Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AQUA BLUE Classic 2014

• 03-03-2014 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

Hi All

The Aqua Blue Classic will be run in Minane Bridge on the 30th March

We have changed the route slightly from last year.

Sign on 11:00am Butlers Bar
    Racing starts at 1pm

A1/A2 6 laps
    A3 5 Laps
    A4 4 Laps

Prizes for the first six over the line. Sign on Fee €15.00

Any questions please ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Any questions please ask.

OK! What are the changes to the route? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Just Finalizing it at the moment will have it released once we get the final Map ready.

Map now attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Map now attached.

Nice and lumpy. I cycle there very regularly, usually at night slowly with lights though.

Map now attached.

Same as last year to my eyes?

We have taken out the last climb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Great race last year....a good test on a tough course which will bring you on... the course is tough but the riders make the race not the course, the A4 last year still came down to a sprint from a reduced bunch

Few changes added in the amount of Laps have increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Few changes added in the amount of Laps have increased.
    Any map link with changes Maurice,really enjoyed last years route,

Pawlie wrote: »
    Any map link with changes Maurice,really enjoyed last years route,

Will have it up the weekend on Strava Paul. You can start plan your victory after that.

Finishing it will be my win :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Finishing it will be my win :eek:

Went for leisurely cycle there this evening. Enjoy the suffering

ford2600 wrote: »
    Went for leisurely cycle there this evening. Enjoy the suffering
    Oh I will,was hoping it would have been same as last year,the last climb made **** of groups,even managed to finish 11th too,Eddie Dunbarr rode away into the distance and nobody was catching him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Bianchi00

What's the loop distance

Bianchi00 wrote: »
    What's the loop distance

As far as i know its 13k loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 kiongozi12

Hi, I'm new to boards and racing, can't see the map anywhere can someone send me the link, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

kiongozi12 wrote: »
    Hi, I'm new to boards and racing, can't see the map anywhere can someone send me the link, thanks

I'm the same, can't see any map linked.

jinkypolly wrote: »
    I'm the same, can't see any map linked.

here is a link to the route http://www.mapmyride.com/ie/carrigaline-m/edge-classic-route-31114810

We had planned to change the route but due to the bad road surfaces we have moved it back to the original route.

Here is strava from last years race,missed the 1st 4km never switched on garmin,its a course that is brutally tough,not on a place to catch your breath,yea either drilling it up or drilling it down,quality route thou :-)
    http://www.strava.com/activities/48817348

here is a link to the route http://www.mapmyride.com/ie/carrigaline-m/edge-classic-route-31114810

We had planned to change the route but due to the bad road surfaces we have moved it back to the original route.

Delighted ye stuck to your guns, it's a brilliant race. Bring on the suffering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Everyone is saying this is a tough one. How much climbing is there for 4 laps of the A4s?

Amprodude wrote: »
    Everyone is saying this is a tough one. How much climbing is there for 4 laps of the A4s?

A course is as tough as the riders make it.

It's a great course. Do it, you won't regret it.

Im doing it but i dont know what im facing, i like hills but are these hard hills?. I have done the Ras Luimni and Blarney GP already.

Any results in lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭mr gaffo

Raced today found the course not too bad but pulled out after a couple of laps as the descents were covered in muck and **** bike was all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

Any results in lads

danny got second in the A4 pawlie.

Lovely stuff,course suits him perfect,any other results in a3 and a1 races

no idea..his battery was just dead on his phone..he just txt to say he was second.

dylan foley won.

Pulled out after 2 laps. Got caught on one of the descents in lap 2 and lost ground to main bunch. Did too much work to catch bunch again and when i did i had burned my legs out. Finished after that. Sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭no1murray

Dylan foley, lacey, keith gator, me. It was handycapped again this year. Tough day at the office.

I did regret it today. Retiring after lap 2 wasn't part of the script. My aim was to stay in it until the end. Didnt happen. What I can take from the race is that I need to do and try something different with training. Need to go harder I guess. Did many A4s finish with the winner? I didnt see too many at the finish line?

No too many, im gussing about 25

no1murray wrote: »

How many A4s were racing today?

l dont know, was a sizeable enough bunch all the same.

no1murray wrote: »

When i was at finish line i saw about 8-10 riders come in after the winner and these were seperated. The rest that came through were miles off but id say these were just aiming to finish it after being dropped. Fair play to them for trying and completing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Full results anywhere?

http://www.irishcyclingphotos.com/?p=27121

1 Dylan Foley : Aquablue
    2 Sean Lacy : Aquablue
    3 Keith Gator : Aquablue
    4 Stephan Murray : Dungraven CC
    A4
    1 Chris Mintern/Aqua Blue;
    2 Daniel Merriman/Waterford TV;
    3 Darragh McCarthy/ Carrotdhoun CC;
    4 Kenneth Kennedy/MENAGH cc;
    5 Francis Tobin/Aqua Blue;
    6 Adian Quinn/Cork Triathlon;
    7 Leonard O’Keeffe/Mirroring;
    8 Steven vauls/ Waterford TV.
    FIRST LADY-Sandra Chawke/Aqua Blue.

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    http://www.irishcyclingphotos.com/?p=27121

1 Dylan Foley : Aquablue
    2 Sean Lacy : Aquablue
    3 Keith Gator : Aquablue
    4 Stephan Murray : Dungraven CC
    A4
    1 Chris Mintern/Aqua Blue;
    2 Daniel Merriman/Waterford TV;
    3 Darragh McCarthy/ Carrotdhoun CC;
    4 Kenneth Kennedy/MENAGH cc;
    5 Francis Tobin/Aqua Blue;
    6 Adian Quinn/Cork Triathlon;
    7 Leonard O’Keeffe/Mirroring;
    8 Steven vauls/ Waterford TV.
    FIRST LADY-Sandra Chawke/Aqua Blue.

Hehe, is that a direct transcript from the commissaire's shorthand?

Pulled out after 2 laps. Got caught on one of the descents in lap 2 and lost ground to main bunch. Did too much work to catch bunch again and when i did i had burned my legs out. Finished after that. Sickened.

I got dropped at the end of lap 1 last year, was somewhere in the top 15 this year. Fella I completed the course with last year is now an A3.

The best training is racing, it'll come.

When i was at finish line i saw about 8-10 riders come in after the winner and these were seperated. The rest that came through were miles off but id say these were just aiming to finish it after being dropped. Fair play to them for trying and completing it.

1 fella clear of chasing group of 5, with a strung out bunch of about 25 half a minute or so after.

Hehe, is that a direct transcript from the commissaire's shorthand?
    Pretty poor spelling anyway!!

I got dropped at the end of lap 1 last year, was somewhere in the top 15 this year. Fella I completed the course with last year is now an A3.

The best training is racing, it'll come.

I dont know if im cut out for it. So far this year i did alright with the Ras Luimni but lost bunch after 15km but broke away from 2nd group and eventually used that group again to finish race. Did well in Blarney GP finished in top 15 that day and was full of beans that day. Yesterday i thought it would suit me with hills but it just didnt happen. Dont know if il go to Fermoy next weekend as its meant to be flat and im better on a hillier course. I will prob get dropped if its too flat.

Its kind of bad form to attack a dropped group. Just ride up and over into the finish. There is nothing for 96th place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Pretty poor spelling anyway!!

You'd expect a bit better from an event that's pitching itself as a 'Classic'.