Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT booked in 10 days. Can I drive?

• 13-02-2014 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

Folks,

I'm awaiting my first NCT following the restoration of my car. The earliest NCT date I could get is 10 days away. The car is fully finished and I expect it to pass.

If I was stopped by the guards, would I be "OK"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Answering the question in title - No, legally you can not drive without valid NCT.

forestgray wrote: »
    Folks,

I'm awaiting my first NCT following the restoration of my car. The earliest NCT date I could get is 10 days away. The car is fully finished and I expect it to pass.

I could be OK, it could be not. Your risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Folks,

Legally, no. Beyond that, it's really down to how lucky you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭forestgray

Anan1 wrote: »
    Legally, no. Beyond that, it's really down to how lucky you feel.

Id love to hear from someone with previous experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

Folks,

You can do whatever you want, doesn't mean you should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Some people will say they were stopped with no NCT and got on grand. Some will say they were stopped and got a court appearance for their trouble. All depends on the guard who stops you. What's your demographic OP? As in are you a 20 something male driving an modified Honda civic or are you an older man/woman driving a "safe" car like an avensis or something?

I was told by Gardaí it's fine, if they stop you and you produce your letter from the NCT with your appointment date you'd be fine. On the Insurance side of things I don't know, technically you're not insured if you don't have a valid NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

previous experience is going to depend on the guard in question.
    If someone got away with it then it was because the guard was nice.
    You could get the exact same guard and he may do you for it. You could get a different guard in the same area and he won't, or he might. Or a totally different part of the country and you may or may not get done.

It is completely down to the guard and his/her mood on the day.

So as has been said, its your risk. You can get as many opinions/replies as you want, bottom line is it depends on the guard.

hellboy99 wrote: »
    I was told by Gardaí it's fine, if they stop you and you produce your letter from the NCT with your appointment date you'd be fine. On the Insurance side of things I don't know, technically you're not insured if you don't have a valid NCT.

All of that post is untrue

How is it untrue? Only date I could get for my NCT was two weeks after it was up, I rang my local Garda Station, explained my situation and that is what I was told. People are right in saying it depends on the Garda that stops you too.

If you were involved in an accident the assessor will check if the car was roadworthy, they can refuse to pay on grounds that car has no NCT.

Id love to hear from someone with previous experience?
    I've been both stopped and charged and let go over the years. They have tightened up a lot recently, I probably wouldn't chance it without good reason myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

How is it untrue? Only date I could get for my NCT was two weeks after it was up, I rang my local Garda Station, explained my situation and that is what I was told. People are right in saying it depends on the Garda that stops you too.

Its untrue in the sense that you generalised and said it would be fine for others in the future. It was only true for you because the guard in question felt like letting you away it that particular time

The Gardai shouldn't have told you it was fine as it's against the law, depends on the Garda who stops you but at the end of the day it's against the law, I've seen cases where you would be still covered without a valid nct

How is it untrue? Only date I could get for my NCT was two weeks after it was up, I rang my local Garda Station, explained my situation and that is what I was told.

You could have been told that, but on the road it might have been different garda officer from different garda station and he could have different opinion.
    According to law it's illegal to drive a vehicle without NCT (with very few exceptions).

Just to add the OP has stated that they have just restored their car so it's likely that the nct is out by a long time so in that case I wouldn't recommend driving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

You'd have to meet a right prick on a bad day to be done for no NCT with proof that you have an appointment booked.

OP, you should be fine just make sure tax and insurance are in order and that you have proof of your NCT appointment time.

Just to add the OP has stated that they have just restored their car so it's likely that the nct is out by a long time so in that case I wouldn't recommend driving it
    May not have Tax either.

True also about depending on the Garda, I was just saying what one Garda told me, which I will agree he really shouldn't say that but at least he was being honest when he said he knew there can be backlogs for a test and some people need their cars as they have no other means of transport.

Regards to NCT, this is what 123 state:

page 30 - Section 5.

5. Care of Your Car

Your Car must be covered by a valid Department of Transport NCT Test Certificate, if you need one by law.

http://www.123.ie/downloads/rsamotorpolicy0412.pdf

May not have Tax either.

True also about depending on the Garda, I was just saying what one Garda told me, which I will agree he really shouldn't say that but at least he was being honest when he said he knew there can be backlogs for a test and some people need their cars as they have no other means of transport.

