Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crashed car help??

• 23-02-2014 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

I bought a car recently I didn't have any tax or insurance on it. Me and my boyfriend were fighting one night and he grabbed my keys drove the car away and crashed it. He got a recovery truck to take it back to our apartment. He got the money sorted to fix it but now we noticed this morning that it is gone. It's not drivable and the gards took it. I don't know how to approach the gards all I want to do is get it fixed as it was a birthday present from my mum. Do they have the right to take it? I don't know what to do. Help?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Moving to the Motors Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Not having (any one of the following) valid tax, insurance or NCT in a public place (I assume it was parked on the road outside the house / apartment) then yes, the Gardai have every right to remove it and impound it. You will need to go talk to them, pay a release fee and have the car taxed / insured before you drive it away. Alternatively, if you don't want to tax / insure it, you can have it collected (At your expense) from the Gardai and put someone not in a public place (Private garage, drive way etc)

Not really sure where it leaves you as the registered owner of the car in relation to points / fine. You could be liable for them as well. Not a great situation to be in, but given the impound fee is 'by the day' I'd get down to the Gardai ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If it was parked in an apartment complex it most likely was the management company that took it away. Give the management agent a call or if you're renting you need to contact your landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Waiting for whole thread to de-generate into the op being the spawn of the devil and a debate about public place and public roads.

Also "something might happen to a child" might appear at some point.

original?v=mpbl-1&px=-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Waiting for whole thread to de-generate into the op being the spawn of the devil and a debate about public place and public roads.

Also "something might happen to a child" might appear at some point.

original?v=mpbl-1&px=-1

That's some bag of popcorn. Reminds me of once I was early for a movie and the workers were cleaning up after the other movie, one worker came out of room with a big bag of popcorn like that one it was a clear bag as well. Some waste people leave in the cinema mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

ironclaw wrote: »
    Not having (any one of the following) valid tax, insurance or NCT in a public place (I assume it was parked on the road outside the house / apartment) then yes, the Gardai have every right to remove it and impound it.

It is indeed illegal to have vehicle parked in public place without insurance or tax, but not NCT.
    You are 100% legal to park your car in public place without NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Ollie1994

Ok thanks everyone. I live in an apartment complex which has a pub joined next to it. The back of the apartments and pub is saved for people who live there and customers of the pub. Turns out the owner of the pub got my car taken away because it was broken and had no tax or insurance displayed. Are they allowed to do that? I contacted my landlord and he said that he can't get through to the owner of the pub and as soon as he will he will let me know. Had he the right to take it away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭GE90

Are you the registered owner of the car? Surly the guards would contact the registered owner before taking it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Ollie1994 wrote: »
    Ok thanks everyone. I live in an apartment complex which has a pub joined next to it. The back of the apartments and pub is saved for people who live there and customers of the pub. Turns out the owner of the pub got my car taken away because it was broken and had no tax or insurance displayed. Are they allowed to do that? I contacted my landlord and he said that he can't get through to the owner of the pub and as soon as he will he will let me know. Had he the right to take it away?

It depends on how he had it taken away. He cant just tow it away himself, but he can call a relevant authority and they can tow it if they see fit (ie if the license plates are missing then I believe the litter warden will take action).