Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DEIGNAN SUFFERS FRACTURED COLLARBONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

nuts, must put a giro start in serious doubt

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Ah feck,gutted for him :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

ah boll***s :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

nuts, must put a giro start in serious doubt

Collarbone injuries don't seem to effect pro's like normal mortals. I think they're back on the bike in a couple of weeks. I'd say he'll do it, but might not have great form due to missing out on so much racing.

Wow, just saw that Thomas Vockler is already back racing after a broken collar bone in the Tour down under. Phil will be grand ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

happytramp wrote: »
    Wow, just saw that Thomas Vockler is already back racing after a broken collar bone in the Tour down under. Phil will be grand ;)

ya jockeys are back in 2-3 weeks. He should be grand. I think McCoy was back in 10 days after breaking his in the run up to Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

...except there are many and varied types of breaks with wildly different prognoses. From 2 weeks to an entire season, depending on severity.

The fact that he says his collarbone is 'more mobile' may be a good thing. Although, hard to tell what that means. Perhaps his shoulder motion is less restricted. Hopefully that is the case.

Edit: the article also cites Alan Farrell, Team Sky doc, saying: “This particular fracture is not a bad one though so we’re confident he will be back on the home trainer in the next few weeks, and then racing again once the injury has healed sufficiently.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

dave2pvd wrote: »
    ...except there are many and varied types of breaks with wildly different prognoses. From 2 weeks to an entire season, depending on severity.

The fact that he says his collarbone is 'more mobile' may be a good thing. Although, hard to tell what that means. Perhaps his shoulder motion is less restricted. Hopefully that is the case.

Edit: the article also cites Alan Farrell, Team Sky doc, saying: “This particular fracture is not a bad one though so we’re confident he will be back on the home trainer in the next few weeks, and then racing again once the injury has healed sufficiently.”

Best post regarding broken clavicles. Thanks Dave.

It never ceases to amuse me how useless and irrelevant many people think the collarbone is.

Been there, done that. Realised the importance of the clavicle in the overall skeletal system and took much longer than 2 or 3 weeks to heal.

The posters on this forum must be superhuman or else virgins in the bone breaking process. Leading the league in ballbreaking perhaps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

ragazzo wrote: »

It never ceases to amuse me how useless and irrelevant many people think the collarbone is.

Been there, done that. Realised the importance of the clavicle in the overall skeletal system and took much longer than 2 or 3 weeks to heal.

The posters on this forum must be superhuman or else virgins in the bone breaking process. Leading the league in ballbreaking perhaps!

Can you quote anybody in this thread who said the collarbone was useless or irrelevant?

I don't see it. I presume your snarky comment about super human posters is based on that presumption.

Been there, done that. Realized the importance of the clavicle in the overall skeletal system and took much longer than 2 or 3 weeks to heal.

Mine was smashed into over a dozen pieces. Plus, shoulder separation that had some fairly important ligaments torn - completely. A cadaver supplied the new piece of clavicle (thanks mate). Bone paste and a Z-plate held everything together for 6 months. The physio was harder than any racing season I've known. After plate removal, the physio continued. Another 3 months later, I was back on the bike. Right in time for the CX season :)

The variety on offer of clavicle/shoulder injuries rivals that of a cruise ship's buffet. So giving an uneducated prognosis of 2 to 3 weeks is a bit silly. IMO.

Having said all that, let's hope it's just 2-3 weeks!

Can you quote anybody in this thread who said the collarbone was useless or irrelevant?

I don't see it. I presume your snarky comment about super human posters is based on that presumption.

Cannot find where I wrote about people on this forum saying collarbone was useless or irrelevant. Many people... As in the general population.
    Defensive and sensitive and we are not even discussing hi vis and helmets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Collarbone injuries don't seem to effect pro's like normal mortals. I think they're back on the bike in a couple of weeks..
    Tyler Hamilton broke his collarbone in the first stage of the 2003 TdF and kept going taking a mountain stage and finishing 4th overall. He broke his shoulder in the previous year's Giro and finished second!

Maybe the drugs worked back in the day.
    Probably easier to carry on when the pain is subdued. A poor example of reality and heroism.

I once crashed my car and was able to drive 60 miles home*

So those of you that are saying that a car crash means your car is undriveable really are talking through your ar$es.

* I've actually never crashed my car. But you see where I'm going with this, right?

Funnily enough, I have crashed a car and driven it home. And a motorbike now that I think of it.

Well then, I'd wager your collarbone will heal in 2 weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

.... A poor example of reality and heroism.
    I was merely making a comment in response to happytramp's post in relation to pro cycling injuries. I wasn't providing an "example of reality" nor did I describe him as a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I don't car how much epo he was taking, or how many transfusions he took, those performances by Hamilton were remarkable. Didn't he need 10 or 11 teeth capped after the giro because he was grinding his teeth so much with the pain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

Did Peraud not break his in the tour last year before a tt. The rode the tt and came down on it again. Now there's a hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭spoke2cun

Some tough nuts up here in this part of the world! Here's to a speedy recovery Phillip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Woodround

Macy0161 wrote: »
    I don't car how much epo he was taking, or how many transfusions he took, those performances by Hamilton were remarkable. Didn't he need 10 or 11 teeth capped after the giro because he was grinding his teeth so much with the pain?

It shows how far cycling has fallen and it is rather disgusting that someone would not 'care how much' drugs a cyclist has taken. And this a cyclist whose career was marred by one doping scandal after another. Comments like this surely must make the genuine cycling fans shake their heads in utter disbelief.

