Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did acne come from?

• 19-02-2014 1:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

Why do people get acne? It's usually teenagers that suffer with acne but it can affect (or is it effect?) adults as well. I was recently getting a sambo in the city center and the girl serving me had quite bad acne. There were a group of lads around the same age as me slagging her about it in earshot. Assholes obviously.
    I've worked with older people too with acne who really seem to have no confidence because of it. They often use their hands to cover their face and neck.

As far as I know it hasn't always existed. There doesn't seem to be any conclusive link to diet as far as I'm aware, but their are many tribes throughout the world who just don't experience acne at all. It would have imagined that was due to their diet. They say it can be brought on through stress and it's linked to hormonal activity.

It's a weird phenomenon and strange that there doesn't seem to be any perfect cure. Some of the medications prescribed for acne such as Roaccutane side effects. A girl I know experienced alopecia while taking the drug.
    So many famous actors such as Brad Pitt and Cameron Diaz have suffered with it so it seems as no matter how much money you have for some people their is just no proper cure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Dermatologist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They made all sorts of stuff in Bugs Bunny and Roadrunner cartoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

mmmm interesting.

I think it can be genetic, my dad had it and I have cousins who had it as bad as me, none of my siblings had it though.

I was destroyed with it since I was about 11. I'm still on and off medication for it, but I have people telling me I have beautiful skin so I think alot of it may just be in my head and a complete lack of confidence. I still have a habit of pulling my top/ hoodie/ shirt collar etc up round my jawline (where it was particularly bad and I feel the scars are bad), over my mouth when I'm sitting relaxing with people. My OH has no idea why I do it (well what I mean is I've never told him the actual reason I'm sure he's pieced it together), and always pulls it away.....I don't even notice I'm doing it now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭iForgetMyPW

Nah tribes do get acne cuz I saw a black fella with acne on the luas the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Pizza face is an amusing nickname for an acne sufferer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

'I'd box ya only for I don't want puss all over my hands'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Nah tribes do get acne cuz I saw a black fella with acne on the luas the other day

Uhh.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

When you fondle your wee winky and then touch your face. God's punishment for tossing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

What a spectacularly shite attempt at linking.

Sorry Bipolar Joe

User banned.

Mod.

Sorry Bipolar Joe

You're not sorry. You couldn't give a f*ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Hackney? You know ...... at the end of the 73 bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

They made all sorts of stuff in Bugs Bunny and Roadrunner cartoons.

I hear you kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I believe your mother was discovered to be the original carrier of the acne bacteria.

kneemos wrote: »
    I believe your mother was discovered to be the original carrier of the acne bacteria.

You have no real idea whom carried that acne bacteria originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

The ancient Egyptians suffered from acne and used sulfur as a treatment so its not really a new or western problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My sister and I come from the same tribe and would have a similar diet, she'd get acne, I don't.

Also a girl I work with was getting stressed out all week, by the end of the week she was covered in acne.

So what I'm trying to say is I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Its from your skin holes getting blocked by skin jizz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

In our family it's milk product based - eat ice-cream etc, or chocolate, or anything else that tastes vaguely nice, get covered in zits. I honestly think the lad up stairs did it for a giggle. What fecking grown-up gets spots ffs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Yeah, if you're 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

There are about a million bacteria on every square inch of your skin. Some grow better without oxygen. There's little to no oxygen in your pores, so if they get in there, they'll grow. One of those bacteria is called Propionibacterium acne. I imagine you can guess why.

Other factors influencing acne are diet (oily or lower/higher ph skin provides more low oxygen space for acne-causing species), cleanliness (keep your pores clean and they won't get infected so often) and parents (most of the bacteria native to your body are inherited at birth from your mother). Puberty is also a big one, changes in hormones cause more of all of these things. They generally settle down into some kind of balance, which is probably little comfort for the 14 year old with a face currently like the surface of Io.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Sure doesn't yer man Seal be riddled with it or is that some other maritime affliction similar to his choice of name.

I was like the surface of the moon as a teenager with acne, flittered with it I was but it did turn out I was a scruffy wee bastárd and a daily regime of washing my face with whatever the product of the day was (burned like the bejaysus is all I know), within 6 months I had a face as smooth as a babys bottom*

AFAIK acne mainly stems from hygienic and dietary causes which are very treatable with over the counter products. But there are certain viral conditions inbuilt to a persons body that can be more severe and require facial amputation a more agressive treatment usually antibiotics.

* DISCLAIMER : Please note this is just a saying. At no time ever has Mr Plazaman ever physically gone near a babys bottom to check if his skin was the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I have a 38 year old male friend who is still on low grade antibiotics for adult acne. He tells me its 24 years he's been having on and off treatment for it, in his late teens he had severe upper body acne which has left the poor bugger badly scarred and he isnt a suitable candidate for dermabrasion. I had normal acne in my own teens and 20s but some people get it in a different league and clearly its hellish at any time of life. Certain cancer treatment can bring it on in mature adults who might never have had it before, as if they hadnt enough to be dealing with

Some doctors dismiss the diet link but I dont, by a process of elimination I think high protein has a big influence, but thats purely personal experience

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I had it pretty bad at one stage, I think it peaked when I was about 18 or 19, but it never bothered me that much. People don't have a clue what they're talking about when it comes to the condition though - barbers telling me to wash it with a bit of cold water and it'll go away etc, sigh.
    From my experience it has nothing to do with diet or what you're washing your face with, it's just pure misfortunate, I tried everything back then.
    Eventually a dermatologist prescribed me roaccutane, which cleared it up in 2 months and I never had a problem with it ever again. I've a few scars, mostly on my back so I don't care though.
    Anyway it's a horrible condition for young people to deal with, I always feel sorry if I see someone that looks like a student or something suffering from it, I just hope they deal with it more swiftly these days, roaccutane is a miracle drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Lazy Bhoy

Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

The acne stork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Some people have excess sebum (oil under the skin) and this fills up their sebaceous gland, thus creating a bubble effect on the skin surface.