you hit Torr Head. From then on it's only the mountain goats that enjoy it.
    There is a variation on the route which avoids the worst of Torr Head, but pride can be a painful thing.

LOL Torr Head defeated me too and owes me a new pair of cleats but i'll be back this year. I'm hoping second times a charm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

LOL Torr Head defeated me too and owes me a new pair of cleats but i'll be back this year. I'm hoping second times a charm.

Was cycling with my wife up there 2 years ago. At southern entry to Torr Head i asked her did she want to go inland or coastal route.

She said coastal. In my defence I said it might be a bit lumpy!

My wife doesn't cycle much!

ford2600 wrote: »
    Was cycling with my wife up there 2 years ago. At southern entry to Torr Head i asked her did she want to go inland or coastal route.

She said coastal. In my defence I said it might be a bit lumpy!

My wife doesn't cycle much!

Are you still married?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Are you still married?

Yep. She walked a few bits though.

Must head up to it and do 180 this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Some sharp hills on Torr head but the views are lovely.

Just saw that clip of cycling up Torr Head....... I was wrecked just watching it!!!!
    Me thinks a tad more hill training is needed, otherwise I'll also be looking to buy new cleats afterwards!!

Dermot Illogical: As you have cycled both and as they are now on the same day this year, which would you go for again...Rebel Tour or Giants Causeway? And why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Dermot Illogical: As you have cycled both and as they are now on the same day this year, which would you go for again...Rebel Tour or Giants Causeway? And why?

I don't know yet to be honest. If I'm looking for a bigger personal challenge it will be the Giant's Causeway. On a nice day they're equally stunning. I do intend to do one of them this year, and right now I'd say I'll probably go North. If my training falls off a little I may change my mind as I found the Rebel Tour easier. It's by no means a doddle, but the profile suits me a bit better. I don't mind lots of hills, but the sharp stuff kills me as I'm no lightweight.
    It's a shame they're on the same day.

I don't know yet to be honest. If I'm looking for a bigger personal challenge it will be the Giant's Causeway. On a nice day they're equally stunning. I do intend to do one of them this year, and right now I'd say I'll probably go North. If my training falls off a little I may change my mind as I found the Rebel Tour easier. It's by no means a doddle, but the profile suits me a bit better. I don't mind lots of hills, but the sharp stuff kills me as I'm no lightweight.
    It's a shame they're on the same day.

The clash is a pity! But looking at the long list of events between now and then come September getting a day pass from her good self will be a lot easier than trying to wangle a weekend. It's just not possible to do everything for obvious reasons. There is always next year no harm to have a few events to think about over the winter

Very true. My good lady has also voiced an opinion regarding a possible weekend trip (on my own) up north from Waterford county, for the Causeway tour:mad: Particulary as I've pencilled in several over the summer:D but only 1 involving over night stay ROK 180. However I have a "cunning plan" for that one!!! Hotel booked, 2 nights for both of us...now she's happy:)
    If i go to north for G.Causeway tour, she'd be stayn with her mother in law!!! need i say anymore? :rolleyes:

Very true. My good lady has also voiced an opinion regarding a possible weekend trip (on my own) up north from Waterford county, for the Causeway tour:mad: Particulary as I've pencilled in several over the summer:D but only 1 involving over night stay ROK 180. However I have a "cunning plan" for that one!!! Hotel booked, 2 nights for both of us...now she's happy:)
    If i go to north for G.Causeway tour, she'd be stayn with her mother in law!!! need i say anymore? :rolleyes:

You were doing quite well until the last line! could you drop her off at Kildare Village or some other lady creche and pick her up on the way home?:)

I like your way of thinking....hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Just registered, have drove most of the route before so looking forward to the cycle and the infamous Torr Head!!

Think I'll sadly have to bow out of the Causeway challenge and opt for the Rebel Challenge. Tis a 500k drive up north after work Friday night, cycle the Causeway 126k event Saturday morning and back down home next day another 500k, then into work Monday morning.
    Just a bridge too far sadly for me..
    The Rebel is less than 2 hours down the road.
    Would love to have done the Causeway as I know that area very well.
    Maybe some day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭kencoo

anyone doing this at the weekend? anyone have comparisons to other popular sportives like SKT, W200 ROK or so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

kencoo wrote: »
    anyone doing this at the weekend? anyone have comparisons to other popular sportives like SKT, W200 ROK or so?

