Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relationships. What am I missing here?

• 27-02-2014 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I see these "terminally single, don't understand why" threads around here regularly and always nod along and get exasperated at how I relate to them all time and time again. I guess now this would be mine.

I'm late 20s, female, and 'terminally single.' To lay it all out - I live overseas and have travelled quite a bit over last few years, dated quite a bit along the way either through online dating or just random guys I'd meet out. Attractiveness is not my problem - I take care of my appearance, would be considered pretty and attract a bit of attention. Perhaps confidence is, as things never seem to progress dating-wise and always end up going one of three ways:

- lovely guy, no chemistry
    - fancy the guy, things progress quickly physically, never hear from him again
    - fancy the guy, things fizzle out before they ever really kick off

I've never had a bad first date. I've the kind of personality that I'd get along with anyone and guys generally seem attracted to me. I've heard the "if he's into you, he'll get in contact' til the cows come home but the only ones who ever actually pursue me beyond date 1 or 2 fall into the first category above. The guys I'd like to see again (beyond bedroom activity), I never do.

I guess my most recent "date" has slightly exasperated me and made me wonder if things will ever actually change. i'm late 20s and totally monogamous by nature - not cut out for multi-dating, for 'trying out' all different kinds of men and ready to settle into a healthy, happy relationship - but slightly terrified at this stage that it will never happen.

Most recent guy I met online: attracted to him right away, a bit too much drink consumed, things got physical, spent the next day together and texting every day since...but no sign of a second date. He's gone on holidays this week and through some fb online stalking (we've all done it right?) discovered that it seems to be to meet a girl, someone he seems to have some sort of relationship with.

SIGH. I liked the guy but I'm used to the disappointment. I'm more frustrated that I seem to be banging my head against a brick wall here, beginning to HATE dating and the rollercoaster of emotions it provokes only to ultimately be let down, and don't know how to turn the tide.

I know drinking less and not letting things go that way would be a first step. i'm not a big drinker and see that this is a bad pattern that never leads to anything significant, for the most part it's not something I really do anymore. Sometimes though going long periods without any physical affection / sexy time gets frustrating so when I meet someone Im attracted to, things go that way after a few drinks.

i suppose I'd love some feedback, especially from a male perspective, as to what it is that makes a guy decide to invest in a girl beyond a measly date or two. I'm not lacking on the personality front, can rise a laugh in anyone, more than reasonably intelligent, professionally successful, independent and copped on, as well as being quite attractive.

Trying to figure this out is a minefield and the dating just isn't fun anymore. The lack of getting what I actually want - which seems to come so easy to everyone around me - a happy, healthy, mutually beneficial relationship and a man who actually cares about me beyond a quick fling - is making me increasingly self-conscious and having a real affect on my confidence.

Would love any feedback anyone could give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

You just haven't met the right guy yet. There is a saying that "You have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince" and its absolutely true.

It sounds like you have most of the prerequisites for a serious relationship (successful career-wise, independent, worldly etc). Often people (even your age) are trying to sort all that out, so consider the fact you are doing reasonably well as regards your own needs.

I agree, repeated disappointment lessens the more failed dating encounters you have. It is painful in the beginning, but the more you are used to it, the less it hurts. If you can resist it, you're doing well.

Don't worry about the guys who let you down, if they forget about you after one date they're not worth your time.

I'm the same, when I date a girl I want to date one who cares for me, who I can care back for, and someone I can offer reciprocal support. There will be some who walk out, but I just move on to the next.

I would say to not worry about when or where you will meet Mr. Right, just enjoy every date that comes your way and when your not trying too hard or expecting too much you will meet the right person :).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

It's just a lottery op. you are doing the right thing by not sticking with guys you have no chemistry with. It's easy to look around at all the couples but quite often one or other of them will be 'settling' so all may not be as it seems. People often settle for the 'nice guy, no chemistry' as you can see from the numerous threads in here about couples who have no sex life anymore on here.

Maybe you need to take some time out from dating as you seem a bit jaded with it all?

Most importantly it's not you... It just hasn't happened YET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

I always find in these situations people tend to end up pairing off in more serious relationships with friends of friends or people they kind of half knew all along. In my opinion (and correct me if I'm wrong), internet dating would invite more casual one-night-stands etc., so my first question would be - do you actually know anyone you totally fancy?! Maybe try and date someone like that rather than relying on totally random meetings.

