Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Vets CC - No Results

• 24-02-2014 8:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

Sorry but is it not a bit of a joke that we can't get results on the day of a race. The race was chipped. How is this possible. The English CC was on at the weekend and there was over 1600 in the mens race. The results were streamed live as each finisher crossed the line and the team results were also instant. It took 5 weeks + to get the National Half Marathon results. Anyone any idea when we might get them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

For sure ...not sure what the issue was..today apparently they will be out/Perhaps it is the way entries are done or input or numbers are issued on the day . There was a finish line team recording manually as well so they should have caught any missing numbers/chips . Lot of issues with Masters Women and 65s mens results also, our crew had to make a few queries after them to sort out...

Bad day at the office for me having arrived late after a wrong turn en route...A rough old course and a bit of a haul from Race HQ made it not the most enjoyable of days.. but at least the weather held out. Some fine runs from the race winners, Connick and Magee look very good prospects and Womens masters was a great battle. Reed took the Masters Men with a great run , the field was well stacked and a huge field for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

Agreed. The location made for a stacked field in the Mens vets. The timing of the race (week before Seniors) must have been the reason for the small Mens Intermediate field. Looked like only 60-75 in it. It really was an energy sapping course. Real cross country.

Having two Nationals a week apart means it is going to be difficult for numbers to hold up and to do both is a real ask , was thinking about next week but the body is totally battered after that yesterday so unlikely.. Inters numbers seem always to be low last few years.
    That was a very hard course to train for, really took the stuffing out of you , in fairness the cream always rises to the top, the best athletes still made the top places no matter what the conditions were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

brutes1 wrote: »
    Some fine runs from the race winners, Connick and Magee

McGee (Michelle) (Brothers Pearse) :)

RayCun wrote: »
    McGee (Michelle) (Brothers Pearse) :)

She won the Ras Na hEireann the previous week. Looked very impressive in both races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

RayCun wrote: »
    McGee (Michelle) (BrothersSisters Pearse) :)

Fixed that there for you ;)

Speaking to a few guys this morning and they cant see how the results will be sorted by today. Apart from the amount of people who started and finished the race with no number and presumably no chip, there was a few disgruntled club members at the finishing line arguing over which team the athlete was on. I think the individual 0/50's who are entered on the O/35 teams must cause confusion.

Take everything back. Results are up. Well done AI.

Would have thought the finish line check plus the chip timing would have caught everyone one way or other who completed
    And the two results once cleaned up/cross checked would be checked back to entry/declarations and results issued, with anyone not entered/declared not included in results regardless .. A bit of a job in all this i guess .
    It is a confusing enough system on the day with club teams, county teams,individual entries, missing names from entries sheets, wrong numbers taken, multiple categories, late arrivals, a venue distant from check in , etc all rolling around in the mix that may have contributed to the slowness of results..

Are the intercounty results missing or is it just me??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Not sure the Masters results are 100% correct - definitely one guy missing from Top 20 or so which could mean a change in the team medals (unless there are others missing too).

Fantastic race yesterday - brilliant to see such a large and competitive field for a national cross-country event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

I see that some of the masters men have aged by 10 years overnight! ....and continental drift has shifted parts of west Clare into Cork....I blame it on global warming!

Condo131 wrote: »
    I see that some of the masters men have aged by 10 years overnight! ....and continental drift has shifted parts of west Clare into Cork....I blame it on global warming!

The ageing process was probably down to the time spent in the mud in Dunboyne, think it added years to many athletes lives and led to decay...:D
    I hear AAI are on an archaeological dig in Cows Park to try and piece together the remaining results from the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Great set up yesterday and would have been better had the three tents the home club set up the night before not blown up in the air and down the road with poles intact. I can only speak for myself but the course, whilst a decent interesting layout, was probably as sticky, heavy, gloopy, treacley, gluey, bloody soft and flamin tough as I ever run on ( probably ALSAA on a bad day is the closest to it). So fair play Dunboyne , well done. It was a long walk back to the Community Centre for a dribble of a cold shower( so that was a bit disappointing) and the fact that you had to buy a cup of tea and some food. But it didn't spoil my enjoyment ( that might be a tad overstated) of the day. A day in which I witnessed my own club member Michelle McGee , demolish the ladies intermediate field in the space of the first 300 yards. Watch this space , she is going to be around and dominating for the foreseeable future.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

PVincent wrote: »
    Great set up yesterday and would have been better had the three tents the home club set up the night before not blown up in the air and down the road with poles intact. I can only speak for myself but the course, whilst a decent interesting layout, was probably as sticky, heavy, gloopy, treacley, gluey, bloody soft and flamin tough as I ever run on ( probably ALSAA on a bad day is the closest to it). So fair play Dunboyne , well done. It was a long walk back to the Community Centre for a dribble of a cold shower( so that was a bit disappointing) and the fact that you had to buy a cup of tea and some food. But it didn't spoil my enjoyment ( that might be a tad overstated) of the day. A day in which I witnessed my own club member Michelle McGee , demolish the ladies intermediate field in the space of the first 300 yards. Watch this space , she is going to be around and dominating for the foreseeable future.

How old is she? International standard methinks. I stopped at halfway to try and catch her and encourage her to join a real club but jcsmum distracted me :P

She has already run for Ireland in the Antrim international where she was only a couple of seconds behind Sara Treacy and just over a minute behind Finnoula. She has just turned 30. But only running two years and in reality almost half of year one was spent injured. She returned to real racing at great irl run last April , and prior to that it was the dublin novices in October 2012 where she was 3rd in her first ever CC race. So yes, she is a real talent and it shows the talent that is out there if clubs go looking for it. I was just lucky enough that I shouted our club name at her one night as she flew by me and thankfully she contacted me the next day. She had been keeping fit at Boot camps and some cycling .

There is another similarity in the men's masters. John Dunne of Donore who was 3rd yesterday and won Dublin Masters ( and has now beaten a truck load of very very experienced runners) , is also only running two years having played soccer for years and only took up running to get fit again and lose a few pounds. More talent playing football and GAA ... If the AAI had a bit of cleverness they could use these two athletes to demonstrate and publicise the thrill and the heights that people can go to , if they just tried a different sport like athletics

And another example is Nicola Duncan of GCH who played tennis as a youngster, only took up running late twenties and is now running Europeans in marathon 5 years on. Drive, hard work, intense focus and some talent is what she and the others mentioned all have , as well as racing regularly at top level.
    We out West have several phenomenally fast lads who would run track sessions/reps with the club out the front, but whose main focus is other sports like triathlon and soccer, despite being clearly cut out for national athletics level if they wanted it..