Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cow with horn growing into side of her head

• 11-02-2014 1:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Dry cow had a horn growing into side of her head. Put her up in crush today and cut the end off. Was easily gone 1/2 inch into her eye socket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Dry cow had a horn growing into side of her head. Put her up in crush today and cut the end off. Was easily gone 1/2 inch into her eye socket

Have an in calf heifer at home with the same thing. Don't want to go at it until after she calves, which should be any day now.
    Had it actually cut into her? What 'repair work' was needed after ctting off the end. Dreading whats ahead of me when I tackle this with my one!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Parishlad wrote: »
    Have an in calf heifer at home with the same thing. Don't want to go at it until after she calves, which should be any day now.
    Had it actually cut into her? What 'repair work' was needed after ctting off the end. Dreading whats ahead of me when I tackle this with my one!! :eek:

If you do it ..take it all off not this 2" crack or youll be at it again in 2 years as once it turned towards the head.. it'll keep a coming

I often take the handle off of the wire ,,, feed it in between horn and head on bad ones, handle back on wire and away you go.. put nice angle on it towards top of head and burn closed the wound with gas dehorner ( a hay string/cable tie can also be used to pressure the veins but I still aim to get as close as possible on a growing animal so if nothing left to hold string so be it.. cauterise the wound with the hot iron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

that is one hoor of a job...had the vet do 2 cows lately, anaesthetic first...still bloody fierce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Uncle puts the lamb rings on them. Says it works well. Takes a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

oldsmokey wrote: »
    that is one hoor of a job...had the vet do 2 cows lately, anaesthetic first...still bloody fierce.

The wire is the least stressful on man and beast I find . What was the vet using ? The last vet we got here used the guillotine and it must've been blunt as feck , it made the job one hell of an ordeal .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

moy83 wrote: »
    The wire is the least stressful on man and beast I find . What was the vet using ? The last vet we got here used the guillotine and it must've been blunt as feck , it made the job one hell of an ordeal .

Our old vet god rest him had one of those .. Brutal yoke .. I think my ole lad took it off of him one time and sharpened it

Bodacious wrote: »
    Our old vet god rest him had one of those .. Brutal yoke .. I think my ole lad took it off of him one time and sharpened it

Its not good when he is crunching through the horn , I was fit to warp it on the bars of the crush to make sure he didnt use it again

The cow was very relived when she realised what we were at.
    Easier to make sure there dehorned now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

jes ye left it late enough!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    jes ye left it late enough!

Speaking of leaving it too late , is it too crappy weatherwise to skull a few weanlings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Speaking of leaving it too late , is it too crappy weatherwise to skull a few weanlings

I wouldn't be mad about doing them this weather.
    I'm guessing you have to skull though for going to the mart. Perhaps if you have a good sheltery field they might be alright.
    If you're not going severe and you really need to do it you might be able to keep them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I wouldn't dream of doin it yet. Plenty of time yet.
    It's a hateful job.

There is no panic , ill leave it till closer to grass time when its a bit milder .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭shrek008

Uncle puts the lamb rings on them. Says it works well. Takes a while.

Can u tell me more bout this please?

shrek008 wrote: »
    Can u tell me more bout this please?

I can't ha. I didn't question him about it.