Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing your I pod on car radio

• 16-02-2014 11:58am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭

I have an 07 almera. The radio has no aux jack. How can I play the music from my phone through the car radio.
    I tried one of them fm transmitter things and although it was listenable it wasnt great. It was a belkin yoke for 30 odd quid.
    Has anyone any better ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Couple of options:

http://shop.dension.com/en/icelink-one
    FM transmitter that plugs into the actual aerial socket and doesn't lose signal like your Belkin, charges the iPod but you change track using the iPod itself

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Grom-IPD3-iPod-iPhone-Integration-kit-NISSAN-ALMERA-PRIMERA-QASHQA-XTRAIL-/181316562072?pt=UK_In_Car_Technology&hash=item2a374f2c98
    iPod integration kit that uses the Almeras CD changer socket as an iPod input. You use the cars steering wheel controls to change track/album etc.
    Track info displayed on the iPod

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Thanks for that. First one looks easier to install. Think Ill try that one when the cash is there.

Same amount of work to install either.

Have you tried them? Where does the second one sit? Does it connect into back of radio?
    Does it just involve pulling radio out connecting then putting it back?

Both of them require the radio to be removed first. I've fitted the first one to a Golf and the second one to a Corolla.

The Corolla one was only one plug IIRC and the Golf needed to tap into the cars wiring to power it (not difficult just not as easy as the other one)

Sound. I just have awful luck with getting radios to sit back in properly once Ive taken them out.

Fingers crossed eh?

Ah you'll be grand, chance it away sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Mrs W

Have you tried a few different frequencies on the one you have? I have a belkin one for about 5 years now and it's brilliant, can be a bit fuzzy to start with especially it's left in the car overnight and cold (no idea why) but I find it great.

Not sure what part of the country you're in but 88.1 and 88.3 works best for me

I suppose its grand if thats what your used to. Some people are happy listening to music on laptop speakers. Im just a picky fecker I suppose.
    Its not bad like, its just not perfect.