Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you wear gloves when milking?

• 20-02-2014 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭

Just wondering do the majority of posters use gloves. Long battle here with scc and now sub 100k but never use gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Always. Can't stand miking without them.
    Keep your hands slot cleaner for when ye go into the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Always. Can't stand miking without them.
    Keep your hands slot cleaner for when ye go into the house

Do you think it helps with scc?

sheebadog wrote: »
    Do you think it helps with scc?

Don't know tbh we have staph aurus here so we would be transferring it if we didn't wear gloves and make sure they were clean the whole time.
    We did two years of individual paracitic wiped for every cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Whatever about SCC, for the sake of myown hands I'd never go back into the parlour again without a pair of gloves on :P I use to utterly dread going milking on cold winters days as my hands would be utterly numb by the end of the milking, then calving season with afew kickers of heifers etc, my hands use to be skinned alive, and fairly hard to get a cut on your hand healed up when you are soaking your hands twice a day every day. Most this winter I've worn a pare of cheap black rubber/fabic gloves, then a set of xl milking gloves over them, makes one hell off a difference. I can definitely see the hygiene element also, very easy to give the gloves a very quick wipe if you do have dirt/milk of any sort on them.

Don't know tbh we have staph aurus here so we would be transferring it if we didn't wear gloves and make sure they were clean the whole time.
    We did two years of individual paracitic wiped for every cow.

That paracitic acid made sh^t of my hands last winter also, all full of cracks etc, use to be always stinging me. I duno how I keep up the cluster dipping for so long 2bh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Always wear gloves ,don't go near teats before milking unless there dirty.i only draw cows if I find lumps in sock or high scc from Creamry.scc last year 178 and tbc 7.had chronic scc 2 years ago,staph Auerus and oberus.culled all culprits and cluster dipped and pre and post dipped.it worked but slowed milking a lot.due to quota issues and loads of heifers I had the chance to cull anything that didn't respond to treatment.was bordering on rejection in November .never again

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Always wear gloves ,don't go near teats before milking unless there dirty.i only draw cows if I find lumps in sock or high scc from Creamry.scc last year 178 and tbc 7.had chronic scc 2 years ago,staph Auerus and oberus.culled all culprits and cluster dipped and pre and post dipped.it worked but slowed milking a lot.due to quota issues and loads of heifers I had the chance to cull anything that didn't respond to treatment.was bordering on rejection in November .never again

Yep we were same here.
    Vet today said that there is injections out there to cure it but he wouldn't tell us anything about them as they are only used on very serious cases and has to be very justifiable.

Yep we were same here.
    Vet today said that there is injections out there to cure it but he wouldn't tell us anything about them as they are only used on very serious cases and has to be very justifiable.

It's called tylovet greengrass and works quite well in young cows.a bottle over 5 days in conjunction with tubes and hold for 5 days

Yes but there is another one that can only be used at drying off as its so strong

Mycotil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Two ai gloves followed by two nitrile gloves (one on each hand) then gown with tapered cuffs. The most comfortable way to milk cows that iv found. No need to roll up sleeves and no water goes down my sleeve.

sheebadog wrote: »
    Mycotil?

Haven't a clue he said it wasnt really used slot only in very extreme cases.
    It costs that much you really have to decide whether its worth it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Always wear gloves. I have no evidence but I am convinced it helps with mastitis prevention. Very easy to give the gloves a spray with teat dip every now and again while milking, prevents carrying infection from one cow to another. The cracks and crevices in the bare hands can harbour a lot of bugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Don't wear gloves here. Hate the feeling of them on my hands. Would love to be able to wear them. SCC usually under 200 and hasn't been over 220 for years and the TBC is usually 9-10.
    Must try to start wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Haven't a clue he said it wasnt really used slot only in very extreme cases.
    It costs that much you really have to decide whether its worth it or not

I reckon its Zactran/draxxin have heard of lads using them on ciws but its dear stuff 40 euro a shot for a 600kg cow or that...

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Don't wear gloves here. Hate the feeling of them on my hands. Would love to be able to wear them. SCC usually under 200 and hasn't been over 220 for years and the TBC is usually 9-10.

They can get very annoying in summer when your hands start sweating

jaymla627 wrote: »
    I reckon its Zactran/draxxin have heard of lads using them on ciws but its dear stuff 40 euro a shot for a 600kg cow or that...

Must be. If I had of known about it when we culled cows here with staph I would have used it

Get fitter and stop sweating :P. But nay Max, I know the feeling, they definitely don't feel normal or comfortable at 1st, but after a week of wearing them you'll be fine. I have been caught out the odd time when I run out of gloves, and it feels totally unnatural now without them on.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Get fitter and stop sweating :P. But nay Max, I know the feeling, they definitely don't feel normal or comfortable at 1st, but after a week of wearing them you'll be fine. I have been caught out the odd time when I run out of gloves, and it feels totally unnatural now without them on.