Ireland doesn't have the same dating culture you see on American TV, but going out a few times with your friends and fictional-bf-to-be's mates can help set the chemistry alight.

Also post some pictures so we can judge for ourselves whether or not you are attractive :pac: (joking :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

If you are doing the online dating thing it is worth chatting to a few people and meeting within the first week or two. You dont know if you will click with someone.

Waiting for the guy to contact you is very old fashioned and it might give them the impression you are not that interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Kobe

I'm a male and I think maybe you just simply haven't found the right one like karaokeman said, but I can give you good advice because I'm kinda suck at relationships, but maybe take things slowly and try to understand each others more before get physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

In my opinion (and correct me if I'm wrong), internet dating would invite more casual one-night-stands etc.,

You're wrong. With on line dating as with other kinds of dating you get a mixture of people. Some are looking for relationships, some looking for casual dating. I met my boyfriend on line and I'm with him 9 months now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

listening to today fm atm, theres a fella on thats looking for a woman, seems genunine!

here you go.... http://www.todayfm.com/Make-Ger-a-Pair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

It really is a hard one to answer OP. You and he can tick every single box on paper or online but then when you meet, there is just something missing for one or both of you. A lot of it really is down to luck and chance encounters, right place and right time.

I wonder sometimes about dating and the pre-meditated agenda on both sides. It immediately puts an artificial edge onto the interaction between people (like a two way interview) which suggests people can't truly be themselves? I feel people can click more organically through meeting in a non agenda way. (ie your mate bumps into an old friend and introduces the two of you and the chemistry starts from there) rather than going out on a blind date where both sides have a vested interest?

I can only say I met my OH by chance (introduced by a third party), hadn't thought for a second that they were relationship material as I wasn't looking at others in that way at that time (even if I found them really attractive) and we just clicked. It could have just been a ONS and I would have enjoyed and happy to leave it at that but it turned into a second and a third encounter and so on. There was no "maybe this is the one" moment in those early days. I think if I started thinking "this is a keeper" from the very start, it could have somehow schewed the relationship potential as I would have started placing too much expectation on them which could have alienated them if they weren't on the same page at the same time with me.

I know some might say, if they don't proactively date (eg blind dates etc), how will they meet suitors? At one point years ago when I was single, I did try blind dating for a while, but in hindsight I realise I'd go in with too high expectations and if the date didn't meet those expectations in the first 5 minutes (or even less), the rest of the date became redundant. Similarly, if I did fancy them and it wasn't reciprocated, it wasn't pleasant either. It just didn't work for me but I guess others here can tell you it can.

Sorry that I can't give you definitive advice but just some perspective from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

stop animal cruelty - as per the forum charter, please limit your posts to mature and constructive advice for the OP. You've been around here long enough to know that this kind of posting can result in infractions or bans.

Regards,
    Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

mike_ie wrote: »
    stop animal cruelty - as per the forum charter, please limit your posts to mature and constructive advice for the OP. You've been around here long enough to know that this kind of posting can result in infractions or bans.

Regards,
    Mike

Sorry if l came across as immature with my post, by no means was l trying to be unhelpful....l just heard your man on the radio while l was reading the OP and just said ld write it down. Just thought she might wanna have a look anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

OP in my experience, getting drunk and sleeping with someone immediately AND/OR waiting for them to make the next move are terrific ways to have things fizzle out.

Go on dates and GO HOME afterwards, hooking up with someone in a bar/nite club is grand if thats what you are looking for, but for a relationship I think its pretty unlikely (does happen though)

If you like the guy after the first date, arrange another one (assuming he wants one)
    if he doesnt, grand, NEXT!
    if he does (or even suggests it himself) then great, go have more dates with him.

Hopping into bed or waiting for that phonecall is not going to get you anywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The majority of men online are looking for sex first and relationship second (if at all), so I would recommend trying not have sex immediately.

Also, you are clearly a very confident person, are you sure that's not being perceived as arrogance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭qdawg86

Holding off on sex is not going to change a thing. It's just going to result in the OP sleeping with guys that she is even more emotionally invested in, thus making it even more difficult when it fizzles out. A guy will stick around if he is interested sex or no sex.

It's a lottery and a waiting game. Right place, right time. Not much consolation for you OP, but I believe that's how it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

I hate to be blunt, but from a male (certainly my) perspective... You're giving it up way too easy. And once the mystery is gone why even bother!?

