Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Major log splitter

• 13-02-2014 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭

After the winds of the last few days we have had a number of trees after falling. I had been thinking about a log splitter for a while but I reckon with some of the trees that I now have, splitting them be hell.

I have been looking at a few and was thinking of the tractor mounted major one. The horizontal one seems fine for nice big round blocks but vertical seems more suited to oddly shaped blocks.

Anyone got one and what should I look out for? Price range seems about €1200 does that seem right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

There's an outfit in Cork that manufacture a range of them. Do a search on Done Deal for Log Splitter and you'll find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Gleeson steel and engineering do a good 1 for around 700+VAT I think, neighbour bought 1 and is great has split a lot of timber in the last 2 yrs with it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Still won't split the logs though.... Ha ha

Conor556 wrote: »
    Gleeson steel and engineering do a good 1 for around 700+VAT I think, neighbour bought 1 and is great has split a lot of timber in the last 2 yrs with it

What's it like to use, looks very similar the major yoke. I do like the 2 hand system to stop in case split my hands. Does the gleeson one have an auto return? Saw it on you tube and looks like it dosent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

grazeaway wrote: »
    What's it like to use, looks very similar the major yoke. I do like the 2 hand system to stop in case split my hands. Does the gleeson one have an auto return? Saw it on you tube and looks like it dosent.

No it doesnt but it seems to have good speed in the hydraulics anyway, if you get sick of the 2 hand system all you need do is unscrew the handle on the pump and move it from the side and screw it back in on top. if you get me,,, ie there is 2 holes for the control lever,, Sorry nt great at explaining stuff like this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

We have a Major one for at least 10 years now. Bought for €700. Used by my father, myself, my brother in law and at least 5 other neighbours. Splits in excess of 100m3 per year. As a testament to its build quality, it never cracked or had to be repaired in any way. It's ram is perfect and its blade stays sharp. Personally I like major machinery. their back up is second to none. So I highly recommend it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

+1 on major, operated one lately and works great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Not to be harping on about Health and safety but, if you disconnect the two-hand system on the splitter, you will be liable for any resulting injuries, not the manufacturer. It's worth remembering, especially if you lend it to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

Had a major now for a few years, 14ton model, hasn't failed me yet and I've challenged it!

You do need quick hyd or it'll drive you mad waiting for it to go back. Although it's good it is slower than the axe for easy timber, and it doesn't keep you fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Watch out for when it cracks through a knot, bits can come speeding out.

To ðefeat the two hand safety feature I just jam a sliver of wood in to stop the handle coming down. if anyone else than me is using the yoke, I don,t disable it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

used splitter with and without auto return and i have to say its a right job!

Had a look at one today, reckon the horizontal one is better then the vertical. Need to do a bit on convincing with the ol lad though he reckons the hatchet and sledge are still the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Bought one of "HOWDENTOOLS" in bawnboy in cavan, he does deliver. now i can not think what ton it is "three point linkage model one" but its way way more than is needed for even the most knotty of hard wood. IMHO i would not go for the horizontal one as every time you split a large piece one half is going to fall on the ground and you have double lifting of one piece of timber where as with the vertical one you have a work bench "the bigger the better" hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Had a Teagle one for years,vertical with double action ram . IMO vertical is the way to go, splitting a big ring is a piece of cake, one hand on the lever and the other swiveling the timber as you split .. The only downside in my case the constant bending over could be hard on the back.. but the neighbour I sold it to has no problem in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 hiluxstihl

built one, building another, overspec wherever you can, majors are good, some bend the rod on the ram though, was in there yard buying their tractor saw and few were there in bad shape! dont mess with pressure valve youll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

Trying to decide between a Major or a Malone Log Splitter, only €15 difference in price, both 14T.

Major has an auto return but Malone hasn't due to safety. Which would ye recommend.

Due to safety would prefer to buy a branded which has been tested as opposed to a home made one done deal or the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

auto return is better in my opinion, its enough holding lever for going down than also having to shove it back up, makes the process easier and faster for loading ur wood.