Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shunday, 16 Feb

• 15-02-2014 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭

With 8 aw jumpers bumpers at Kempton and some tricky looking graded action at Navan, might be a difficult day to make a few euro. Vivega makes its debut in the bumper at Navan but will probably go off a silly price. Perhaps a day to avoid? Anyway, might have a look at market rasen and see can I find a short priced double to pay the day.

Anything catch your attention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Midnight request in the second last in MR still some evens floating around.

I quite like the jumpers bumpers some times they are priced up all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Any thoughts on dunguib at navan tomorrow? Wouldnt have looked twice at the race only I figure the wastard owes me a few pound from that particular festival a few years back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Think I've found one at market raisen tomorrow. I'll stick it up in the morning once I see the prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Navan 1:40

I don’t usually look at Irish racing at all especially handicap hurdles, but I’ll have a punt on the outsider of the field Kostar in the race. He ran well enough here 2 runs ago when looking like a step up in trip might suit and the additional help of 3 more pounds respite from the handicapper along with a 7lbs claimer on today might just see him in with a chance here. He will be getting stones from most of the field and in today slog that should help considerably.

½ Point EW Victor/Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Vivega best price 5/6 with Bet365.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Can Fenton work his magic one week on and get Dunguib up vs Zaidpour? Hmmmm

Koolala in the 3.35 with McCoy booked is certainly over priced. Won one of these events last season and has just opened his account over hurdles.
    Generally 4/1 with 1 or 2 firms going 9/2. There are question marks over the top 2 in the betting. Also I would have my reservations over the gamble on mccains runner.
    Koolala is by far the most solid option and at 9/2 represents a good ew proposition.

Had a look at the bumper in Market Rasen and I’m going to take a chance on Astaroland giving the market principles a race. This fella ran with promise fto behind a couple of fancied runners including master dee, a previous point winner. I like the way he travelled through that race, sitting behind the leaders before delivering his challenge 2 out. While the 1st and 2nd home that day have yet to run again (both hold entries later this week) the fourth horse maxed out king came 2nd next time out & the fifth horse donna diamond scored nto. Time will tell how that race form works out but I was encouraged that he ran so well on debut, travelling strongly before tiring close home . Jennie Candish’s yard isn’t the most prolific in bumpers with only 5 wins from 73 runners in last 5 seasons & yet to hit the target this season in these races but interestingly she has a decent record at this track with 50% strike rate in bumpers. Ground will not be an issue as he faced heavy the last day & has had 5 weeks to freshen up. Has attracted a bit of support this morning & is her sole runner here today & I think he’s worth a speculative ew punt @ 7/1 to improve the trainers good strike rate in bumpers at the track.
    Of the others, monbeg theatre is the obvious pick on form (2nd to the very good racing pulse in a p2p that has real dept) & the racing post NAP but this is his 4th attempt to open his account & I’m not sure how often you can keep waiting for him to win his bumper(there’s actually a bit of collateral form with my selection back in master dee’s p2p win with the 2nd home letter of the law running to 4L of monbeg theatre here) . He will be winning soon but maybe he just needs a step up in trip. Orby’s man is next in the market. Trainer’s strike rate is 67% in bumpers here & his sole runner so obvious danger but I’m happy to take him on I’m not sure the form of his point win amounts to much & this is far deeper ground than he faced there. Gone forever is hit with a penalty & it’s the most amount of weight he’s had to lump – that should anchor him despite him running in some very good 3yr old bumpers. The rest of the runners have something to prove & I don’t see any obvious threats so I’ve, rightly or wrongly, drawn a line through them . Sunday papers in hand. Mrs has just dropped me in a fresh cup of coffee. Time to sit back & enjoy the racing. Good luck if your dabbling today......

Good analysis there BumperD. It is also worth noting STD makes the trip to market Rasen for the one ride on board the fav.

aidankkk wrote: »

I don’t usually look at Irish racing at all especially handicap hurdles, but I’ll have a punt on the outsider of the field Kostar in the race. He ran well enough here 2 runs ago when looking like a step up in trip might suit and the additional help of 3 more pounds respite from the handicapper along with a 7lbs claimer on today might just see him in with a chance here. He will be getting stones from most of the field and in today slog that should help considerably.

½ Point EW Victor/Paddy

Nice money for this fella now Aidan, you nearly had me off St Maxim but I saw Kostar was weak in the market so stuck with the former. thinking I should haved dutched them now!
    Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

½ Point EW Victor/Paddy

Unlucky at the finish, but well spotted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

½ Point EW Victor/Paddy

Unlucky, 2nd at 14s. Would imagine you took 25s earlier too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

DerryHaw 100-1 ew 2.40
    Drumlee 5-1 win 2.40

Spacious Sky 7-2 win 4.20
    Treacy Hotel boy 40-1 ew 4.20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Taking a chance on Dawn Commander in one of the bumpers at Kempton. Extra trip will suit today, 6/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Zaidpour looks like he doesnt want to run at all, either something wrong or just has had enough

I figured there would be a few shorties turned over today

Wow Dunguib. Credit to Fenton. Fantastic training performance last week followed up by another excellent one today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

That's was a nice watch Dunguib. Hopefully see him in the Coral Handicap at Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Taking a chance on Dawn Commander in one of the bumpers at Kempton. Extra trip will suit today, 6/1

Nice one Urban

Cheers hawkhead. Makes up for yesterday and a little more, really thought he'd win and he showed a very nice attitude really knuckled down. Love horses that aren't afraid to battle

kiers47 wrote: »
    Koolala in the 3.35 with McCoy booked is certainly over priced. Won one of these events last season and has just opened his account over hurdles.
    Generally 4/1 with 1 or 2 firms going 9/2. There are question marks over the top 2 in the betting. Also I would have my reservations over the gamble on mccains runner.
    Koolala is by far the most solid option and at 9/2 represents a good ew proposition.