Yes, I am heading up this Friday with a few lads from Cork to tackle the 182km route on Saturday..........I have done the SKT,W200,ROK,Rebel Tour lots of times,The Giants Causeway looks like a tough day in store though.
    Am a bit apprehensive about the Torr road coming so late into the ride, but after doing the Fred Whitton in the UK last year I cant imagine its any harder than Honister/Hardknott/Wyrenose passes, they are just fecking insane! :eek:
    The weather is looking OK for Saturday, and I have some Cleat covers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Yes, I am heading up this Friday with a few lads from Cork to tackle the 182km route on Saturday..........I have done the SKT,W200,ROK,Rebel Tour lots of times,The Giants Causeway looks like a tough day in store though.
    Am a bit apprehensive about the Torr road coming so late into the ride, but after doing the Fred Whitton in the UK last year I cant imagine its any harder than Honister/Hardknott/Wyrenose passes, they are just fecking insane! :eek:
    The weather is looking OK for Saturday, and I have some Cleat covers ;)
    Heading up to do the 182 route also, does anyone know if there are strong winds forecast? if so I'll leave the deep section wheels at home.

Well done on the Fred Whitton, its on the bucket list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭D33

best of luck at the weekend lads, great day out, tough day out but a great test and scenery's savage, only wish I could tog meself!!

Charlie69 wrote: »
    Heading up to do the 182 route also, does anyone know if there are strong winds forecast? if so I'll leave the deep section wheels at home.

Looking at Accuweather they look light so I'll be using the deep sections ones, plus couldn't be bothered changing now! Also wind looks good as its blowing from the south / east direction so blowing you over the climbs at the end :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Charlie69 wrote: »

Thanks Charlie69, I just checked YR NO weather and the wind isn't likely to be a problem with deep section wheels, and it should blow us home into Ballycastle in the afternoon...........good luck for Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

Anyone else do this today???
    Thought the food stops were poor
    And the amount of discarded gel wrappers on the road was disgraceful. Shame on you if you just threw it away.

Was expecting a better run event. Nowhere near as good as the skoda or an post series although the scenery is spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Yes did the 185k route today, also thought the food stops were very poor.
    Really enjoyed it apart from that, stunning scenery in the lovely weather we were blessed with.

Torr Head is a beast of a climb with 165k in the legs, made it all the way without climbing off though.

I was 2 weeks off the bike with a cold after the Sean Kelly spin and with only a few short spins in the legs I knew it would be tough but with the added adventure of bringing the wrong shoes (spd not look) I spent Friday afternoon and 60 euro finding pedals in a Halfords so not a good start. I ended up covering about 600 km in the car on the Friday before finally settling down to bed in the B&B!

On Saturday morning I made the short drive to the start with the sun rising over Ballycastle it looked beautiful:

20140913_061711_Android.jpg

With the Team Sky and Shimano support cars it looked impressive at the start along with the Chain Reaction support area for bike repairs and the breakfast vendor selling baps, bars etc.. it looked good.

However I saw no marshalls on the road nor any support vehicles, also thought the food stops were poor and the queue to the second one was long when I got there as the long and medium routes were coming together. Also the Garmin download on the website was wrong on 2 occasions and at one of the roundabout there was signs pointing up the wrong way so on 3 occasions I was left wondering if the signage was correct or someone messing about with the signs.

The route itself was very tough and after the second big climb I knew the legs had enough so took the quickest route back although when I reached the easy street option I decided to give Torr head a go and glad I did as its the main point of the cycle. As tough as the uphill were I also found the downhill very tough as I was so tired, serious gradient into haripins. The scenery was spectacular from what you could see and a real shame it was so hazy out as the views there are amazing on a clear day.

All in I completed 145km so am happy with that as I took in all the big climbs of the day and managed over 2000 m of climbing. The route is very tough with constant rolling hills. I will more then likely go back next year to finish as I didn't complete this year but one thing for sure is I won't be driving over 1100 km in two days as the drive home to Galway after the cycle was tough so might aim for a few days break next year as loadsa great cycling up there.

Overall though I would recommend the event for a one-off due to the route but unlike the Sean Kelly or Iveragh 200 I wouldn't be in a hurry back. Even the goodie bag at the end was disappointing, it had Chain Reaction vouchers but only applicable in store which is not very useful to anyone not near the stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭kencoo

i second what others have said about organisation of the event, although well signposted there were very few marshals on the road. 2nd foodstop on the 182km was woeful. No food apart from crisps. That said it was a great day on the road. The 10 miles or so before the finish across torr head were the toughest i have EVER done. Murder. I have yet to be in a sportive where a collection of cyclists were looking up a hill wondering if they could possibly climb it. Unbelievable! Had to climb off the bike myself - no shame in it as i had plenty of company. Makes Mahon Falls/ Shay Elliott etc look like a a walk in the park!