Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would I be crazy to leave a permanent job that pays 57k with full vhi benefits

• 22-02-2014 4:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭

I've been considering quitting my permanent job because I'm not happy where I'm living as I've very few friends that haven't settled down so I have next to no social life so considering packing it in and moving to cork or Dublin, the problem is I earn 57k because I do shift plus I get full VHI paid for on top. The one thing in my favour is that I don't have dependants or a mortage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

The grass is always greener and all that.

Have you the option to take a career break? Maybe a few month away doing another job might give you perspective ?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Where are you living? What dont you like? Have you tried to get out and meet people, hobbies and activities, even www.meetup.com?

Could you get a similar paid job in Cork or Dublin and would you have more friends there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I'd def get a raise on my basic wage if I moved to cork or Dublin but I may not get shift work so would be down in money , can you live comfortable in Dublin on 40-45k , I live in Waterford and meet up is crap here , looks awesome in Dublin so with a little bit of effort I think I could make new friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Rachineire

Well last year I barely made 12,000 and my husband didn't break 20,000 while he was working full time. And we have a young child, so from my perspective - yes you would be crazy to give up that kind of money.

How long have you been in waterford? If it has been less than 3 years I would say give it more time. It csn be harder to make a new social circle when older. Also its all about your frame of mind. Maybe go on holiday for a couple of weeks and you might soothe your itchy feet for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,359 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

... I'm not happy where I'm living as I've very few friends that haven't settled down so I have next to no social life ... I don't have dependants or a mortage

No, you would not be crazy.

It would be better if you got a job elsewhere before quitting. Or maybe you should quit, take time out to travel, and look for a job elsewhere when you come back.

Think about it - do you want to be 65 and looking back asking yourself why you spent your whole life being miserable. Or like a former colleague of mine, dead from a brain tumour at 55, having spent a working life in the same place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Agree completely with Mrs OBumble.

I don't know what the purpose of life is but I'm pretty sure it's not unhappiness.

It's probably safest to line up another job before you leave. But if you have savings you can take a risk and just quit.

If I were you I'd just quit. I'm an IT guy though so I don't worry about work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Money is by no means the reason to stay in a job. I earned over 100k in one company but I ran out the door. It was making me sick and it wasn't work load or work stress. It was a horrible atmosphere.

Your money will be worth lots less in Dublin so it isn't just a pay cut to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Just get a Job in Dublin that pays €57K +N and has VHI in the benefits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I left a pretty well paid job to go back to college, don't regret it at all. Was on the way to becoming miserable, the fact I have less money now than I did doesn't bother me really.

In fact OP I was in nearly the exact same situation as you. Found myself nearly every night doing absolutely nothing on my own. It's no way to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Well no point in just packing it in.
    Your not being forced to move so find yourself a suitable job and then move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Depends whether you prefer to have more money or more happiness in your life only you can really answer that its going to be different for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Life is too short. If you are unhappy where you are in life or work, change it.

I am in a similar situation. Working full time in a job I hate, the stress and pressure are high, the company is terrible, I am bullied on occasion and I am absolutely not suited for it. I dread going in each morning. I am studying part time in IT (which I love) and I've decided to pack in the job and go full time in college. It was not an easy decision to make - the job is secure, permanent and pays well, but I know the thoughts of staying a few more years where I am make me want to jump in the Liffey.

One thing I would try to ensure is a good amount of savings behind you if you decide to quit. In your position, try find a new job in Dublin first before quitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Xidu

no kids, 45k for single person in Cork, very comfortable life you can have.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

From an IT point of view, a similar discussion on Slashdot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Jaysus all this talk of living comfortably on 45k a year...I earn 22.5k basic, with bonuses and incentives it could raise to between 24.5-26k and I live fairly comfortably able to save money each month...

But have to agree, if your unhappy you need to go about changing that, if your location is an issue then move...But have you tried heading down to the RSC on a friday night, start following the football team LOI people are solid for the most part and could be an easy to make friends...If you like football that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Weird I'm in Waterford too, moved here last year, on just under half that money, and I want out!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

I've been considering quitting my permanent job because I'm not happy where I'm living as I've very few friends that haven't settled down so I have next to no social life so considering packing it in and moving to cork or Dublin, the problem is I earn 57k because I do shift plus I get full VHI paid for on top. The one thing in my favour is that I don't have dependants or a mortage

As many before me have said, yes it can be done, my other half and I are earning just above the same as you with our wages combined. You live life according to what you earn and you will always adjust. We still have a nice life on our wages so you will be fine if you decide to move. But make a plan and stick to it, as others have said, you have no dependants so you're in the perfect position to save like mad for 6 months to a year if you want to, and then leave with your savings and a plan what to do next. Be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,359 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Jaysus all this talk of living comfortably on 45k a year...I earn 22.5k basic, with bonuses and incentives it could raise to between 24.5-26k and I live fairly comfortably able to save money each month...

