Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Careful if you use Newlands Cross

• 09-02-2014 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭

Hi all - just a heads up if you use Newlands Cross particularly coming into Dublin. This may be sorted during the coming week but whoever is looking after the roadworks is very lucky they're not (touch wood) looking at a fatality of a motorcyclist this weekend due to going over the handlebars.

As you approach the crossroads where Bewleys is on your left, the middle lane has a huge hole in the road surface. There is a 60 speed limit during the works but due to the size of the hole this is too high a limit. I drove through this junction last night and hit the hole so hard that the tyre on my car blew out and how it didn't damage the suspension I don't know.

Today I had a new tyre fitted at a cost of €340 and my alloy wheel (OEM) is damaged although not cracked.

There is a Facebook page called Garda Checkpoints and many motorists have posted similar stories about this part of Newlands Cross.

I will be contacting South Dublin County Council and the RSA about this as it's so dangerous and yet presumably someone on Friday evening decided they wanted to go home and 'shure it'll do' must've been the attitude! If the person or people responsible are reading this you're very lucky there isn't blood on your hands tonight. Many people have said the only way to avoid it is to swerve and with thousands of motorists using the road daily, to walk away and leave the surface the way it is is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

That's serious , going to be very dangerous in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

MarkN wrote: »
    Hi all - just a heads up if you use Newlands Cross particularly coming into Dublin. This may be sorted during the coming week but whoever is looking after the roadworks is very lucky they're not (touch wood) looking at a fatality of a motorcyclist this weekend due to going over the handlebars.

As you approach the crossroads where Bewleys is on your left, the middle lane has a huge hole in the road surface. There is a 60 speed limit during the works but due to the size of the hole this is too high a limit. I drove through this junction last night and hit the hole so hard that the tyre on my car blew out and how it didn't damage the suspension I don't know.

Today I had a new tyre fitted at a cost of €340 and my alloy wheel (OEM) is damaged although not cracked.

There is a Facebook page called Garda Checkpoints and many motorists have posted similar stories about this part of Newlands Cross.

I will be contacting South Dublin County Council and the RSA about this as it's so dangerous and yet presumably someone on Friday evening decided they wanted to go home and 'shure it'll do' must've been the attitude! If the person or people responsible are reading this you're very lucky there isn't blood on your hands tonight. Many people have said the only way to avoid it is to swerve and with thousands of motorists using the road daily, to walk away and leave the surface the way it is is a disgrace.
    fcuk me, I thought that was just me! I had to swerve to miss it today and everyone in the car went nuts giving out to me! I just thought, jasus, that's a bloody deep hole that right there. Very dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

€340 for a tyre???

Any chance you could chuck up the exact area it is on http://fixmyarea.com/?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭MarkN

testicle wrote: »
    €340 for a tyre???

For a 19" run flat that isn't a part worn, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Get onto the NRA too.. SDCC will probably pass you off to them anyway. I came thru it Friday evening on way home from working in Limerick and hit it too. At that time it felt bad but can only imagine it got worse as weekend went on.

It does make you wonder what level of sh!te these guys give that they can head off for the weekend and leave such a bad surface in place.

Based on the damage it did to your car I think you would have a good case to claim from them for your tyre. Put that irritating American sounding NRA spokesman in his place..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

This hole was flagged by several sources on twitter over the weekend. Contractor/council have a duty of care, I'd be sending on the invoice for any damages.

Considering the budget on the job, it would be a drop in the ocean anyway..350,000 tonnes of tarmac..75,000 bolts... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

i hit that b'stard today , scared the ****e out of me , lucky no so far damage . it seems to be two channells one hard and the other not so bad heading over to the right as you approach bewleys maybe pipes or some such , but to leave it like that is fcuking criminal at minimum .

arseholes

alphabeat wrote: »
    i hit that b'stard today , scared the ****e out of me , lucky no so far damage . it seems to be two channells one hard and the other not so bad heading over to the right as you approach bewleys maybe pipes or some such , but to leave it like that is fcuking criminal at minimum .

arseholes

They filled it with 804, it sunk and got dragged out by wheels. We're in the same line of work and it happens, but ffs, where it is, you'd think they'd be monitoring the surfaces - sure they've 490,000 working hours to fill..

