Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off duty garda summons

• 25-02-2014 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

hi lads got summons to court for no insurance by a guard who followed me in his gf car up to my friends house.got out told me produce insurance cert and that was it. can i get this case thrown out?he was wearing a football jersey and followed me because he saw the window had no disc as i only bought the car and the shop is 3 minutes away. thanks for reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

You had no insurance so you're guilty, expect a ban I'd say

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

hi lads got summons to court for no insurance by a guard who followed me in his gf car up to my friends house.got out told me produce insurance cert and that was it. can i get this case thrown out?he was wearing a football jersey and followed me because he saw d window had no disc as i only bought d car and the shop is 3 minutes away. thanks for reading
    Yes, it still counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Did you produce the insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fortunately gardai have their full powers whether on or off duty and he was vigilant in catching someone driving without insurance. The distance or time you were driving is irrelevant. Well done to that Garda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 kevin1987123

he didnt show id and threatened to get the car taken ?no sadly i had no insurance as only had car 3 hours no excuse i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Did you take out insurance immediately? I figure seeing as you had just bought the car, if you could show that you had insurance on it the next day, the judge might be a little more forgiving although you were still driving without insurance.

took it out on the monday that was saturday?so it doesnt matter he showed no id or anything im still in big trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I might be wrong but I cannot imagine whether the Garda being on or off duty would have any bearing on the fact you were caught driving without insurance, in front of a judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Tbh you either met Robocop or something is missing from this story.

I've never known the most by the books cops to do something like this while off duty unless they are given a reason, and as pointed out you fully admit you were driving without insurance.

his nickname is robocop ha.will i be able to get the case adjourned do ye know?as im going to london for 3 months nxt week and its in mid march,if i get a solicter to represent me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

signing up with a new ID smacks of knowing already what will say.
    10 seconds or a year with no insurance is just the same.

thanks for that had to sign up to get a opinion !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

How do you know the guard was driving his girlfriends car :confused:

helives beside my uncle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

depends on what team football jersey he was wearing, u could argue that there are better teams to follow,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ppars

I wish more Guards did this. Fair play to him. Far too may scumbags on Irish roads who think they have the right to be on the road rather than share it and responsibility that goes with it, with the rest of the public.

so im a scumbag nw??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Expect a ban.

Having the car 3 hours is no excuse. You could organise immediate cover online with your phone in 5 mins if needed.

so im a scumbag nw??

I don't know or care, but actions speak louder than words.

do you think you're above insurance ?

do you think public road rules don't apply to you, that they are just for other people, and that you're some sort of special privileged class who's entitled to a loophole ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

ppars wrote: »
    I don't know or care, but actions speak louder than words.

I think the OP knows he was wrong. Calling him a scumbag could be a bit harsh.
    You have obviously never done anything wrong in your life to judge so quickly.

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    I think the OP knows he was wrong. Calling him a scumbag could be a bit harsh.
    You have obviously never done anything wrong in your life to judge so quickly.

So where did I call him a scumbag, as I said I don't care if he's one or not.

So who's judging now, do you practice what you preach ?

I'm sick of people rushing to defend the self proclaimed cute hoor brigade in Ireland.

ppars do you think i care what you have to say jog on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Nixer Jim

This thread is just made for the whiter than white, he who has never sinned, boards high horse brigade. Get back to Coronation Street you lot, there's far more drama to be added to your pathetic lives from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

so im a scumbag nw??

Yes anyone who drives without insurance is, pure and simple. You expect the rest of us to pay your way in life.

ppars do u think i care wat you hav to say jog on

I'll post where I like, and until you learn to pay your insurance like everyone else, you'll be the one jogging on. There's a good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Not sure of the details but do you have any car insurance- ie insurance on another car and have "open drive" or does your gf have insurance and your entitled to drive under it?

The distance you drive ( 3 minutes to shop) is irrelevant, they won't see or believe it that way, another way would be have a word with your uncle see can he have a chat with the guard, a guard can get a case struck off the list the morning of court, before the cases begin, if you've the relevant paperwork.

You should have called insurance straight away and gotten insured on car- they would only post out paperwork etc Monday even though you would be covered straight away (the Saturday) and could have argued you were covered but didn't have paperwork as they posted it Monday. I think you've the 10 days unofficially to produce paperwork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

I wish more Guards did this. Fair play to him. Far too may scumbags on Irish roads who think they have the right to be on the road rather than share it and responsibility that goes with it, with the rest of the public.

I thought it was implied here? Apologies if this is not the case.

I am fifty years of age so I have done many wrong things in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hi OP. No you can't get this thrown out on the merit of the Gardas dress or vehicle.

You can plead your case to the judge and brace yourself for a ban.

Sorry for your troubles.

hi lads got summons to court for no insurance by a guard who followed me in his gf car up to my friends house.got out told me produce insurance cert and that was it. can i get this case thrown out?he was wearing a football jersey and followed me because he saw d window had no disc as i only bought d car and the shop is 3 minutes away. thanks for reading

Nice one. Decided to bide his time until you were caught with your trousers down. The yarns won't work this time. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Nice one. Decided to bide his time until you were caught with your trousers down. The yarns won't work this time. ;)
    give it a rest for the love of god. The op knows they were in the wrong.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    give it a rest for the love of god. The op knows they were in the wrong.

Yet he's on here looking for a loophole. Maybe you could try giving it a rest ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There's no way in arguing with a technicality.

Options for a more lenient outcome would be to show that you made a mistake and then show when you did insure the car, obviously if it wasn't insured for a number of weeks or days after the event or if it was only insured when the summons arrived things won't look good at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Should be locked up.

..this thread that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Nixer Jim wrote: »
    This thread is just made for the whiter than white, he who has never sinned, boards high horse brigade. Get back to Coronation Street you lot, there's far more drama to be added to your pathetic lives from that.

Typical anti-high horse brigade hysteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

jeez can we have a ban on the H-H words please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Too many unhelpful posts. Instead of cleaning I'll just close this mess everyone made.

OP, get legal advice. Good luck.