It's all about what you call comfortable.

Just remember, thanks to the tax system, if you're on 22k then a person on 45K takes home approx 50% more than you do, not 100% more. So it's not as bit a difference as you might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I left a well paid job after 7 years service because it was making me miserable. Add a 2.5 hour daily commute and missing my young son and that was compounding things. I am on less money but my commute is 30 mins, the working atmosphere is good, although very tough and my prospects are much better. I am living month to month but that was the trade off.

Money is only one facet of living. I could earn a 6 figure salary if I worked in Dublin but it would mean a much longer commute and missing out on my family. Yes it would mean that my financial difficulties would be gone but its not worth it IMO. I don't want to be the guy who had a **** load of money but died aged 50.

If you don't have friends down there then go out and try and make new ones. I moved to an area where I knew nobody and I have more mates in a year than my missus who was born and bred here! Best thing to do is join a club or do some team sports, it is the easiest way to meet new people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Where are you from originally?

Cork is an hour and a half away only, I know people who commute Cork to Waterford daily to work 8 to 4. Dublin is 2 to 2 and a half depending on traffic.

Depending on your shift pattern you could commute the few says then have a social life in Cork, Dublin or your hometown.

Don't be afraid of trying something for 6 months, you can reasses how you feel then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

But have to agree, if your unhappy you need to go about changing that, if your location is an issue then move...But have you tried heading down to the RSC on a friday night, start following the football team LOI people are solid for the most part and could be an easy to make friends...If you like football that is

Where the hell do you live??!! You would certainly need more than that living in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Where the hell do you live??!! You would certainly need more than that living in Dublin.

Their User name might be a give away as the where the money is not being spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

I'd def get a raise on my basic wage if I moved to cork or Dublin but I may not get shift work so would be down in money , can you live comfortable in Dublin on 40-45k , I live in Waterford and meet up is crap here , looks awesome in Dublin so with a little bit of effort I think I could make new friends

I livedi Waterford 30 yrs ago similar type job pay - found it very difficult to mix there- moved nearer dublin no regrets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Limerick and to be honest I've managed to save 50% of my take home last month

Sorry in the delay in replying, I wouldn't dream of leaving my job without having another one lined up first. The problem I'm facing is that I would find it very hard to get my same gross salary even in dublin so I would be taking a paycut and also moving to a place with a much bigger cost of living, I suppose I just need to weight it at all up. I wouldn't move to dublin for less than 40k though, is this a reasonable wage to live on up there for a single person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Limerick and to be honest I've managed to save 50% of my take home last month

Any chance you're living at home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

the problem is I earn 57k because I do shift
    You get paid extra for not having a social life, me thinks. it sucks, but that's the way it goes. See if you can get an equal job in Dublin for the same amount of cash?

Also, if working in Dublin, keep in mind that living slightly out of Dublin would be cheaper, but still allows you access to lots of things to do. BTW; you got a car/motorbike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

OP, what exactly are you looking to change?

You've mentioned no friends or social life, do you seriously think that's going to change if you move to Dublin or Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

That's a fairly well paid job, but if you want to move to Dublin, 45k would be more than enough to live on for one person. I'm looking to move out on my own once I get a job, I live in Dublin, and I calculated that 400 a week, around 21k would be enough to live on my own in Dublin, though, with very little money left over, and in a small 1 person apartment. So, if you think you could find a job offering over twice that, go ahead, in this day and age, 45k is a great wage for a single person, as long as you're not the kind of person who has a crazy expensive lifestyle, you'd be grand.

OP, what exactly are you looking to change?

You've mentioned no friends or social life, do you seriously think that's going to change if you move to Dublin or Cork?

