Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kanthal wire coil for Kanger t3s

• 26-02-2014 2:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know is it possible to get them.
    I have an allergy to Nickel and as the day goes on and the more I vape, I get a bit of a rash on the back of my hands.

I first thought it might be the pg juice so I switched to vg.
    Do ye think it could be the coil causing this?

Could someone please advise me on my options so I can continue vaping without getting a rash?
    Cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Good chance it's your nickel allergy alright, a few on UKV have suffered from it and had it go once they switched to Kanthal.

Rebuilding with Kanthal yourself is the only option I can think of.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Thanks grindle!
    Only problem is I haven't a clue how to rebuild :(

blade1 wrote: »
    Thanks grindle!
    Only problem is I haven't a clue how to rebuild :(

None of us did, but there are tons of us doing it - turn that frown upside-down & other positive reinforcements! EVod/protank heads are the easiest to rebuild if you're sticking with clearos, but I'd get something like the iGO-L or S, or the A7, some Kanthal wire and cotton and away you go.
    Very easy to rebuild one of those and you'll be pleasantly shocked at how much nicer your juice tastes.
    What device/battery are you using?

I'm looking at the A7 there.
    Will the ekowool do with that?
    If so, what thickness?
    Also which kanthal wire?
    There's a1 and d.
    Also what thickness?

It's a bit double Dutch to me at the moment.
    At the moment I'm using the t3s with 1.8 ohm coils and I'd like something to resemble that.

Almost every wicking material will work with it, I just prefer cotton or mesh. Someone who uses silica wicks can tell you what's best to use if you go that way, I haven't a notion, never liked silica.

If you're using an eGo or something I'd get 0.25mm Kanthal. Cut a 7-8cm length of wire and you'll be around the 1.6-1.8ohm mark.
    The only difference between A1 and D is how resistant to extremely high temperatures A1 is. We go nowhere near those temperatures, so D is perfect.

If you want to have a clearo get an eVod or protank, the A7 is a dripper so you'd have to drip a half-ml in every once in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Just to add, the T3s head is exactly the same to rebuild as a protank head.

I have a pro tank 3 which I don't like, there's a good hit off it but it doesn't produce enough smoke.
    If I rebuild the coil for the t3s do I do away with the coil that comes with it completely?
    Do I need any tools to rebuild?

If someone wouldn't mind listing what I need as it's confusing me a bit.
    Sorry for wasting yer time and I really appreciate the advice I'm getting.

Btw, it's an eGo-C battery I'm using.

If you Google rebuilding evod coil, you'll find loads of videos on you tube, that's the best place to start.

You'll need wire, a wick of either cotton or silica, a pair or small needle nose pliers, tweezers, a small nail or drill bit, a needle, scissors and somethhing soft to bang your head against! If you get it right first time you're a better man than I, but stick with it, I can do them blindfold now.

Ideally you'll want to test the resistance before you fire it up. You can get meters to do this, but I use my itaste.

It is easier than it sounds, trust me!

Ok lads, i'm going for it!
    After looking at the evod rebuild video and I gather I can stick with my T3s.
    I've just ordered Kanthal wire AWG32, some ekowool 1mm and 2mm.

If all goes well I will try cotton wool.
    Where do ye get it? Is there a special cotton for making wicks?

Also, for the flavour wicks should I use 2 1mm or 2 2mm?
    I know I'll be using a 2mm for the coil.

My proudest moment, my first coil rebuild.
    Working away grand.
    A little less smoke out of it than the original coil.
    Wondering is this down to the amount of wick used or would it be the ohms?

Here she is in all her glory
    [IMGphoto_zps35d2976b.jpg[/IMG]

My proudest moment, my first coil rebuild.
    Working away grand.
    A little less smoke out of it than the original coil.
    Wondering is this down to the amount of wick used or would it be the ohms?

Here she is in all her glory
    [IMGphoto_zps35d2976b.jpg[/IMG]

Are you using a fixed voltage battery? If so you may have made the coil a higher resistance and the battery is producing enough power.

Well done though, it is satisfying.

Try cotton wool, that's brill.

Are you using a fixed voltage battery? If so you may have made the coil a higher resistance and the battery is producing enough power.

Well done though, it is satisfying.

Try cotton wool, that's brill.
    Is it just normal cotton wool?

The battery is an eGo-c.
    2 settings, a blue light and a white light.

Is it just normal cotton wool?

The battery is an eGo-c.
    2 settings, a blue light and a white light.

I use cotton wool pads, actually I pinch them off the wife.

Boil them to remove any chemicals, then flatten them out on a radiator to dry.

Then split them in half and you'll have a thin half and a thicker half. Bin the thin one and cur the thicker one into strips 3 to 4 mm wide and that's your wick.

You'll need to make your coil using a small nail and then roll up the cotton wool and thread it in to the coil.

Don't dry burn cotton wicks, the cotton is flammable.

Google it though, there's some good YouTube vids out there.

I use cotton wool pads, actually I pinch them off the wife.

Boil them to remove any chemicals, then flatten them out on a radiator to dry.

Then split them in half and you'll have a thin half and a thicker half. Bin the thin one and cur the thicker one into strips 3 to 4 mm wide and that's your wick.

You'll need to make your coil using a small nail and then roll up the cotton wool and thread it in to the coil.

Don't dry burn cotton wicks, the cotton is flammable.

Google it though, there's some good YouTube vids out there.
    Brilliant, thanks!

A quick question!
    If I want lower resistance,should I wrap it more or less?
    I done 6 on my first one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Less wraps will give you lower resistance, also using thicker wire will do the same.

That ego c you have, do you know you can turn up the voltage. Turn it off, then hold your fire button until it flashes an orange colour, turn it back on with 5 clicks, now its in unregulated mode-4.2v when fully charged and drops down to 3.6v as the battery dies.

Mr. Chrome wrote: »
    Less wraps will give you lower resistance, also using thicker wire will do the same.

Cheers, I'll try 4 in my next rebuild tomorrow so.

That ego c you have, do you know you can turn up the voltage. Turn it off, then hold your fire button until it flashes an orange colour, turn it back on with 5 clicks, now its in unregulated mode-4.2v when fully charged and drops down to 3.6v as the battery dies.

I know I can change it but I'm not sure which is better.
    If i have higher resistance should I use higher voltage?

I know I can change it but I'm not sure which is better.
    If i have higher resistance should I use higher voltage?

Yep, higher ohms need higher volts.

Ah, I'm starting to understand now.
    I'd be lost without ye:D

Made 6 coils yesterday.
    4 silica and then I tried cotton.
    1st one was a disaster, shorted my battery.
    2nd one worked one worked out fine.

Getting a bit less of a throat hit with all my rebuilds.
    Any tips for this?

And lastly, the itchy rash I had is gone since I started using the Kanthal.