Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ear to the ground

• 07-02-2014 8:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭

Thanks to Darragh and Ella we'll probably have to get all antibiotics administered by vets by the end of the year.
    Very one sided I thought and Mike Magan was no help either.
    Glad to see they're being slated on twitter as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

rancher wrote: »
    Thanks to Darragh and Ella we'll probably have to get all antibiotics administered by vets by the end of the year.

Was he the farmer on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Didnt see it, had something else going on, will catch up with it later on RTE Player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Reggie. wrote: »
    Was he the farmer on it

Magan was the farmer that was moving away from putting antibiotics in to cows far the dry period,
    The economics of paying a vet €70 to come out to inject a ewe worth maybe €100...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My sentiments too although it is not the first time I have heard this. There was a discussion on RTE radio last Sept/Oct, may have been the Sean O'Rourke show, regarding the high volume of antibiotics in Ireland versus livestock numbers versus other EU member states. From memory we head the table.
    If we had to get the vet to do a call out every time a calf/weanling had a sniffle then we might as well call it quits and lease out the land to some local dairy man who wishes to expand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

it was a bit one sided I thought. Thought Teagasc Ashtown could have contributed. Can't see the practicality of having antibiotics administered by vets though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I also wonder how that section of the programme was perceived by the non farming population. Some of them possibly think that there is wholesale unregulated use of antibiotics and that all milk and meat is contaminated.
    From memory there was no mention of the fact that medicines need to be recorded in herd register, mandatory withdrawal periods etc.

Base price wrote: »
    I also wonder how that section of the programme was perceived by the non farming population. Some of them possibly think that there is wholesale unregulated use of antibiotics and that all milk and meat is contaminated.
    From memory there was no mention of the fact that medicines need to be recorded in herd register, mandatory withdrawal periods etc.

I know you'll say I'm biased but Darragh is not out for the good of farmers

I just watched it there.

Wouldn't agree with vets having to come out to do every job, but was that suggested.

I do agree with a policy of prevention, that is the smarter course of action in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

If there is a problem with resistance is it from

A. the small sheep farmer like me that gets the odd bottle of antibiotics from the vet every now and again, that uses it sparingly, only when an animal is sick and carefully observing withdrawals etc, ?

Or
    B. Large scale intensive units, that feed antibiotics in their animal feed as precautionary measures ?

What we forget is ireland is a tiny country on the world market with extremely high levels of animal welfare, regulation and traceability completing with countries that not have little or no regulation pumping god knows what into their product.??

I just watched it there.

Wouldn't agree with vets having to come out to do every job, but was that suggested.

I do agree with a policy of prevention, that is the smarter course of action in the long run.

Did they not say that farmers were using antibiotics with out supervision,
    I have a neighbour that goes to the doctor everytime that her children gets a cough and demands an antibiotic for the child. Whatever about old people, a child very very seldom gets a lung infection from a cough.
    Surely any medicine we administer couldn't be as irresponsible as that.

I have a neighbour that goes to the doctor everytime that her children gets a cough and demands an antibiotic for the child. Whatever about old people, a child very very seldom gets a lung infection from a cough.

There are parents like that in every village, including mine.

I'll have to give it a watch again. There could be scope there for Teagasc to run short courses on such things as antibiotics/animal health/nutrition. Not as part of a Green Cert etc which is quite involved but just a short course.

There is an issue there, when you think about relatively simple procedures like worm doses and resistance. Some lads just think, fire it into them and they'll be grand. I don't doubt there is a level of the same thinking with antibiotics.

Things like STAP are invaluable for a bit of education IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

had child with doctor today, double ear infection and chest infection, antibiotics needed along with steroids and inhalers . First time at doctors in months .I would prefer to have him on them than not, other child got febrile convulsions from a high temperature . I do not have a medical card , so todays visit cost me 45 euro for doc and 45 for chemist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

If there is a problem with resistance is it from

A. the small sheep farmer like me that gets the odd bottle of antibiotics from the vet every now and again, that uses it sparingly, only when an animal is sick and carefully observing withdrawals etc, ?

Or
    B. Large scale intensive units, that feed antibiotics in their animal feed as precautionary measures ?

What we forget is ireland is a tiny country on the world market with extremely high levels of animal welfare, regulation and traceability completing with countries that not have little or no regulation pumping god knows what into their product.??

You are phrasing question B as if intensive units feed antibiotics constantly in the feed. This is not happening in Ireland at farm level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Antibiotics don't work for a virus, rehydration does.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Antibiotics don't work for a virus, rehydration does.

My neighbour won't accept her doctor telling her that there is no need for an antibiotic....sort of I've paid my money and your not even giving me a prescription.
    , OH is a medical scientist and she said that antibiotics are breaking down big time and we'll have nothing in a few years.
    As you said, throwing antibiotics at a virus.
    We will be paying vets to administer antibiotics yet, but that won't solve it unless humans cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Where the f**k did mcCullough pull that cap out of? !?

Muckit wrote: »
    i said the same, it didnt do him any favours

By the colour of it I'd say his rear end :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

You are phrasing question B as if intensive units feed antibiotics constantly in the feed. This is not happening in Ireland at farm level

Apologies is i wasn't clear enough.
    I was more making the point that I feel the average farmer in this country is very sensible with antibiotic use,and operates under very high standards of traceability and product standards but questioning if the same can be said for the huge scale farms from different parts of the world outside the EU, that are selling their produce in direct competition to our's on the global market.