See now it was mentioned on the Garda Traffic twitter feed earlier today.. How ironic that they are now out on the N7 doing speed checks in the 100kmh zone.. Time could have been better served stopping people near killing themselves at Bewleys.

I tweeted Garda traffic and they seem to have spotted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Didn't notice this break in the road myself but I did spot the camera van just after Naas (inbound) @ around 9pm! At least he had the good grace to have the hazards on I suppose but all the idiots dropping anchor anyway even when they weren't "speeding" in the first place is really annoying! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I'm a victim of this as well...

1535024_10151883180027327_837558957_n.jpg

Mark, PM me if you make any headway on getting it sorted. I got passed from SDCC to the contractor performing the works and I'm currently waiting on a call back from the Site Manager. I'm thinking I'll probably be having to follow this up myself a lot in the next few days, so it would be good to know other people in the same situation as well and how they're getting on.

Well feel free to tell him you're not alone, I'll back you up. I'll do my best chasing it up too, I'm just out the door with work also but I do intend on writing a letter or email so if you get a contact for him/her let me know and I'll add my name to the list. :)

A mate took this for me I've a slow motion video of it now and a contact in SDCC if anyone wants to send an email it's cmalone@sdublincoco.ie I'll be doing the same this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

hard to make out from that photo, is it the lane you are in, or the peugeot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭the magician

Something similar happened my Dad recently up around the Airport. With the work they're doing there , the roads have been in a bad way for a while.

He bust a wheel and rim. He got onto the council(cThink it's Fingal council up there) and they referred him to the contractor for the works.

Once he sent in his invoice for the repair they paid it fairly quickly.

His workmate same evening bust the rim and suspension in his E class merc in the same spot. Same again sent in invoice to the contractor and cheque came out a while later.

So I'd imagine these companies are well used to this sort of thing and have possibly budgeted for paying out for some damages to vehicles.
    Hopefully it doesn't take too long for anyone affected to get sorted , and they sort out the road before someone gets injured

Idbatterim wrote: »

I didn't take the picture it was sent to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Idbatterim wrote: »

According to the tweets from Gardai yesterday it was lane 2.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

There is a massive pothole by the roundabout on the strand road at Sydney parade. I think my wheel is ok but it was a massive thump. How can you best report these when they happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Zascar wrote: »
    There is a massive pothole by the roundabout on the strand road at Sydney parade. I think my wheel is ok but it was a massive thump. How can you best report these when they happen?

Here is what you do for claiming.

http://cars.ie.msn.com/winter-motoring-cars/how-to-claim-pothole-accident-damage-compensation-1

Also report to
    http://www.potholes.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Just after coming through the cross from belgard road, be very careful huge lumps of road the size of footballs all over the crossover part

Current bill so far is just over €1,000 inc vat. Suspension on the car will be checked on Thursday also.

I've emailed both a lady in SDCC and a contact I was given via a poster here for Bam Construction. We will see........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

So €400 for the tyre then!

I normally travel through NC regularly, but will try and avoid it at all costs until the works are finished

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

I'll be emailing the SDCC contact today.

Currently sitting in the waiting room of the tyre place, new front passenger tyre and alignment needing to be done. Looks like I got away with the alloy being ok, the tyre took all of the punishment (along with the suspension/alignment).

Bill for me is only about €200 so far by the looks of things...

Wonder is some young fella losing his job over this.. it was mentioned a lot in traffic reports on radio and also online. Looks like it is going to cost the contractor a good lot of payouts. Am sure they have insurance for this kind of stuff, but still they should have taken a little more care when putting down the tarmac in the area involved. You see it so often, these lads just don't give a sh!te about the damage they can cause.

