Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New model skoda octavia RS 2.0TDI 184BHP

• 05-02-2014 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭

Hello all,
    anyone got one of these yet?

Any pros/cons with this new model?

Thanks,
    westlander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I had a spin in a work mates one the other week.

It's a vast improvement on the previous car, rides well, is quiet, great engine, snappy gearchange. The main thing I noticed is that it can now be floored in 2nd without wheelspin. That was a right pain with the older car.

The interior doesn't feel like a huge step up from the previous version in my opinion and looks quite plain. You would need to spend a few quid on options to make it nicer. For some reason it feels like the old car to look out of - angular windows etc.

Overall it's a nice car, I'd be tempted by an estate but only in Green:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I can think of one big problem - and that is the engine - it's powered by devil's fuel:D! I know the petrol is dearer, but you only live once, and 217 bhp is a lot more than 181 bhp. It's weird that the diesel in the Octy is cheaper when the GTD Golf is over 2 grand more expensive than the GTI.

181 hp , should give it 0-100 in what, 7.5 seconds ? not bad .

But TBH the Golf would have a better resale value.

have to say though I'd have to have the DSG because diesels drive far better with an auto, probably due to the extra torque.

180 hp TDI might ( I said might) restore my love for diesel torque. :D

Then again I can't use it on the M9,N7 either way !

I'd probably be more tempted to buy a 2 year old Golf, though can you not get this engine without sports suspension ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

have to say though I'd have to have the DSG because diesels drive far better with an auto, probably due to the extra torque.

I'd probably be more tempted to buy a 2 year old Golf, though can you not get this engine without sports suspension ?

But a gtd golf must have 10 grand on the price of the octavia there over 40k new the octavia is around 30k afaik. The golfs would make more secondhand but that's a big price difference.

Edit: there closer looking in price than I thought about 38k for golf gtd and 33k for the octavia so there's 5k euro in it roughly.

The Golf GTI is only about €1,500 more expensive than the petrol vRS. The GTD is a lot more expensive than the diesel vRS, though - about €5,000 or thereabouts.

And as for the 'diesel torque' comment by Mad Lad, well the petrol has a turbo as well, so will have plenty of torque and 'low down shove' as well for those who have a phobia of using a clutch pedal and gearbox.

But speaking of torque, the petrol has no less than 258 lb ft, the diesel has 280 lb ft, so just 22 lb ft more, but the petrol has 37 extra ponies under the bonnet, that's a lot and the petrol will be a lot faster, and surely that's the point of a hot hatch?

Petrol is more expensive, very limited market secondhand meaning a harder sell or lower priced sell and will cost more to run if you're doing anything more than swanning around town. To be honest I think the diesel suits the Mark 3 just fine - it's not really the car you'd go for if you want to attack a back road on a Sunday morning (the smaller bodied cars will drive better) and the engine is probably one of the best of its kind.

I don't think you would feel short changed with it for the money but an Octavia is a more useful lump than a hot hatch.

Plus the fact the OP is asking specifically about the diesel which as usual has gone over peoples heads here.

And as for the 'diesel torque' comment by Mad Lad, well the petrol has a turbo as well, so will have plenty of torque and 'low down shove' as well for those who have a phobia of using a clutch pedal and gearbox.

But speaking of torque, the petrol has no less than 258 lb ft, the diesel has 280 lb ft,

258 lbs is pretty good, but we're not going to start a hp v torque debate, jaysus I couldn't bear it.

But petrols do seem to be getting better in the torque category.
    so just 22 lb ft more, but the petrol has 37 extra ponies under the bonnet, that's a lot and the petrol will be a lot faster, and surely that's the point of a hot hatch?

Yes that's the whole point ! :D

258 lbs is pretty good, but we're not going to start a hp v torque debate, jaysus I couldn't bear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

What about the Seat FR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

We got one in last year for a customer to test (ordered, due March hopefully) so after he'd finished with it, myself and my collegue put it through it's paces on the back roads around here.

He was driving first, jumped in headed off - first thing out of his mouth was "fcuk me, that's proper quick" - his daily is a MKV GTi, and I think that says a lot.

Power delivery is a huge improvement over the previous vRS Tdi, as MuppetCheck said. The roads were slightly damp, and in those sort of conditions the previous model would spin up in 3rd gear no issues, but this had to be provoked to spin in 2nd.

Biggest dissapointment were the seats. They look epic (Audi RS Style), but aren't anywhere near as supportive as you'd think they would be.

Don't get me wrong, they're not bad seats at all, it's just the reality is a lot less special than the looks.