My neighbour won't accept her doctor telling her that there is no need for an antibiotic....sort of I've paid my money and your not even giving me a prescription.
    , OH is a medical scientist and she said that antibiotics are breaking down big time and we'll have nothing in a few years.
    As you said, throwing antibiotics at a virus.
    We will be paying vets to administer antibiotics yet, but that won't solve it unless humans cop on
    Doctors are fairly fast to prescribe tablets as well they must be in cahoots with the pharmacies a money making racket for both parties :mad: They have most of the population over 50 on 3-16 tablets a day.

Apologies is i wasn't clear enough.
    I was more making the point that I feel the average farmer in this country is very sensible with antibiotic use,and operates under very high standards of traceability and product standards but questioning if the same can be said for the huge scale farms from different parts of the world outside the EU, that are selling their produce in direct competition to our's on the global market.

They were saying on the radio during the week that we're using more antibiotic on our farms than on farms in other countries. I'd bet that other countries aren't declaring whats really being used. There's no farmers in Europe being monitored like we are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

They were saying on the radio during the week that we're using more antibiotic on our farms than on farms in other countries. I'd bet that other countries aren't declaring whats really being used. There's no farmers in Europe being monitored like we are

I would disagree about the monitoring of farmers in Ireland there Rancher. You ain't seen nothing yet. Woman in the office full time with me and 80% of her time is taken up with bullshyte paperwork from Brussels.
    Vets are also monitored as hard.
    And it's in real time -- the minute you get the meds from the vet it goes on his computer --then you must put it immediately on your computer and what it is used for -- Dept. of Ag. then has full access 24hrs to your system. I hope I explained that properly.

Often gone to the vet and couldn't get meds because my records (computer) wouldn't tie in with vets computer. Dept. Computer wouldn't allow the transaction. This applies for a mastitis tube. I really don't like the full access they have to my computer.

Now the Irish Dept of Ag (I find) just want to take money off you with fines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

he would not win a popularity contest. Obviously he doesn't have a notion of the real practice at farm Level. He didn't do our image to the townies any good.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    had child with doctor today, double ear infection and chest infection, antibiotics needed along with steroids and inhalers . First time at doctors in months .I would prefer to have him on them than not, other child got febrile convulsions from a high temperature . I do not have a medical card , so todays visit cost me 45 euro for doc and 45 for chemist.
    Just as a matter of interest did he do a sensitivity test as in did he take a swab, obviously he didn't as you got meds the same day. he should've identified the infection and then prescribed. If he has prescribed the wrong one and then has to go again, and maybe again, a lot of people end up with Asthma from overuse of antibiotics that's the problem,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

Just as a matter of interest did he do a sensitivity test as in did he take a swab, obviously he didn't as you got meds the same day. he should've identified the infection and then prescribed. If he has prescribed the wrong one and then has to go again, and maybe again, a lot of people end up with Asthma from overuse of antibiotics that's the problem,

rancher ur a man of many talents it has to b said

merryberry wrote: »
    rancher ur a man of many talents it has to b said
    That's why I have asthma, experience is a great teacher

Remember how you said you fed the sheep straw, do you have trouble working with hay and straw due to having asthma?

Our young one has it as well, she's 9, but it seems to be under control with the inhaler twice a day.

Remember how you said you fed the sheep straw, do you have trouble working with hay and straw due to having asthma?

Our young one has it as well, she's 9, but it seems to be under control with the inhaler twice a day.

I was along time trying to get the proper inhaler and use to get hell with hay and straw, I use an inhaler called seretide now and it works really well,

with ear infections the temperature gets very high to avoid febrile convulsions he gave him the antibiotics. I am very careful that we dont use the same antibiotic often, what he got yesterday he hasnt had for over a year. We have done the sensitivity test on my daughter while she was hospitalised. In fairness i dont bring them to doc unless they need it as it costs alot of money, try and fix it at home first

sheebadog wrote: »
    I would disagree about the monitoring of farmers in Ireland there Rancher. You ain't seen nothing yet. Woman in the office full time with me and 80% of her time is taken up with bullshyte paperwork from Brussels.
    Vets are also monitored as hard.
    And it's in real time -- the minute you get the meds from the vet it goes on his computer --then you must put it immediately on your computer and what it is used for -- Dept. of Ag. then has full access 24hrs to your system. I hope I explained that properly.

Often gone to the vet and couldn't get meds because my records (computer) wouldn't tie in with vets computer. Dept. Computer wouldn't allow the transaction. This applies for a mastitis tube. I really don't like the full access they have to my computer.

Now the Irish Dept of Ag (I find) just want to take money off you with fines etc.

How do you get away with using Oxytetracycline for 77 days in calves then. surely you're using it as growth promoter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

How do you get away with using Oxytetracycline for 77 days in calves then. surely you're using it as growth promoter

It's legal. No bother with it.
    I've stopped and the calves are none the worse for it.

I've just heard last week that Oxy is going to be controlled a lot from now on. Another weapon taken.

Draza is also going. Buy a pallet.