Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know when to hold em....know when to fold em

• 17-02-2014 5:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭

Went out late on Sunday night so was only getting goin when the night wa over so suggested a casino to my mates. Its great only €5 a cocktail €3 a beer.

Decided when went in there that I wanted a wee game of blackjack but only betting a fiver. Left the table with 20.

Later decided to play some roulette. Again threw a fiver on and walked away with a 100.

Paid for drinks and a bit of a laugh and still came home with 60 more than I went in there with.

So basically do you ever get a free nite and still get loaded?

Or are you like the knobjockey I saw winning 800 but was down to his last 50 when I was leaving coz he doesnt know when to walk away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Witchie wrote: »
    Went out late on Sunday night so was only getting goin when the night wa over so suggested a casino to my mates. Its great only €5 a cocktail €3 a beer.

Decided when went in there that I wanted a wee game of blackjack but only betting a fiver. Left the table with 20.

Later decided to play some roulette. Again threw a fiver on and walked away with a 100.

Paid for drinks and a bit of a laugh and still came home with 60 more than I went in there with.

So basically do you ever get a free nite and still get loaded?

Or are you like the knobjockey I saw winning 800 but was down to his last 50 when I was leaving coz he doesnt know when to walk away?

Try smiling when the drunk idiot to your right decides to call all in after you have moved all in, as has the two lads to his right. He decides to call and hits his 8% chance when your hand pretty much has the lock on a $2000 pot.

Vegas baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

See when I was in Vegas was still sensible. I would set myself a budget of $20 on the tables....take my time drink $1 cocktails and play with my 20 and leave when I had 30.

Gambling is fun but only when you are winning. I walk if I lose or walk if I win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Did they not break your legs on the way out?

No, they even gave me a plastic glass for my cocktail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Its great only €5 a cocktail €3 a beer.
    See when I was in Vegas was still sensible. I would set myself a budget of $20 on the tables....take my time drink $1 cocktails and play with my 20 and leave when I had 30.

Any time i've played in a casino, in USA or Ireland drinks have been free.

Being sensible in Vegas is missing the point :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

You need to tip for the drinks though. Plus I've lost a small fortune chasing 'free' drinks in Vegas before. Lost €70 whilst waiting three minutes for a Bud Lite in 'The D' on Fremont Street last April...

Where gives you free drinks in Ireland?

Beefy78 wrote: »
    You need to tip for the drinks though. Plus I've lost a small fortune chasing 'free' drinks in Vegas before. Lost €70 whilst waiting three minutes for a Bud Lite in 'The D' on Fremont Street last April...

Well you just need to tip for them to come back to you more often! So yeh, costs about a dollar a drink in tips, the drink itself is "free".

Never been to a casino in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Where gives you free drinks in Ireland?

Was in the casino in Airside, Swords and drinks were free. Don't recall tipping in Tahoe for the free drinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yeah, I always get free Remy Martin at the Venetian when I'm playing $5 a hand video poker at the Venetian and tipping $5 a drink.

You'd wonder how they make money at all at all.

Well you just need to tip for them to come back to you more often! So yeh, costs about a dollar a drink in tips, the drink itself is "free".

Never been to a casino in Ireland!

Oh yeah, they definitely come back to you more quickly if you tip more.

Pai Gow Poker is the game to play in Vegas if you're just looking to get drunk. You can play for an hour and it's very unlikely that you'll be more than $20 up or down at a $5-$10 table.

They can't do free drinks am sure coz most people in there are just in for more drink. Except a few hard nuts gambling. I just can't afford to be a hard nut.

€5 is my top bet and when that is gone I am done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Oh i remember those times i was down to my last few quid and spied a fruit machine and ended up getting a few jackpots.

However i also remember the day i blew 280 quid that i really couldn't afford.

Haven't used a fruit machine since, still will play the odd game of poker for a tenner though with mates though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I won about 3 pounds on one of those games where you put in a coin, it might push down another coin onto the next sliding level, which might push coins over the edge, which you then win.