I'm quite good friends with my ex and she constantly asks me this question and I tell her the same thing. Fellas that want relationships aren't in it just for the sex and while most guys who are looking for that won't refuse it if it's offered, I think it leads to a lowering of estimations and to some degree a loss of respect.

Grand, you're a sexual being and enjoy it but that doesn't mean that all and sundry need to experience it. If you're truly interested in getting into a relationship, hold back. If he comes back for more then he's interested. If he doesn't then he was only in it for the sex in the first place. If you give it up on your first date the only he's coming back for is sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

pajopearl wrote: »
    I hate to be blunt, but from a male (certainly my) perspective... You're giving it up way too easy. And once the mystery is gone why even bother!?

I'm quite good friends with my ex and she constantly asks me this question and I tell her the same thing. Fellas that want relationships aren't in it just for the sex and while most guys who are looking for that won't refuse it if it's offered, I think it leads to a lowering of estimations and to some degree a loss of respect.

In other words, the dude can have his fun with a woman who is kind enough to let him, but after that she suddenly doesn't reserve his respect anymore because she "made it to easy?" Op, if you run into a fella with this kind of hang ups, please stay single a little while longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

Jenneke87 wrote: »
    In other words, the dude can have his fun with a woman who is kind enough to let him, but after that she suddenly doesn't reserve his respect anymore because she "made it to easy?" Op, if you run into a fella with this kind of hang ups, please stay single a little while longer.

Ah here. They're both having fun. Nobody is saying OP shouldnt go out and have her fun but if shes looking for a meaningful relationship then I think she's going about it all the wrong way.

I love the way you say "kind enough". Having sex is nothing to do with kindness. Im nice, I'll let you have sex with me. Is that an exclusively female trait or exclusively male?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thank you all for the advice and feedback.

While it's lovely and reassuring to hear I 'just haven't met the right guy yet' it's also kind of frustrating coz it's like, I'm in my late 20s, I'm putting myself out there, I'm 'doing the right things' - and people seem to have been - since my early early dating years - pretty much falling into relationships all around me! You know?

Hard not to take it personally at this stage and sometimes I wish hearing that there was something obvious about me that was off-putting or that I needed to change would be easier. I could then do something practical to move things along a little as opposed to just leaving it up to the gods of fate! :)

I do take the point that seems to have come up about jumping into bed sending the wrong message. To put in context any time this has happened it's been an alcohol-impaired judgement that led to the decision - maybe that combined with a lack of affection for a while - I never set out on a date to sleep with someone.

I spent years being the advocate for 'women like sex too' etc ect but I guess there is a sad reality about this stuff. Maybe I need to just accept that and set out to just have a laugh with someone and see how things go.

Ongarboy's post really struck a chord. that's a thought I have often - that setting out to intentionally find a relationship is working against me. It just seems like a lose lose situation though. If I go out without that intention it won't happen either! It hasn't happened at all yet! I get the point that setting out with high expectations can lead to disappointment and maybe me coming across as a bit over eager. But I've spent so so so long lying to myself, pretending i was perfectly happy being single and having a bit of fun here and there, but it's just not true at all and I got sick of the pretence. Why can't people be honest about this stuff?

It IS hard to meet people I find attractive and seem to have things in common with and it doesn't go further for that reason though.

And the 'waiting for them to call thing'. I'm quite instinctive about someone being interested in me at this stage and no man who has ever been interested in me has left me hanging. I've done a lot of dating 'post mortems' too and it was always the ones that were half assed about texting, meeting up etc that turned out to be not bothered and I;m not interested in wasting my time. I also got badly burned by being quite forward with a guy I was crazy about only to be strung along and eventually dumped for another girl and I found the experience v hurtful and embarrassing so maybe that's clouding my judgement. I decided after that I would never chase a guy again, if he's bothered he can show it and if he's not well fcuk him, to be frank.

On re-reading my post Im not sure how likeable I came across and I take the point about seeming 'over confident' but that's not me at all! I was just trying to lay the facts out so there wouldn't be any assumptions about me - but in the whole I'd be a pretty laidback, easygoing and very likeable person, maybe a bit of a people pleaser. Just the point that i have no problem attracting guys - it's knowing what to do with that attention and maintaining that attention to become something meaningful beyond one or two meetings that's my problem.