Yes I think theirs a much bigger capacity to make new friends in a city like Dublin compared to Waterford , just compare meet up.com for the 2 cities to see what I mean . Do you not agree ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

the problem is I earn 57k because I do shift
    What percentage is the shift. Trying to work what your base pay is, as if you do shift work in Dublin, you'll still have a sh|t social life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭tommythecat

[QUOTE=shadowcomplex;89347936 I wouldn't move to dublin for less than 40k though, is this a reasonable wage to live on up there for a single person?[/QUOTE]

I moved to Dublin for Forty thousand in 2007 and it was fine. Just get somewhere with reasonable rent that you can cycle to work from and you'll be fine and should be able to go out for nights out and still save some money. Don't stay and be unhappy. That was exactly why i moved and i actually only got the job offer the day i moved!!! I was going regardless as i had just had enough!!

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

What are people spending their wages on? I lived on 28k a year no problem!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

@ last poster, rent or mortgage, bills, food etc, and a good lifestyle.

@OP do what is best for you, I am close to the end of my tolerance which expects me to do my job day to day, and spend an extra 2-3 hours a day everyday on top of it, and I earn a decent wage but have little free time

My gross without shift is 34k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Polymorpheus

No, you would not be crazy... Think about it - do you want to be 65 and looking back asking yourself why you spent your whole life being miserable. Or like a former colleague of mine, dead from a brain tumour at 55, having spent a working life in the same place.
    I don't know what the purpose of life is but I'm pretty sure it's not unhappiness.

You mentioned you're not happy and have next to no social life OP. Taking action to rectify a situation like this is very far from crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

You mentioned you're not happy and have next to no social life OP. Taking action to rectify a situation like this is very far from crazy.

Agreed - but not by giving up a permanent position , on 58k, with VHI which us rising at 10% per annum - for nothing. & The person who said you can get a single appartment in adublin for e400 pm clearly is living on a cloud.

The same variables that prevent you from making friends in W will be there when you move to dublin - unless you try a fee new things you'll possibly find yourself in the same boat only with less money, a non stable job & a expensive appartment & a possibly long commute.

Have you tried meetup. Com. Or joining a sport - tag rugby is a great one, or volunteering somewhere - you'd bd surprised at the Craic you can have.

Council tax, rent rises due to property tax, new water tax, etc are all coming down the line & they will be passed on by landlords. No doubt you have a nice lifestyle - yih won't be going anywhere on half that & certainly not in Dublin. Not to mention the years of long hours & stress & overtime to prove yourself it will take you to get close to back up to that level from a 28k level ...

Definately try & improve your situation but certainly don't move until you have a comparable salary & conditions & commute. :(

Meetup .com is great!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

From reading the thread, it doesn't seem to be the work itself which is the problem - it's everything outside of work. I know people have said that moving to Dublin might not solve it, that it doesn't gaurantee a social life. OP - you don't say what your interests are? If you are interested in things like sport there should be some local sports teams. If you have other passions eg photgraphy check you local papers, library for events. However, if it is your work pattern curbing your social life, maybe cut back on the shifts and see if that helps.

My bro-in-law moved from a medium sized rural town where transport links around the country from it were poor (he didn't have a full licence at the time) and there wasn't much in the line of his interests and he hated spending weekends there. He moved to Dublin, can now travel around the country and Europe a lot and has a busy social life as some of his friends live in Dublin. Not sure what if any trade up or down in terms of salary but I know he's a lot happier where he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

Agreed - but not by giving up a permanent position , on 58k, with VHI which us rising at 10% per annum - for nothing. & The person who said you can get a single appartment in adublin for e400 pm clearly is living on a cloud.

The same variables that prevent you from making friends in W will be there when you move to dublin - unless you try a fee new things you'll possibly find yourself in the same boat only with less money, a non stable job & a expensive appartment & a possibly long commute.

Have you tried meetup. Com. Or joining a sport - tag rugby is a great one, or volunteering somewhere - you'd bd surprised at the Craic you can have.

Council tax, rent rises due to property tax, new water tax, etc are all coming down the line & they will be passed on by landlords. No doubt you have a nice lifestyle - yih won't be going anywhere on half that & certainly not in Dublin. Not to mention the years of long hours & stress & overtime to prove yourself it will take you to get close to back up to that level from a 28k level ...

Definately try & improve your situation but certainly don't move until you have a comparable salary & conditions & commute. :(

Meetup .com is great!!!

LOL. They must be pretty high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

considering packing it in and moving to cork or Dublin, The one thing in my favour is that I don't have dependants or a mortage
    Life is short, you have no dependants, so go.

However, Dublin can be a very impersonal and lonely place if you've no contacts here and Cork can be cliquey. Bear in mind what someone else said about the greener grass.