Regards to NCT, this is what 123 state:

page 30 - Section 5.

5. Care of Your Car

Your Car must be covered by a valid Department of Transport NCT Test Certificate, if you need one by law.

http://www.123.ie/downloads/rsamotorpolicy0412.pdf

Yeah if the nct is out by a few weeks then the Garda would probably turn a blind eye especially if you had the text from the nct to prove it was booked in but in this case I wouldn't be so sure

You can do whatever you want, doesn't mean you should.

That's a most helpful post. Thanks ....

You can always request for cancelation if that comes before the date you were given

That's a most helpful post. Thanks ....

I've since gone into further detail in other posts which I'm sure you've seen.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    You'd have to meet a right prick on a bad day to be done for no NCT with proof that you have an appointment booked.

OP, you should be fine just make sure tax and insurance are in order and that you have proof of your NCT appointment time.

That way everyone could drive without ever doing NCT.
    Once your NCT expires you book an appointment for test.
    Then a week before appointment you rebook it for 1 month ahead. Next month you do the same.
    That way you always have a confirmation with you that your test is booked within next month. You really think people could get away with doing it for months, or years?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭marc96

U can drive Aslong as u have ur paper with u saying cnt is booked for ten days time.its not ur fault u can't get it done sooner.

marc96 wrote: »
    U can drive Aslong as u have ur paper with u saying cnt is booked for ten days time.its not ur fault u can't get it done sooner.
    This is a dangerous untruth.

Indeed it's not his fault he can't do it sooner, but he can not drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Didn't a poster get five points from a garda with no intention of listening to him/her when they produced the booking proof.

Really depends on the garda you meet on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Read this chap's recent experience:
    First off I want to say I always found Gardai to be fair and never had a problem with them until today.

I got a new car recently but haven't sold my old one yet because its due its NCT in 2 days (Going to put it through that first before selling). The NCT ran out near the end of last month. It also isn't taxed because it hasn't been drove since about the start of December, its tax ran out the end of November. The car was in my mothers house because where I live I only have a permit for 1 car. The NCT test is at 9 in the morning and I will be very busy tomorrow so decided to get the car today and bring it to my house (I have a guest permit that works up to 3 days) then from there, bring it to the NCT center. I live just across from the NCT center while my mothers house is the complete opposite end of town. I had rang the Gardai before and asked about driving it while it is due for NCT and was told if I had the booking confirmation I would be fine, with a bit of discretion with the Gardai involved.

So the problem I encountered today. I was driving the car from my mothers house to mine when I got stopped at a checkpoint. I was asked to pull in as I had expected and the Gardai approached the window. Again I say I have always found Gardai to be reasonable and decent but this person just did not give a ****. Unfortunately for me my license was in the glove box of my other car. They wrote this down, they then issued me a fine for not having tax and stated I would be receiving 5 penalty points for not having a valid NCT. I tried to explain but they wouldn't even let me speak. Then lastly they said, if you do not pay the fine you will be summoned to court and they walked off.

I have never had an interaction with such a cold hearted person. I cannot believe how unfairly I was treated. Is there anything I can do at all in this situation?

Any help is greatly appreciated, sorry if this is the wrong forum I was thinking of posting in Legal but figured motorists might have some experience on the issues.

Thank you.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=88865947&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

CiniO wrote: »
    Then a week before appointment you rebook it for 1 month ahead. Next month you do the same.
    That way you always have a confirmation with you that your test is booked within next month. You really think people could get away with doing it for months, or years?

I'm aware that it's possible to do that, I'm just speaking from my own experience. I've been stopped enough times and I've gone through many checkpoints without a valid NCT over the years and I've never been done for it. Technically he can be done for it, I know - but I don't think he will be in this case.

Wonder how long the nct is out

CiniO wrote: »
    Does the booking ever expire if you keep rescheduling it? I know the driving test does, or at least it used to. I think you could reschedule twice. Then it was another €85.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I'm aware that it's possible to do that, I'm just speaking from my own experience. I've been stopped enough times and I've gone through many checkpoints without a valid NCT over the years and I've never been done for it. Technically he can be done for it, I know - but I don't think he will be in this case.
    That makes about as much sense as my saying that he will be charged if caught because I was once. Bottom line is we just don't know.

No Pants wrote: »
    Does the booking ever expire if you keep rescheduling it? I know the driving test does, or at least it used to. I think you could reschedule twice. Then it was another €85.