Thanks again to everyone for taking the time to respond.

pajopearl wrote: »

Grand, you're a sexual being and enjoy it but that doesn't mean that all and sundry need to experience it. If you're truly interested in getting into a relationship, hold back. If he comes back for more then he's interested. If he doesn't then he was only in it for the sex in the first place. If you give it up on your first date the only he's coming back for is sex.

Such a cop out. If sleeping with a guy on the first date is a deal breaker perhaps the guy should end it as soon as he realises that sex is on cards.

Sleeping with the girl is somehow still acceptable though, even though a guy has lost respect for her.

OP ignore men with this attitude !!!

Hi OP,
    I 1 million % know where you are coming from.

I am a little older than you, but more or less same scenario, but Ive a different perspective on it.

First of all, its is without doubt luck - the right person, the right time. If its a case of the wrong person, the right time. The right person, the wrong time (applied to both people), then its simply not going to work.

It doesnt mean you are "doing" anything wrong. Even more so if you are putting yourself out there.

Last weekend, I was out and met a guy through a friend, and hit it off personality-wise, but he didnt float my boat physical-wise. We had a kiss, but already knew it just wouldnt work. Roll on a few days, a guy I know asks me for a coffee, physical-wise more my type, personality-wise, no. Few months ago, I met a guy I really really liked. And he hadnt a penny to his name, physical-wise and sense of humour-wise, perfect. But he felt his situation, if we had a relationship, he wouldnt be able to support me.

There have been many scenarios like this, where things just wont match up. And I feel your frustration. But I believe that luck may come my way some day. It may or may not, and Ive accepted that. Id rather be with the right man, than "a" man.

One of my friends, who was on the dating scene till her late 30s said to me once "I didnt realise how wrong all the other guys were until I met my husband - it was just easy". All her luck love chips were cashed in.

Thanks to the last poster, that made a lot of sense and was really reassuring to read.

Last night I deleted two guys' numbers off my phone. One was the guy I met online a few weeks ago, who went on holidays and seemed to disappear off the radar. He's been texting me dribs and drabs since he got back, in fairness I've also been pretty busy with work so can go entire days without getting back to him - but I just find the texts without any move towards asking me out again head-wrecking and annoying and I decided to cut the cord.

The second was a guy I've known for about four months and have been in contact with in some fashion every day for that length of time. Wed been living in different countries up til about 6 weeks ago and I thought him being closer would mean we'd see more of each other, but again we've only met up ONCE in that time and I just don't feel like humouring it anymore.

I think that's the crux of my problem. I'm so bored of texting men, getting nowhere. It's such a giant waste of time and to me, indicative of a guy who's not interested but happy to fill the gap/give himself an ego massage when he's bored.

Is it really just that I'm unlucky that I keep meeting this kind of guy? i've tried the "being forward" route and I've tried holding back and waiting to see if they make any more effort and neither has made any difference!

I honestly think I'm better off at this stage taking time off dating altogether, finding something else to focus on, do a bloody triathlon or buy a cat or something . Its all beginning to feel like groundhog day.

anyway sorry to bump the thread. Think I just needed to offload so I can stop ruminating about all of this. Close the chapter on this bullsh1t as it were. Thank you all for the advice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Just keep doing what you are doing (including culling the dead rot). Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

The two that you just cut loose, did you ask either of them out again or just waiting for them to ask you out?
    Cutting them free because they didn't ask you, when you also haven't asked them is silly imo.

GreeBo wrote: »
    The two that you just cut loose, did you ask either of them out again or just waiting for them to ask you out?
    Cutting them free because they didn't ask you, when you also haven't asked them is silly imo.

I don't know any man who, when he is really interested in a girl, will only text her once in a while and will refrain from asking her out. Especially when said girl is showing interest/replying to all of his texts etc.

I don't think it's silly to cull these guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

We're not saying that we automatically lose respect for women that sleep with us. But tbh most of the time I read posts from women having the same issue as OP, where things fizzle out and they don't know why, the common thread is that they slept with them early on.

When a guy like a girl over a period of time, whether as friends of friends or class/workmates or whatever, and then after some time get with that person, they are more likely to still feel the same way as they did before. That period of 'crushing on' the person is vital. When it all happens quick you often realize it was just hormones or alcohol and you really aren't that into them as a person. Maybe you could have been but things happened to fast. Like if you watch a film in fast forward, the events will not capture your attention and leave you in suspense, and you won't connect with the characters the same way.