Guy from Bam called me back fairly quickly after my email this morning. He seemed fairly ok with the idea of coughing up but did mention he'd have to run it by his bosses as to who exactly is to blame (council or them) and mentioned the weather causing problems with the road. He asked me what I drive as I suppose the invoice I forwarded is hefty enough but I don't make up the prices, BMW do. I don't think the weather caused the size of the hole but I let it slide until I hear back again.

MarkN wrote: »
    Guy from Bam called me back fairly quickly after my email this morning. He seemed fairly ok with the idea of coughing up but did mention he'd have to run it by his bosses as to who exactly is to blame (council or them) and mentioned the weather causing problems with the road. He asked me what I drive as I suppose the invoice I forwarded is hefty enough but I don't make up the prices, BMW do. I don't think the weather caused the size of the hole but I let it slide until I hear back again.

Sounds like you spoke to the same person I did. I'm also awaiting further feedback after he speaks to his bosses.

I drove through the same lane in a work van today and it was all lovely shiny tarmac. On another note, we dug a similar trench across a heavily trafficced industrial entrance on friday and filled it with 804 - I had a goo this morning and it was also pulled out to a large degree. Identical issue. Wet + traffic + 804 = migration. Difference is people are passing over ours in artics at about 4mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

Hit it in a C Class a few days ago. Some wallop! No obvious damage though

Here's the reply from SDCC anyway - not their problem basically.

Thank you for your message regarding a pothole at Newlands Cross. Notwithstanding the fact that South Dublin County Council is not a party to the works at Newlands Cross, nonetheless the Council has relayed your message to BAM, the contractor for the works and who has responsibility for the road in the vicinity of Newlands Cross. The Council has asked BAM to repair this pothole as a matter of urgency. Please address all correspondence regarding any claim you may wish to make to

I've also noticed that my car has a fairly prominent vibration in the steering at 80km/r + now despite the tracking being done in Fast Fit. The car only has just over 27,000 miles on the clock so this has really annoyed the hell out of me. I won't be letting it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Just a question Mark and Dar, are both your cars on RunFlats ? from the images they look like they are ?

Runflats yep. I know of others with normal tyres that also got blow outs as a result of Newlands last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

dar83 wrote: »
    Sounds like you spoke to the same person I did. I'm also awaiting further feedback after he speaks to his bosses.

Hi lads just see this now I also hit it and done a lot of damage, I sent a PM to Mark.

listermint wrote: »
    Just a question Mark and Dar, are both your cars on RunFlats ? from the images they look like they are ?

Mine is a regular GY Eagle F1. They just have very good sidewalls (thankfully!), but if I had runflats I'd probably be looking at more costs like Mark is.

Claim is now in with the insurance company BAM work with. Total damage was approx €1700 (two wheels and a tyre needed) so I'm waiting for payment at the moment.

BAM were fairly good to deal with in fairness, I can't really complain too much.

I also got a call from them myself on Wednesday looking for copies of my invoice etc...

Have to say I've been so busy with work that I hadn't actually had a chance to follow up with them myself as I thought I would have to, but they followed up with me under their own initiative after my initial phone call to them on the 10th. Very impressed with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Anyone know if the road has been fixed? I came out of Dublin the other day and after reading this before hand I kept an eye out but all was fine that way.

I've to go into Dublin tomorrow morning so if the road is still bad approaching red cow I'll go a diff route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Went through it twice this week (in lane 3 both times) so I can't say for sure that lane 2 is ok, but the road itself seemed grand and didn't notice anything out of the ordinary or people swerving to avoid anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭whowantstwoknow

If I'm not mistaken, BAM fixed the hole that caused the problem inbound to dublin, but its not a problem now as they have re-directed inbound taffic to the right...

W.