Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Wyse is the 2014 ambassador of the Cheltenham Festival.

• 19-02-2014 09:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭

IRISH Sky Sports presenter and Irish Independent columnist Rachel Wyse has said she is "honoured" to be chosen as the ambassador of this year's Cheltenham Festival.

Dublin-born Wyse, who was bred in Blackrock, is set to follow the likes of Zara Phillips, grandchild of Queen Elizabeth II, Irish champion jockey Tony McCoy and rugby internationals Mike Tindall (Husband of Zara Phillips and 63rd in line to the throne), Billy Twelvetrees(Friend of Mike Tindall) as the 'face' of the four-day festival.

As part of her ambassadorial duties, Wyse will be present in her Sunday best at each day of the festival, feature prominently in the equine urine testing campaign, model the new 'Fox Hunting Tweed' fashion line and judge the much loved tv segment 'Ladies' Day'.

"Cheltenham is such an amazing place, hosting some of the best racing in the world, and so it was an honour to be asked to be an ambassador for the season after a hazy night of drinks with Zara and Mike," said Ms Wyse.
    "There isn't another person in Ireland that has had this role bar AP even though thats NIR so nobody can ever take this away from me. So many Irish have an affiliation with the Cotswold Course but more so the punting on and off the course and our extraordinary record we have in the equestrian and racing field as a nation still remains ahead of post racing poker and 3-card Monte."
    Wyse has previously taken part in the St Patrick's Derby at the racecourse during the 2010 festival, which raised more than €300,000 for Cancer Research Directors.
    link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Who gives a toss..

Stick to the racing please

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

She was bred in Blackrock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

califano wrote: »
    As part of her ambassadorial duties, Wyse will be present in her Sunday best at each day of the festival, feature prominently in the equine urine testing campaign, model the new 'Fox Hunting Tweed' fashion line and judge the much loved tv segment 'Ladies' Day'.
    link

One of the more glamorous aspects of the job....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

califano wrote: »
    ... stuff ...
    link

i like the avatar califano :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Probably the least important Cheltenham news I've ever read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Ffs lads, can ye not post in a thread in which a female is mentioned without having it descend into sexual comments/innuendo... Is it any wonder that so few females post in this forum?! Seriously, cop on. Final warning.

convert wrote: »
    Ffs lads, can ye not post in a thread in which a female is mentioned without having it descend into sexual comments/innuendo... Is it any wonder that so few females post in this forum?! Seriously, cop on. Final warning.

Well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Puerile comments aside, she has a weekly column in the Independent, and regularly writes about racing.

Her enthuasism is genuine. Or its faked really, really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

she was very good in enemy at the gates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    she was very good in enemy at the gates

She was good in The Constant Gardener as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Well said

In your end o Nuckey!

hucklebuck wrote: »
    In your end o Nuckey!
    Can you explain that post or am I missing something?

Just a smart comment really, Convert was giving a warning about innuendos and you agreed.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Just a smart comment really, Convert was giving a warning about innuendos and you agreed.

Im as much as a pig as some of the fellow boardies here but he has a point as my sister and GF has past comment b efore on how sexist this area is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Where's Johner when you need him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭nobody told me

Im as much as a pig as some of the fellow boardies here but he has a point as my sister and GF has past comment b efore on how sexist this area is

Is your gf your sister tho is the question.

ok, that was good

Fairly sexist assuming only men can moderate horse racing forums if you ask me.

Do your sister and girlfriend ever post? Cause frankly I couldn't give less of a toss what people who contribute nothing think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Despite mod warnings this thread is still descending into chaos and is being closed as a result.

/Thread closed.