Says the man who needs two pairs of gloves to keep the hands warm :P

maxxuumman wrote: »

I'll put it to you this way,if u were a young lad out playing the field every weekend and getting lucky ,u might like to chance it if loaded on drink but just rember the glove is better than the consequences!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

ebony gloves here, would get 2 milkings from them without tearing mid milking like latex or even blue nitrile.

don't draw anything here since new parlour in also. would you take any heed of the conductivity in parlour? have picked up a few here with it and cmt, before clots.
    Yep we were same here.

mamyzin?? comes in powder form with a solution to mix before injecting (totals 40cc) 4ffedbe8540107.90798552.jpg

same as tylosin or tylan?? gving tylosin 33cc over 3 days here to some and seeing better results than when we were using 25cc over 4 days.
    I'll put it to you this way,if u were a young lad out playing the field every weekend and getting lucky ,u might like to chance it if loaded on drink but just rember the glove is better than the consequences!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

John_F wrote: »
    ebony gloves here, would get 2 milkings from them without tearing mid milking like latex or even blue nitrile.

don't draw anything here since new parlour in also. would you take any heed of the conductivity in parlour? have picked up a few here with it and cmt, before clots.

mamyzin?? comes in powder form with a solution to mix before injecting (totals 40cc) 4ffedbe8540107.90798552.jpg

same as tylosin or tylan?? gving tylosin 33cc over 3 days here to some and seeing better results than when we were using 25cc over 4 days.

Used Mamyzin on 2 multi millionaires at drying off in 2012, one was grand this year the other as bad as ever, both got cepravin dry cow.

meant to be hit and miss alright. only used on 2 cows so far here, one did cure.... not so sure about the other one yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Mamyzin used on all heifers with mastitis here in spring never herd of it being used at dry off before. Have herd of people giving a full bottle of tylan under the skin on dry off day to young hi scc cows .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Back on topic. I wear gloves and go mad if people don't on the farm. Definitely had a major issue with mastitis when I came back farming. Gloves combined with pre and post spray made a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I have a bag of cubical cubicle lime that I dip my hands in before I put on the gloves. Takes the dampness from your hands and and allowed the gloves to slip on easily and helps keeps them dry during milking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

went out this morning with the intention of starting wearing gloves and only remembered when i came back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

I use black milkers gloves and I would never be without them again. As a matter of fact I wear them anytime Im in the yard as it keeps the dirt off your hands. Lads should also factor in their own health when they are in a yard as their isnt a farm in Ireland that dosent have vermin problems and at least with gloves on your not dipping your skin in God knows what

I have a bag of cubical cubicle lime that I dip my hands in before I put on the gloves. Takes the dampness from your hands and and allowed the gloves to slip on easily and helps keeps them dry during milking.

Like talcum powder on babies

royalmeath wrote: »
    I use black milkers gloves and I would never be without them again. As a matter of fact I wear them anytime Im in the yard as it keeps the dirt off your hands. Lads should also factor in their own health when they are in a yard as their isnt a farm in Ireland that dosent have vermin problems and at least with gloves on your not dipping your skin in God knows what

Do you use same pair in the parlour?
    We use disposable in parlour and have a black pair out in the tractor for when we are at silage bales in winter

What gloves do yas use and how much? Ive been using the blue gloves from Glanbia, they have them on sale for 10e/box at the min, have just stocked up.

John_F wrote: »

Yep john ,keep an eye on meters during milking and computer after milking.if I see a spike I cmt that cow at next milking and treat a quarter if it curdles even if no clots.had to do this once so far this spring and worked well,last scc 84.
    Yes same as Tylosin or Tylan.

Thanks for all the very valuable input folks.
    I bought 2 large boxes of gloves today. It seems to be a nobrainer.

What do lads do to stop the **** stains around the wrists at the top of the gloves.
    Ye could spend half an hour of a Saturday night trying yo get rid of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

What do lads do to stop the **** stains around the wrists at the top of the gloves.

Go out on a Tuesday and Thursday night as well, less build up for the Saturday night wash!!

Someone else posted that they wear an ai glove under the latex glove,tried it today and worked well,either that greengrass or take a wash on a Wednesday as well as a Saturday!!!!!

I only get washed on special occasions.
    Mostly once a year in the river :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

I would wear gloves if I could actually find a glove that fit. Big hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Gillespy wrote: »
    I would wear gloves if I could actually find a glove that fit. Big hands.

I wear them religiously here, I'd miss the gloves more than the milking apron if I had to milk without both

http://www.promardairydirect.com/Milking-Sleeves-with-Latex-Cuffs__p-106.aspx

use something like this from the coop with years, use the ones with rubber / latex cuffs, the elasticated cuffs don't do the job at all. you can get them in the parlour gown aswell i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Do ye wear them just for milking and take them off at washing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

The latex milking gloves are tight enough if you get the right size for you,that you have feeling,so I leave them on for washing and keep them on until I go back to the house..so I have them on for all yard work,tractor etc.You'd have no hands otherwise.Mine are as soft as daisies now.
    They are a miracle.
    I also use those full cover gowns that have latex down to the wrist meeting the gloves,the ones mentioned above.