Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 Corolla lights problem

• 28-02-2014 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭

My OH called to say hello last night and when she pulled up it looked like she had a bulb gone. Instead though, the bulb (H7) was working just really faint.

I changed the bulb but it didnt help. Anyone any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it the same for dipped and high beam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

Just the dipped beam is the problem and only one side.
    I am going to chance another bulb tomorrow just to be sure its not that but after that i am at a loss as it is still lighting up even though not properly.
    It is like having two parking light bulbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭thebull09

Check the fuse in the fuse box, came across this a few times mind you, not in a toyota.

Will do bull
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

Yeah it's the fuse mate.

thanks lads will check it tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭thebull09

Any update?

her mother decided that the two of them were going to killarney today and tonight so I havent had a chance to check the fuses yet, til be tomorrow evening before I get at it.

Will post here then.

Changed the bulb again on the car and that didnt help. I dont have a diagram showing me which fuse is which but I pulled out all the fuses and they seemed fine. Will have another look in the daylight tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

If the bulb is lighting, just very faint then it's not a blown fuse. Could be a partial leakage to earth from a damaged wire somewhere, could also be a corroded relay depending on the car. For some reason only partial power is being supplied to the bulb, you need to find where the rest of the power is going!

I think this is one for the garage so.

Thanks lads,

I ll let ye know what it is in the end.

I got herself to call over at lunch time. I was going to drop it to the garage but before I did i said I would check the fuses again and one was blown. CHanged it and she is perfect again.

Thanks for your help lads. Next thing to do is get herself set of osram nightbreakers.