Woodround wrote: »
    It shows how far cycling has fallen and it is rather disgusting that someone would not 'care how much' drugs a cyclist has taken. And this a cyclist whose career was marred by one doping scandal after another. Comments like this surely must make the genuine cycling fans shake their heads in utter disbelief.
    In the context of his ability to ride through the pain, the blood boosters don't take away from that, imo. That isn't the same as saying "I don't care" full stop.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

And had no teeth left

In the context of his ability to ride through the pain, the blood boosters don't take away from that, imo. That isn't the same as saying "I don't care" full stop.

Claptrap; it is well known that Narcotic Analgesics were one of the types of drugs and doping methods used in cycling. Their function of increasing the pain threshold and reducing (sometimes eliminating) pain would enable a cyclist to compete harder despite injury. Add to the mix, a cyclist who has been caught doping on numerous occasions, and only a mug would believe that “his ability to ride through the pain” was some sort of amazing feat of honest endeavour.

Any genuine cycling fan should be well aware of the pain killers used by competitive cyclists from the very beginning.

Also:
    blog-magni.jpg?w=594

Claptrap; it is well known that Narcotic Analgesics were one of the types of drugs and doping methods used in cycling. Their function of increasing the pain threshold and reducing (sometimes eliminating) pain would enable a cyclist to compete harder despite injury. Add to the mix, a cyclist who has been caught doping on numerous occasions, and only a mug would believe that “his ability to ride through the pain” was some sort of amazing feat of honest endeavour.
    The only one who mentioned honest endeavour is you, trying to make me some kind of doping apologist. Plenty of other doped to the gills cyclists have broken collarbones. If it was that easy to ride through these injuries with painkillers, I am surprised it's the exception rather than the rule, in any era, that pro cyclists aren't out of races with those injuries. (Even this "clean" era where pro cyclists have spoken out against the use of painkillers).

So are you saying that even with doping, his feat was remarkable?? It is impossible to ignore the guys consistent doping. I’m not trying to make you out to be anything that you haven't already made yourself out to be, I couldn’t care less what you are, or aren’t. But if you feel that way then maybe you should revisit your comments rather than trying to place the blame elsewhere.

I’m not sure if you have ever broken your collarbone or if an avid cyclist such as yourself knows much about broken collarbones, but there are many ways to break your collarbone. It can be anything from a simple break to being completely shattered. A simple break is normally a case of taping the area and letting the bone knit back together.

Anything worse than that, particularly one that separates the bone, and/or causes the joint to become unstable normally means surgery. With that comes other complications, infection, deformation of the collarbone, shortening of the bone, shoulder joint problems etc etc etc. My guess is that those “other doped to the gills cyclists” that you refer to had more than a simple break.

Now, where did I say that it was “easy to ride through these injuries with painkillers”??

I’m not trying to make you out to be anything that you haven't already made yourself out to be, I couldn’t care less what you are, or aren’t. But if you feel that way then maybe you should revisit your comments rather than trying to place the blame elsewhere.

It seems you've joined the conversation for no other reason than to fling your righteous indignation around and now you're bordering on insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭12 sprocket

Any genuine cycling fan should be well aware of the pain killers used by competitive cyclists from the very beginning.

Also:
    blog-magni.jpg?w=594
    Twice at least in this discussion the term "GENUINE CYCLING FANS" have been used, once here and once by woodround orr similar poster.... whats with the genuine cycling fan? What is it that distinguishes the GENUINE CYCLING FAN from the ordinary good old cycling fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Sanctimoniousness?

Twice at least in this discussion the term "GENUINE CYCLING FANS" have been used, once here and once by woodround orr similar poster.... whats with the genuine cycling fan? What is it that distinguishes the GENUINE CYCLING FAN from the ordinary good old cycling fan?

That post got me thinking although probably gliding completely off topic.

I have been a participant, enthusiast and fan of cycling for years.
    I have spent huge amounts of cash, time, blood, sweat, tears and broken bones on it.

I follow the Classics and Grand Tours on TV every year and travel to spectate live at some too.

I do not think too much about people who just use a bike as a means of transport from A to B, cycling commuters just get in my way, leisure cyclists are bearable and racing cyclists are in a league of their own. Some great people but sometimes a strange species.

Does that make me a cycling fan or a genuine cycling fan?
    Maybe I should take up some other sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Sorry Ragazzo you're not the real thing. Off in the sun with your fancy foreign races and your colour (colour!) TVs. Where are you week after week for the ballywherever rain soaked classic? There's only three real genuine non-plastic true fans - me, that creepy guy who keeps licking a piece of some old lycra, and his dog. The rest of ye can.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

Well that was quick.

Fecker. I've been ten weeks off the bike, and expect to be at least another two.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

godtabh wrote: »
    Do bones heal that quick?

From my experience, the main danger comes from the risk of falling again, which is probably minimal for a professional in training. Many are on the turbo 2-4 days later.

If there's surgery, training is restricted straight afterwards due to the risk of sweat causing the open wound to become infected.

He was back on the road after 10 days with no surgery. I assume he has medical clearance from Sky but to me it seems very quick but what would I know. I'm just a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭spoke2cun

Hardy bucks up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

godtabh wrote: »
    Do bones heal that quick?

i got a finger re- broken (cos it wasnt straight and it was too swollen to set properly at first) after a week - had a nurse hanging on to my shoulder while the doc broke it and local anasthetic, it had definitely started knitting.

as others say main risk is from falling off and breaking it again