It was my first try, and there was a guy next to me watching me. I meant to say 'beginner's luck', but got confused and said 'winner's luck.'

I was about 8.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

In the summer of 2009 me and my mate would go to the Sporting Emporium each week. They serve free drinks and we thought it was great craic.

I kept a tally and at one point I was up near €600. Fast forward two months later I was down nearly €300. That saying "the casino will get it back" - yeah. But I remember talking to a aulfella one night and a bloke in his group just wasted a few grand in a short space of time. I thought he was waffling however turned out he wasn't.

Near the end of my little weekly casino nights out I couldn't help but think we were all marks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Anytime I've had a drink in a casino it was watered down :mad:

You gotta drink it before the ice melts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Gambling is like breathing :p

The best week of gambling is 3 weeks away, you couldn't bate it with a shítty stick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

kfallon wrote: »
    Gambling is like breathing :p

The best week of gambling is 3 weeks away, you couldn't bate it with a shítty stick :D

Thats a terrible analogy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

There's a place off Grafton St. that I think does free drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I got hurt in Vegas once, never gambled since

I had just lost my bollôx, the waitress came with a huge tray of drinks balanced on one hand, I tried to act as if I wasn't hurting and picked my drink from her tray. Big no no. Her tray swerved with the weight displacement, slow motion, she went this way, that way trying to regain the balance.

Around 15-20 drinks / cocktails spilled everywhere, roulette table was dripping wet.

I wanted to curl up in a ball and gently sob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Not alone do I have no clue when to hold 'em, I'm fairly vague on the when to fold 'em bit as well. This is napkins we're discussing, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Two Vegas Stories:

last night of my stag with $50 Dollars that I was going to use for decent feed before flight home in the morning so strolled through the Casino just taking it in.

A Casino Hold'em.(Like Blackjack but poker) seat opened up infront of me and said screw it I'd play twenty dollars a hand till I lost $40 and I'd make do with a Burger King. Stood up about 25min later the best part of $800 dollars up. Still Waaaaay down for the week because of Story two:

Second night in. Broke about even the first night which is always a win so I was really feeling it after a night on the sauce so said I'd hit the blackjack before bed. Absolute Red mist came over me and when I stood up I lost track of how much I had lost but before leaving I planned to buy an iPad and a new suit and they were a distant memory also blew what I had planned to gamble in 8 Nights. Woke up the next morning almost sick with the thought of it.

Funny thing about Vegas because of the last night I still felt great coming away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Vegas must be the only place in the world where people think
    " I'm only prepared to lose such n such amount of €'s, then I'm done"

It defeats you before you even start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The most fun part of gambling to me is losing lots of your money and then grafting your way back up to a profit... I'd rather lose my cash and then work my way back rather than win a lot and be cautious and end up gradually losing before walking away when you're back to where you started...it's all about momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

unless you are loaded, vegas is crap

I went to vegas with X amount of cash and X amount in a bank account specifically for the holiday. It ever occurred to me that I might win money and all the money I had I was willing to "lose" (spend!). I thought I'd only be interested in the slot machines but I became a dab hand at blackjack and got very lucky with craps. I came home with a half decent amount of cash and never went near the ATM :D

One of the days - the day of the second leg of the Henry handball fiasco - I went out early to watch the football, came back to the strip at midday and sat at a $5 blackjack table. The dealers are great craic and I got to know them and have laughs with them, one fella took a shine to me (I'm sure he took a shine to many) and he headed off of his shift soon after I sat down. When he came back for his next shift I was still there :o I was well up and I had so much fun with other people at the table. It's such a sociable game because you're only playing the dealer and the dealer likes you to win because he gets more tips!

The last night, I was heading back to the hotel and had a $50 chip from a particular casino so I headed in to lose it on craps and ended up leaving with $600 :D

Ah Vegas, how awesome you are!