I do think it must be frustrating to be female. You are taught that we men are all hornballs who just want sex. Also, that in this modern age you can be free in your sexuality. Then you find out, we modern men are old fashioned as fook after all, even if it is pretty much unconsciously, and you're still stuck with this ridiculous double standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

First of all, if you relaxed a little on the fixation with your age. And the fixation that all your friends are in a relationship so you should be too, youd feel alot better.

Dont you realise you are putting all the pressure on yourself to make something happen?

"Im late 20s, I must......my friends are all in relationships I should...."

Start with the basics, enjoy being single and getting to know yourself and enjoying your own company, with out all that pressure you are putting on yourself. Live in the present. "Im here, im fine, im healthy.....etc". Its not a thought (when you read this youll probably think "ok" and forget an hour later), its a way of living. And it does require some practice and effort. But it brings back to what you do have, what you should enjoy, and not panic about things you dont really have any control over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭neveah

OP I can totally emphatise with your situation, I am in my early 30's and have been single for a few years now so I have experienced all the things on the dating scene that you have, in fact I could have written your original post! It's very hard to meet people these days, everyone seems to be struggling with it. Maybe it's that as we get older our standards are higher and most of us have been hurt by a relationship in the past, all this leads to people being far more selective and not as willing to give people a chance as they might have been when they were younger.

I just wanted to say that I agree with Sligoface's post about the importance of the 'crushing on' time. A connection needs to be built between 2 people in order to start a successful relationship. If it's just a drunken physical connection then it's not likely to have any substance that would lead it to develop into more. From what I've seen, in the majority of cases, if you and a guy have been building a connection over a period of time, maybe even only as friends and a mutual attraction is growing between you both then likely it won't matter if you sleep with him on the first night because that connection has been established, he knows and likes you as a person. My advice would be to build more friendships with guys, take that pressure off yourself to score and get into a relationship as soon as possible. You never know what connections you will build but connecting with someone on another level (not just physical) is the most important thing in starting a successful relationship I think.

sligoface wrote: »
    We're not saying that we automatically lose respect for women that sleep with us. But tbh most of the time I read posts from women having the same issue as OP, where things fizzle out and they don't know why, the common thread is that they slept with them early on.

When a guy like a girl over a period of time, whether as friends of friends or class/workmates or whatever, and then after some time get with that person, they are more likely to still feel the same way as they did before. That period of 'crushing on' the person is vital. When it all happens quick you often realize it was just hormones or alcohol and you really aren't that into them as a person. Maybe you could have been but things happened to fast. Like if you watch a film in fast forward, the events will not capture your attention and leave you in suspense, and you won't connect with the characters the same way.

I do think it must be frustrating to be female. You are taught that we men are all hornballs who just want sex. Also, that in this modern age you can be free in your sexuality. Then you find out, we modern men are old fashioned as fook after all, even if it is pretty much unconsciously, and you're still stuck with this ridiculous double standard.

The common thread could also have been (and probably was) that the guys weren't into these women enough to want to get into a relationship with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

qdawg86 wrote: »
    I don't know any man who, when he is really interested in a girl, will only text her once in a while and will refrain from asking her out. Especially when said girl is showing interest/replying to all of his texts etc.

I don't think it's silly to cull these guys.

These days it's not unknown for people to date more than one person at once. Particularly true in terms of online dating.

Now picture the scene. You're a guy, been out on a few dates. You've two girls you're really interested in. Both dates end and you're not altogether sure how either of the two girls felt about things. You're trying to decide which one is the one for you.

Then you get a text from girl A saying, "had a great time, wanna do it again next weekend?" That s your decision made right there as girl A is the girl your thinking about from then on in. Haven't heard a thing from girl B in the mean time. Prob couldn't recall her name two weeks from then. But yeah, best to cull those guys and sit around wondering why you're still single two years down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

sligoface wrote: »
    When a guy like a girl over a period of time, whether as friends of friends or class/workmates or whatever, and then after some time get with that person, they are more likely to still feel the same way as they did before. That period of 'crushing on' the person is vital.

I also think the ideal way to get to know someone is to be friends first, however from experience I can also say that sometimes even women can end up in the "friends zone"!