I don't know. Never tried it.
    Let's leave finding out to those who want to exploit the system in that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

you know you can book your NCT up to three months before the current one expires?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

No Pants wrote: »

Just want to point out that car was also not taxed. So honestly he was asking for it. I wouldn't expect leniency for having tax out of date. Thats unforgivable. Add to the mix the NCT and your a goner for good reason. The cost of a transporter for such a move would easily be well below the cost of the fine and insurance hike for the penalty points.

OP, you said the car is restored, how long is it off the road? Has it had an NCT before? Is it a standard car or a kit car etc? Is it taxed?

ironclaw wrote: »
    Just want to point out that car was also not taxed. So honestly he was asking for it. I wouldn't expect leniency for having tax out of date. Thats unforgivable. Add to the mix the NCT and your a goner for good reason. The cost of a transporter for such a move would easily be well below the cost of the fine and insurance hike for the penalty points.

OP, you said the car is restored, how long is it off the road? Has it had an NCT before? Is it a standard car or a kit car etc? Is it taxed?

Car is tax and insured. It's 1980 and has never been NCT before. It's a bone stock restored toyota landcruiser.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

So yes we all know its technically illegal but come on... I'd say 99% of guards would have no problem if you could produce proof you were on the way to the test...

But let me ask you this, lets say your nct test was on the day that your nct was expiring, and due to a personal emergency, you could not attend.... How many people here would honestly say they would get their car towed to the nct centre - and not drive the short distance simply because they were a few days out?

Car is tax and insured. It's 1980 and has never been NCT before. It's a bone stock restored toyota landcruiser.

The fact its never had an NCT before would worry me. A Garda would like to see all three discs in the window, missing one will arose suspicion and closer scrutiny (Although the NCT will be out of date, at least its there, the know how long its out etc). If it was me, I wouldn't drive it. A Garda might think you just put it back on the road as a run around and you have very little proof to the contrary. (Even though its a restored vintage car, they might not know the value of it and think you were driving something 'cheap')
    Zascar wrote: »
    How many people here would honestly say they would get their car towed to the nct centre - and not drive the short distance simply because they were a few days out?

Its a good point but the law has no grey areas. Its totally up to the Garda. If I had any doubts I'd have it towed. The cost of a tow would be well under the hike in costs for having penalty points not to mention the fine and possible court appearance. Its a gamble really!

Isn't he allowed to drive it on the day of the test (only)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Afaik, only to get to nct can you drive without valid nct disc.
    It's up to the guard. People on this forum have been nabbed and got points so it does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

It's really down to what humour the guard who stops you is in.
    My nct is out since March 2013 and I ve been stopped twice since it's expired. Guards only checked tax and insurance then waved me on. I drive a 2003 Audi A6 which is in good condition.

I think a lot of this is also down to presentation unfortunately. If you drive up in a clean-ish car that looks like it's been maintained, with tax, insurance, decent tyres and you are polite, I think you've a fair chance of being allowed to proceed.

However, if you're driving something like looks like it was bought at a jumble sale, with a loud exhaust, "bangin' toones" at full volume, wearing a hoodie and you open the conversation with "How's it going, bacon trousers. Soft day for some hard drugs", chances are he's going to take a closer look at everything.

Reminds me of this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

biko wrote: »
    Afaik, only to get to nct can you drive without valid nct disc.
    It's up to the guard. People on this forum have been nabbed and got points so it does happen.
    Was changed years ago, you can drive only on the day of the test having been refused the NCT certificate. (e.g. fail first, then drive for the rest of the day)

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Was changed years ago, you can drive only on the day of the test having been refused the NCT certificate. (e.g. fail first, then drive for the rest of the day)

Reminds me of the way your allowed drive home on your own after failing a driving test. Basically, your allowed drive home in a car that failed a roadworthiness test.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Really? So you can't drive when the vehicle status is uncertain, but once it's known to have at least one fault, then you can?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, because most fails are not a major safety issue (bad suspension, lights, whatnot).
    Where a vehicle has a dangerous defect i.e. a defect that constitutes a direct and immediate risk to road safety such that the vehicle should not be used on the road under any circumstances, the NCT vehicle inspector will issue a Failed Dangerous result.
    It is an offence to drive a dangerously defective vehicle on the public road. The penalty for such an offence is a fine of up to €2000 and 5 penalty points on conviction and/or 3 months imprisonment