Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is it a good idea to to turf as a summer job

• 09-02-2014 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

hello i am a young lad me and my friend were thinking of doing turf on my fathers bog and selling it . what type of money would you be making if we done 40 rows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭newholland

Hard money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

It wont make you rich but if the options there and you have the time why not. Is there a bog around dun na ri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

I think it's a great idea. Provided the turf is good, you should have no bother selling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Why not go footing other people's turf? No investment only your time. Your not worrying about the weather and losing turf and still having to pay the contractor for cutting it. No asking daddy can l borrow the tractor? Whatever money you get goes into your pocket. Work hard and make sure to get paid. You could have repeat custom next year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Muckit wrote: »
    Why not go footing other people's turf? No investment only your time. Your not worrying about the weather and losing turf and still having to pay the contractor for cutting it. No asking daddy can l borrow the tractor? Whatever money you get goes into your pocket. Work hard and make sure to get paid. You could have repeat custom next year.

This. Everyone hates footing turf. Those who don't are deeply suspicious people :p

Seriously though footing turf for other people is the way to go, you're guaranteed what you make. Go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

gadetra wrote: »
    This. Everyone hates footing turf. Those who don't are deeply suspicious people :p
    There is certainly something amiss with people that enjoy the bog :D

moy83 wrote: »
    There is certainly something amiss with people that enjoy the bog :D

*whispers* They're not real people :eek:

*Runs away*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

These young lads need to exploit this. They'll be rich lunnies.:D

Yep, serious amount of summer money to be made there! The only downside being the bog stealing your soul. That is really why bog holes exist-they are bottomless repositories of formally human souls. :eek:

Totally worth it for beer money! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Muckit wrote: »
    These young lads need to exploit this. They'll be rich lunnies.:D

Fair play to any young lads that are willing to get stuck into the bog to turn a pound , they are showing good work ethic . There are plenty useless lads that will be glued to the x box for the summer .
    Its the older lads that have an addiction to turf that I cant fathom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

moy83 wrote: »
    Fair play to any young lads that are willing to get stuck into the bog to turn a pound , they are showing good work ethic . There are plenty useless lads that will be glued to the x box for the summer .
    Its the older lads that have an addiction to turf that I cant fathom

Exactly. It happens the same time as the compulsive collecting of fertilizer bags, bits of twine, electric fence (every fence around our place is made of at least 11 other bits of fence. Minimum.), broken bits off machinery, and rusty nails and staples. It also coincides with a belief that no one can do anything right.

I think it should be classified as a anthropological phenomenon.

Ah aul lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

Turf cutting is illegal in the designated SAC's only, but turf is still cut in these areas unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 dunarihunting

Miname wrote: »
    It wont make you rich but if the options there and you have the time why not. Is there a bog around dun na ri?
    ye we have a bog up in nobber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

ye we have a bog up in nobber
    If you go at it i'll buy a load, it wont take you long with a 40k box to get to me either. price dependant of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Luketie123

Miname wrote: »
    If you go at it i'll buy a load, it wont take you long with a 40k box to get to me either. price dependant of course.

Well I'm dats lads friend ;) and I'm wondering how much would u get for a trailer load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Bersouth

Better to charge by cubic foot as trailers vary in size, lest say 1.50 per cubic foot a 10 by 6 with 4ft rail would cost 360 plus a delivery charge,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Get money before u unload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

milkprofit wrote: »
    Get money before u unload

Was thinking of selling turf this year and was thinking of that same thing when delivering it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We had some over from last year and a local English couple gave my brother €3 a bag collected from the yard. The got 10 bags a week. I know it was only pocket money but every bit helps :)

Base price wrote: »
    We had some over from last year and a local English couple gave my brother €3 a bag collected from the yard. The got 10 bags a week. I know it was only pocket money but every bit helps :)

I do the same to a few lads in dublin

Ours was cut last week and I am looking forward to futting it when it skins over.
    I cannot understand people complaining about working in the bog and I love the peace and quiet when there. I get a great sense of satisfaction from rearing turf, far better than paying nearly a euro a litre for heating oil.

Ours was cut last week and I am looking forward to futting it when it skins over.
    I cannot understand people complaining about working in the bog and I love the peace and quiet when there. I get a great sense of satisfaction from rearing turf, far better than paying nearly a euro a litre for heating oil.

Until the midges appear

Reggie. wrote: »
    Until the midges appear
    A good dose of mozzie repellent keeps them at bay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

I find the saying 'rearing turf' strange. We would 'save' the turf here.

mayota wrote: »
    I find the saying 'rearing turf' strange. We would 'save' the turf here.

We have both sayings around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Luketie123

None of you's hardly want turf footed near ballymachugh virginia kingscort price depends on how much been footed