Op, I really feel for you. I was in your position a few years ago. I could have written a book on meeting the wrong guys and having it not work out.
    I tried online dating and met some nice people but no one that was quite right. Then I went on one last online date with someone who I had spoken to a little but didn't have big expectations. Next year we are getting married so I am glad I went now.
    I don't regret the wrong ones from my past as they have only made me appreciate my husband to be even more. A few years ago I was wondering if I would ever meet someone nice and now I am planning forever with a man who is perfect for me & makes me so happy.
    Don't give up hope, I am sure you will meet someone. I know Internet dating isn't for everyone but if you want to continue with it then do so knowing that not all the men on these sites are only after something casual.
    Wishing you all the best OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 TechnicalGroup

Thank you all for the advice and feedback.

While it's lovely and reassuring to hear I 'just haven't met the right guy yet' it's also kind of frustrating coz it's like, I'm in my late 20s, I'm putting myself out there, I'm 'doing the right things' - and people seem to have been - since my early early dating years - pretty much falling into relationships all around me! You know?

Hard not to take it personally at this stage and sometimes I wish hearing that there was something obvious about me that was off-putting or that I needed to change would be easier. I could then do something practical to move things along a little as opposed to just leaving it up to the gods of fate! :)

I do take the point that seems to have come up about jumping into bed sending the wrong message. To put in context any time this has happened it's been an alcohol-impaired judgement that led to the decision - maybe that combined with a lack of affection for a while - I never set out on a date to sleep with someone.

I spent years being the advocate for 'women like sex too' etc ect but I guess there is a sad reality about this stuff. Maybe I need to just accept that and set out to just have a laugh with someone and see how things go.

Ongarboy's post really struck a chord. that's a thought I have often - that setting out to intentionally find a relationship is working against me. It just seems like a lose lose situation though. If I go out without that intention it won't happen either! It hasn't happened at all yet! I get the point that setting out with high expectations can lead to disappointment and maybe me coming across as a bit over eager. But I've spent so so so long lying to myself, pretending i was perfectly happy being single and having a bit of fun here and there, but it's just not true at all and I got sick of the pretence. Why can't people be honest about this stuff?

It IS hard to meet people I find attractive and seem to have things in common with and it doesn't go further for that reason though.

And the 'waiting for them to call thing'. I'm quite instinctive about someone being interested in me at this stage and no man who has ever been interested in me has left me hanging. I've done a lot of dating 'post mortems' too and it was always the ones that were half assed about texting, meeting up etc that turned out to be not bothered and I;m not interested in wasting my time. I also got badly burned by being quite forward with a guy I was crazy about only to be strung along and eventually dumped for another girl and I found the experience v hurtful and embarrassing so maybe that's clouding my judgement. I decided after that I would never chase a guy again, if he's bothered he can show it and if he's not well fcuk him, to be frank.

On re-reading my post Im not sure how likeable I came across and I take the point about seeming 'over confident' but that's not me at all! I was just trying to lay the facts out so there wouldn't be any assumptions about me - but in the whole I'd be a pretty laidback, easygoing and very likeable person, maybe a bit of a people pleaser. Just the point that i have no problem attracting guys - it's knowing what to do with that attention and maintaining that attention to become something meaningful beyond one or two meetings that's my problem.

Thanks again to everyone for taking the time to respond.

Lovely, reassuring and dead wrong.

Sorry to be blunt, but I'll try to be helpful also. You have been sexually mature for half your life. It is not plausible that you haven't met a 'right guy'. Either you haven't recognised him, or you have put him off. Or them, more likely. If you say you just have to wait, you need to decide how long you are prepared to wait. Another 15 years?
    I guess my most recent "date" has slightly exasperated me and made me wonder if things will ever actually change. i'm late 20s and totally monogamous by nature - not cut out for multi-dating, for 'trying out' all different kinds of men ...

...He's gone on holidays this week and through some fb online stalking (we've all done it right?) discovered that it seems to be to meet a girl, someone he seems to have some sort of relationship with.

There is one problem straight away. If you didn't actually say that you would not simultaneously date him and another guy, you can be sure that you communicated it non-verbally. But you seem to think that it's fine for him to do that. Where is your sense of self-worth?

Your sense of self-worth is important for yourself, but also it also signals your suitability as a girlfriend to guys you meet.

There has been a lot of talk about the 'no sex before the whatever-th date' rule here. This is a (pretty crude) way that many girls use that to signal that they have a high sense of their worth. There are probably better ways of doing that, but if all else fails, it is better than nothing.

