Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diplomatic Plates - Exempt from the law

• 21-02-2014 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭

I used to live in the Hague in an area where there was a bunch of embassies.

It used to happen on a frequent basis that the Diplomats would just park wherever they liked blocking the road causing traffic jams and so on.

I once saw an altercation between an English guy and what I assume was diplomat punching him in the face.

My understanding is that they are basically exempt from any penalties issues and can carry on as they like.

This was highlighted recently in a video where some lunatic started going around and clamping illegally parked cars with Consular plates.

http://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/6564364/cfdf3bfc/agressieve_diplomaat_slaat_powned_in_elkaar.html

and

http://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/6572987/419f52c5/diplomaat_hoekt_danny_ghosen_op_de_bek.html

Is this also the case in Ireland with cars on CD plates ? How do the Gardai handle such a situation.

Also if you have a road traffic accident where its there fault how is it dealt with ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Patrickheg

Same all over the world

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23266149

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Have you never seen Lethal Weapon 2? Diplomatic Immunity allows you to sell drugs and kill the police if they get uppity about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

The Dept of Foreign Affairs handles it. They're pretty much exempt from the law, though their invitation to Ireland can be withdrawn, which doesn't look well as you can imagine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Holy Sheet, those Angolan lads don't mess around.

I could understand the frustration of the journalist in a city like Den Haag where space is at a premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

They can pretty much get away with most traffic offences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Mycroft H wrote: »
    They can pretty much get away with most traffic offences.

and assault, it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I wonder what the NCPS and the others would do with them:D
    Also the US Embassy claiming their immunity over the congestion charge is a slap on the face of law abiding citizens. It is a slap on the face of everyone really.
    The Diplomats - Great Bunch Of Lads:mad:

Never been to Angola, thanks for the warning OP. If this is how they act abroad, I can only imagine how nice they are when you are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

How do the Gardai handle such a situation.

Also if you have a road traffic accident where its there fault how is it dealt with ?

Gardai? If I see one next year I will ask him.

All accidents are being dealt with by Insurance companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

http://www.herald.ie/news/diplomats-spark-a-row-by-flouting-traffic-laws-28004994.html
    Another incident which disturbed him was recounted on the Liveline radio show in which a woman remonstrated with a man who parked in a handicapped parking space without the required disabled badge. The driver informed her he had immunity from the law because he worked at the Nigerian embassy.

its turrible Joe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

BMJD wrote: »

From the same article:
    A Dublin TD has called for the immunity afforded to diplomats to be urgently reviewed.

That should read:
    A Dublin TD has tried desperately to try and get his name in the newspapers to garner some publicity by asking for something he bloody well knows will achieve nothing but make himself look good. This man is either deluded or has an IQ of about 60 if he thinks this will ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭p2p2p

Holy Sheet, those Angolan lads don't mess around.

I could understand the frustration of the journalist in a city like Den Haag where space is at a premium.

<You can probably get you point across in a more civil manner.>