Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new born lamb

• 17-02-2014 11:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭

Just new to sheep & had 1st lamb born their now. When I turn over the ewe how do you know the lamb won't need to be stomach tubed?? Like even if you get the lamb to suck how do youkknow it will be alright & how long would it have to suckle the ewe for you to be assured it will be alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Just new to sheep & had 1st lamb born their now. When I turn over the ewe how do you know the lamb won't need to be stomach tubed?? Like even if you get the lamb to suck how do youkknow it will be alright & how long would it have to suckle the ewe for you to be assured it will be alright?

If he stands and sucks himself that would satisfy me. Don't worry to much about the length of time he sucks for. Unless it's incredible short.once he gets sum beastings he'll be flying. If he's not sucking you'll notice him empty looking.
    Best of luck with it anyway and congrats on the first of many live hardy lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭farmingmad10

Thank you for that. I got him to suck for about half a minute he made a few good sucks then tried again & he'd suck a bit more. Just can't get him to suck for a good length but it's a single lamb & he's a good big lamb. Chanced leaving him with the ewe. Cheers I hope I get on well with them alright

Before long you'll know inside out. Is he outside r in a shed. Lambs generally suck little and often anyway. Let her do her licking job. He sounds grand ta me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭farmingmad10

He's inside put him into individual pen. Hopefully will be alright. Should be well able to suck! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

best of luck. great when things go well, its the small victories that make it worthwhile.

How's that lamb this morning F?