It's not unusual that you are horny and want to have sex with someone you fancy if you meet them and are attracted, particularly if you are single. That isn't necessarily incompatible with putting them on shortlist to be considered as boyfriend material, but it isn't something that will be decided on that first night.

Guys - and girls - will value a potential mate on a number of factors. One will be looks, but they will take cues not just from what they see, but the opinions that they perceive others to have too - not least the possible object of their desire. A girl whose behaviour signals low-worth as a mate is a definite turn-off.

Another turn-off is the sense that they are desperate and willing to cling to the first guy that comes along. If a girl told me - or I even picked up from signals - that she was being 'faithful' to me after one or two dates, sex or no sex, then I would run a mile.

Guys are competitive, and always worried that other guys are getting one up on them; and about other guys ridiculing their choice of girlfriend. If other guys appear to be rejecting you, that is a good reason for them to do the same. If other guys are, or appear to be, after you, they are more interested.

So, if you aren't interested in dating more than one guy at a time, at least don't give the guy the impression that you are choosing baby names before you have finished your first drinks. If you want to have sex, fine, but make it very clear that it is for you. For example, tell him you want him to come back to your place, but only so he can give you oral sex. And tell him how lucky he is that you are horny, you would never take your pants off for a guy on the first date normally.

Pay for your own drinks, and not his. That sets a tone of equality.

Don't get blind drunk, and if he needs to drink so much that you can't keep up, forget him.

Everything from fast cars to lipstick are designed to signal somebody's worth as a mate. Everybody does it in many ways. You need to be clear about sending the right signal.

Lovely, reassuring and dead wrong.

Sorry to be blunt, but I'll try to be helpful also. You have been sexually mature for half your life. It is not plausible that you haven't met a 'right guy'. Either you haven't recognised him, or you have put him off. Or them, more likely. If you say you just have to wait, you need to decide how long you are prepared to wait. Another 15 years?

There is one problem straight away. If you didn't actually say that you would not simultaneously date him and another guy, you can be sure that you communicated it non-verbally. But you seem to think that it's fine for him to do that. Where is your sense of self-worth?

Your sense of self-worth is important for yourself, but also it also signals your suitability as a girlfriend to guys you meet.

There has been a lot of talk about the 'no sex before the whatever-th date' rule here. This is a (pretty crude) way that many girls use that to signal that they have a high sense of their worth. There are probably better ways of doing that, but if all else fails, it is better than nothing.

It's not unusual that you are horny and want to have sex with someone you fancy if you meet them and are attracted, particularly if you are single. That isn't necessarily incompatible with putting them on shortlist to be considered as boyfriend material, but it isn't something that will be decided on that first night.

Guys - and girls - will value a potential mate on a number of factors. One will be looks, but they will take cues not just from what they see, but the opinions that they perceive others to have too - not least the possible object of their desire. A girl whose behaviour signals low-worth as a mate is a definite turn-off.

Another turn-off is the sense that they are desperate and willing to cling to the first guy that comes along. If a girl told me - or I even picked up from signals - that she was being 'faithful' to me after one or two dates, sex or no sex, then I would run a mile.

Guys are competitive, and always worried that other guys are getting one up on them; and about other guys ridiculing their choice of girlfriend. If other guys appear to be rejecting you, that is a good reason for them to do the same. If other guys are, or appear to be, after you, they are more interested.

So, if you aren't interested in dating more than one guy at a time, at least don't give the guy the impression that you are choosing baby names before you have finished your first drinks. If you want to have sex, fine, but make it very clear that it is for you. For example, tell him you want him to come back to your place, but only so he can give you oral sex. And tell him how lucky he is that you are horny, you would never take your pants off for a guy on the first date normally.

Pay for your own drinks, and not his. That sets a tone of equality.

Don't get blind drunk, and if he needs to drink so much that you can't keep up, forget him.

Everything from fast cars to lipstick are designed to signal somebody's worth as a mate. Everybody does it in many ways. You need to be clear about sending the right signal.

This has to be a troll :D:D:D:D !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

qdawg86 - as per the forum charter:

If you have an issues with a post or a thread report it, do not post "I think this is a troll" as it will be considered off topic posting and by now you should all know off topic posting can resulted in infractions and/or a ban from this forum.

Please familiarise yourself with the charter before posting again.

regards,
    Mike