Don't agree with that really. There's a lot of low-rolling to be done in Las Vegas. I've got by on a modest budget every time I've been. Heading back in September and whilst I'm hoping to have a bit more to play with this time I know I'll have a good time regardless.

What a town!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Don't agree with that really. There's a lot of low-rolling to be done in Las Vegas. I've got by on a modest budget every time I've been. Heading back in September and whilst I'm hoping to have a bit more to play with this time I know I'll have a good time regardless.

What a town!
    Too true. Many's a day I've passed in Vegas on less than €50. It' s as expensive or as cheap as you want it too be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Lost €20 to the three card trick lads at the ploughing championships. The innocence of youth to blame for that one :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fcuk it,no one else put it up so I will

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

not true, went with a modest budget, stayed in ceasars for 7 nights came back on sunday gone, I dont drink the wife does, dollar a bud light or cocktail (tip) in all hotels, modest bit of gambling, didnt win, prob down about 50 overall, bought some clothes, met richard sherman......happy days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

I only gamble for a fiver a night with the lads once a week.

5 or 6 years ago though I took a different sort of punt, I bough some shares in an Irish bank. The manager there told me it was a great bank. The regulator told me it was regulated. Ended up losing a couple of billion on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Yep last night.
    Went with a friend to a casino here in Warsaw, for people in the know it's called Olympic.
    He was going for the poker tournament and I just sat at the bar drinking 1.50e beers as I had zero interest in playing.
    After 6/7 beers I get talking to another lad who is getting pissed and he buys myself 2 shots of vodka and 2 more beers.
    Getting a bit tipsy at this point and so decided to take 20e from the atm and play the slots.
    Out of that 20e I spent another fiver on 2 beers and threw the 15e into the machine and decided to bet large credit amounts.
    I think I was down to my last 3/4e when I got 5 of a kind and the whole machine lit up!
    30000 flashing up on the machine and I'm gettin feckin ecstatic!
    Turned out they were just credits but I walked away from the night with nearly 200e :D
    Friend was livid as he lost everything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭ronjo

bear1 wrote: »
    Yep last night.
    Went with a friend to a casino here in Warsaw, for people in the know it's called Olympic.
    He was going for the poker tournament and I just sat at the bar drinking 1.50e beers as I had zero interest in playing.
    After 6/7 beers I get talking to another lad who is getting pissed and he buys myself 2 shots of vodka and 2 more beers.
    Getting a bit tipsy at this point and so decided to take 20e from the atm and play the slots.
    Out of that 20e I spent another fiver on 2 beers and threw the 15e into the machine and decided to bet large credit amounts.
    I think I was down to my last 3/4e when I got 5 of a kind and the whole machine lit up!
    30000 flashing up on the machine and I'm gettin feckin ecstatic!
    Turned out they were just credits but I walked away from the night with nearly 200e :D
    Friend was livid as he lost everything :)

8 polish beers and 2 shots of Vodka and you are only getting tipsy!!!!!???

Warsaw is a great place.... I lived there for a while many years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

ronjo wrote: »
    8 polish beers and 2 shots of Vodka and you are only getting tipsy!!!!!???

Warsaw is a great place.... I lived there for a while many years ago.

To be fair, they were 0,3 :( and it was pi33 but the kind of pi33 beer that the next day makes you want to kill yourself.
    The shots were the worst to get down, then using the beer as a mixer is never a good idea :D
    Tis a nice place, but there is no place like home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A few years ago I had borrowed my friends UCD scholarship rain jacket to wear in an effort to get into Coppers for free. End of the night decided to play a few hands of blackjack in Colossus. Won a few big hands and was up the guts of a couple of hundred euros. I remember at one stage the dealer asked me what I was a scholar in and just as the card was flipped to reveal a 21 for myself, I say "Blackjack" with a cheeky smile :D, and a fit of laughter from those in earshot who got the joke.

But since then I have yet to leave a casino with such a healthy profit margin.