Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

most wackiest eatery

• 10-02-2014 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭

So as I was browsing on facebook tonight, I came across this wonderful advertisement......

We can all guess what classy clientele this will attract?

So boardsies....where was youre wackiest place for dinner and if it was a date, how did it fair out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

romantic meal for two in a chipper??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Eh! It's a joke! It's a takeaway and they're just having a laugh! Geez!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

That place would attract me and so would a man who invited me there! After dinner I'd break out the Buckfast and go for a romantic walk by the graveyard. I <3 Valentines Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Professor PJ Cornucopia's Fantastic Foodmagorium & Great American Steakery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Awww :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I ate in a place with a rockclimbing wall for customers to . . .er. . .climb up. I lost a lot of blood, sweat and tears that day.

And I was only watching.:pac:

Looked in the door of the Heart Attack Grill a couple of times, but it was more weird and tacky than wacky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

I know but the amount of people "liking and sharing"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Professor PJ Cornucopia's Fantastic Foodmagorium & Great American Steakery.

That's not a real place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Having eaten both body sushi and flamethrower pizza I feel a restaurant catering both would do well.

cruais wrote: »
    I know but the amount of people "liking and sharing"...

Because it's funnier than a meal of excruciating courtship conventions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Yer man from Macari's was on the radio today, apparently that is legit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Probably booked already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I know it's a chipper, but I bet the food would be better than the crap that's usually thrown to the romantics on Valentines night. Must be the worst night to out for a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

I went to a recently refurbished Italian turned Steampunk themed restaurant in Cape town recently. One week it was traditional Italian, the next we returned to the same waiters wearing pocketwatches and tophats with clocks everywhere. Bizarre theme for a restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

There's a place in New York where the waiters are dressed up as ninjas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Will be still better than my pot noodle while I weep silently at my forever aloneness.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Witchie wrote: »
    Will be still better than my pot noodle while I weep silently at my forever aloneness.

Boots doing 20% off hand cream and lube. You're welcome.

I was trying to think of recipes that might require these. :confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Germans have a unhealthy obsession with blind restaurants. You eat your food with a blind fold. Every large German city has one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

For sheer class, you can't beat Chicken Hut. Do yiz have one in the big shmoke lads? Popular spot for couples in Limerick*.

*possibly a lie

Yeah since am female I bring my own brand of lube but hand cream is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

hfallada wrote: »
    Germans have a unhealthy obsession with blind restaurants. You eat your food with a blind fold. Every large German city has one.
    Oh yeh, dine in the dark - I can't see what the appeal could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

biko wrote: »
    Probably booked already.

And it's a set menu only at double the normal price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Probably the good laugh at hearing people falling over stuff on the way to the toilet.

Actually I think the whole emphasis on the visual appeal of food is a marketing lie by chefs that like to play with their food. You can build a millefeuille tower of tripe on a bed of tricoloured salad with a fractal swirl of jus but I'm still not eating it! Smell and texture are far more important (IMO) so I think dining blind would be really interesting. And kinky. :D

And it's a set menu only at double the normal price.
    So not cheap as chips then? :(

Prepare to be amazed!http://firstwefeast.com/eat/worlds-craziest-themed-restaurants/s/103436/

I'm off to set up a restuarant in a carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

Apparently there is or was a restaurant in the states that used to insult the bejaysus out of its customers , if you were not thick skinned you were advised not to go . Any thing went apparently that was the so called "theme"

Prepare to be amazed!http://firstwefeast.com/eat/worlds-craziest-themed-restaurants/s/103436/

I'm off to set up a restuarant in a carpark.
    Love the coffin and the waiter with the condom on his head - ''our food is guaranteed not to get you pregnant'' :D

The sheer look of amazement on the guys face in the background of the condom on the waiter is hilarious.

"These are some odd condomiments.

janja wrote: »
    Apparently there is or was a restaurant in the states that used to insult the bejaysus out of its customers , if you were not thick skinned you were not advised to go . Any thing went apparently that was the so called "theme"

There is a chain of them called Dick's Last Resort

I love their merchandise and meant to bring home my gbf a t-shirt saying "I <3 Dick's" from Vegas one but we didn't get back to it the day we were getting stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

hfallada wrote: »
    Germans have a unhealthy obsession with blind restaurants. You eat your food with a blind fold. .

I see how that would work for rice say, but how do you cut up a steak with a blindfold?