Well backed in the end. But just couldnt go with them at the business end and faded quite badly.
    Ah well.
    Have had the most speculative of speculative ew bets on themanwiththeplan in the 4.20 at Navan at 66/1.
    And hopefully the well supported Midnight Request gets the business done later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Like it alot
    In the last is overpriced in navan. Good bumper form and if he can leave his last race behind him should win this

Lads does anyone know where Mossey is running today? Can't see him in the p2p cards

I would guess Cragmore. Purely on the basis that it would be the closest P2P in today to Enda Bolgers.
    Not sure though. Cant find a card for it.

** Actually it appears cragmore was cancelled so i have no idea.

Cragmore was cancelled wonder is that where he was due to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,114 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Did anybody hear what Ted said after the race about Cheltenham for Foxrock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Did anybody hear what Ted said after the race about Cheltenham for Foxrock.

Walsh said: "He did what I thought he might do, he always seems to pull out a little bit.

"He was a bit slow at the last and the other two were quicker than him, but he finds a bit when you give him a dig. He won well at the line.

"Danny thought he had a little bit left, he's a grand horse and is going in the right direction. As long as he stays sound and healthy there are more nice pots to be won with him.

"If he improves over the summer he will be a nice three-miler for next season, they are scarce on the ground.

"He stays, he jumps and he handles soft ground. He's come a long way since he won a point-to-point last October."

Asked about running in the four-miler at Cheltenham, Walsh said: "We'll see how he is in three weeks', that's time enough to make our minds up. That's where Barry would like to go with him."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Lads does anyone know where Mossey is running today? Can't see him in the p2p cards

It's next Sunday he's due to run. I don't know where though.

BumperD wrote: »
    Had a look at the bumper in Market Rasen and I’m going to take a chance on Astaroland giving the market principles a race. This fella ran with promise fto behind a couple of fancied runners including master dee, a previous point winner. I like the way he travelled through that race, sitting behind the leaders before delivering his challenge 2 out. While the 1st and 2nd home that day have yet to run again (both hold entries later this week) the fourth horse maxed out king came 2nd next time out & the fifth horse donna diamond scored nto. Time will tell how that race form works out but I was encouraged that he ran so well on debut, travelling strongly before tiring close home . Jennie Candish’s yard isn’t the most prolific in bumpers with only 5 wins from 73 runners in last 5 seasons & yet to hit the target this season in these races but interestingly she has a decent record at this track with 50% strike rate in bumpers. Ground will not be an issue as he faced heavy the last day & has had 5 weeks to freshen up. Has attracted a bit of support this morning & is her sole runner here today & I think he’s worth a speculative ew punt @ 7/1 to improve the trainers good strike rate in bumpers at the track.
    Of the others, monbeg theatre is the obvious pick on form (2nd to the very good racing pulse in a p2p that has real dept) & the racing post NAP but this is his 4th attempt to open his account & I’m not sure how often you can keep waiting for him to win his bumper(there’s actually a bit of collateral form with my selection back in master dee’s p2p win with the 2nd home letter of the law running to 4L of monbeg theatre here) . He will be winning soon but maybe he just needs a step up in trip. Orby’s man is next in the market. Trainer’s strike rate is 67% in bumpers here & his sole runner so obvious danger but I’m happy to take him on I’m not sure the form of his point win amounts to much & this is far deeper ground than he faced there. Gone forever is hit with a penalty & it’s the most amount of weight he’s had to lump – that should anchor him despite him running in some very good 3yr old bumpers. The rest of the runners have something to prove & I don’t see any obvious threats so I’ve, rightly or wrongly, drawn a line through them . Sunday papers in hand. Mrs has just dropped me in a fresh cup of coffee. Time to sit back & enjoy the racing. Good luck if your dabbling today......

Travelled fine but could not cope when monbeg kicked for home. Another form boost to that p2p racing pulse won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,114 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Walsh said: "He did what I thought he might do, he always seems to pull out a little bit.

"He was a bit slow at the last and the other two were quicker than him, but he finds a bit when you give him a dig. He won well at the line.

"Danny thought he had a little bit left, he's a grand horse and is going in the right direction. As long as he stays sound and healthy there are more nice pots to be won with him.

"If he improves over the summer he will be a nice three-miler for next season, they are scarce on the ground.

"He stays, he jumps and he handles soft ground. He's come a long way since he won a point-to-point last October."

Asked about running in the four-miler at Cheltenham, Walsh said: "We'll see how he is in three weeks', that's time enough to make our minds up. That's where Barry would like to go with him."

Very impressed with him fighting back on that short run in giving weight away. Only negative is Mullins he looked to take a pull coming to the last with a horse alongside him. Hope he goes to Cheltenham horse looks like he will stay forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Was at ptp today at Punch tried to buy a horse offered 100k owner "do you want to buy his shoes".Dinnies Vinnie is the smartest ptp winner ive seen in a very very long time.This Is in my opinion a superstar but his knee is bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I have to after time this ... Épée celeste in market Rasen...I tried to post while
    I was in b and q earlier just before the race started but had no 3G.
    The war chest is ready for some abuse