Lead times on new models are getting worse. The one I have on order was ordered 18th November and might just make it for the 21st March changeover date. Think they've got worse since then too, so ordered now it may just be available for a 142 Plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Remapped vrs TDI = Fastest car in the world

FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I'd agree, DSG boxes are better suited to diesel's than manuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The estate is white is definitely a better looker than the hatch:

media?xwm=y&id=92110cc6-4469-4a30-a925-85b92be2c99b&width=400&height=300
    media?xwm=y&id=c7e29587-142a-4407-a52e-413f17ab2c0a&width=400&height=300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

bazz26 wrote: »
    What about the Seat FR?

I'd go with the 184bhp Leon Estate, fine looking car and cheaper than the Skoda too with same engine/ platform etc. Makes the GTD look really over-priced

It's worth paying the few quid extra for the black 18's or 19's as they look way better on the car. The 18's in particular are quite a cheap option as it comes with 18's anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Sorry, but that's a seriously horrible looking car.

It's worth paying the few quid extra for the black 18's or 19's as they look way better on the car. The 18's in particular are quite a cheap option as it comes with 18's anyway.

Yeah but you fell every crack in the road, not for Irish roads.

VW are really ripping off with the GTD. Is it more expensive in the UK too or are they just cashing in on the Irish cheaptaxitus?

Yeah but you fell every crack in the road, not for Irish roads.

Suspension has come a long way since 18 inch wheels meant a broken back.

What did you think of it on 18's? I thought it was very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

One of the lads on autostadt picked one up last week... good pics of it here:
    http://www.autostadt.ie/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=9305

As for the GTD/GTI, I was told by VW Ireland that pre-tax, the GTI is now much cheaper than the GTD, and now that the emissions are so much lower in the petrol MK7, it means that the GTI undercuts the GTD. I don't fully understand it myself, because in the UK the GTD is marginally cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

I thinks its far from an ugly car. I do like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

To my eyes that thing has all the style of a fridge freezer.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Its kind of upsetting that a modern 2l turbo diesel with a simple remap would spank my 2.5l 6 cylinder petrol :pac:

conzy wrote: »
    Its kind of upsetting that a modern 2l turbo diesel with a simple remap would spank my 2.5l 6 cylinder petrol :pac:

It might do on paper, but there is no comparison between a four cylinder rattlebox diesel and a sweet sounding silky smooth six cylinder petrol engine. Even ordinary four cylinder petrols offer a much nicer driving experience than a diesel if you're not afraid of using the clutch pedal and gearbox.

pajo1981 wrote: »

To my eyes that thing has all the style of a fridge freezer.
    I kind of agree, wouldn't be a fan at all.
    I'd still rather drive the 6 cylinder.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Tea 1000 wrote: »

I'd still rather drive the 6 cylinder.

Oh me too, I was just commenting more from a technological point of few.. Same way the new F1 engines are "impressive" but they are just not the same as their older higher cylinder count / displacement relatives...

Suspension has come a long way since 18 inch wheels meant a broken back.

What did you think of it on 18's? I thought it was very comfortable.

I didn't drive it, but I would have assumed 18's 19's would be far more uncomfortable than 16 17's ?

I haven't driven a modern VAG car since my brothers 12 A6 but he has the sports suspension on 18's which I find a tad bit too firm on my roads.

Having said that, you're right, at least where Audi is concerned, their suspensions are far better than the crashy suspensions of old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Skoda Irelands press car is particularly alluring :)

BfG3FVdIEAEngaG.jpg

BfFdzU-IYAEUP5C.jpg

Images courtesy of @lordhumphreys on twitter

I don't think red suits it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

They trying to make it look like the new mustang an fords website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

d91209d15727dbbd37f16b59328bb0845cc01412710f2f3e6aba532ba3c8537f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭westlander

Thanks for all replies!

I think there isnt much difference between this new 184 lump and the 170bhp CR engine thats in the 2009 cars (audi a5 for example)...except the extra few ponies.

Think its the same engine. I think in the newer audi a5 model they changed the gear ratios and this also made a difference to the drive. Maybe skoda have done the same.

I wonder do the these new skodas have the control arm set up....ony 1 way too find out I suppose and that is call in for a look.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

westlander wrote: »
    Thanks for all replies!

I think there isnt much difference between this new 184 lump and the 170bhp CR engine thats in the 2009 cars (audi a5 for example)...except the extra few ponies.

Think its the same engine. I think in the newer audi a5 model they changed the gear ratios and this also made a difference to the drive. Maybe skoda have done the same.

I wonder do the these new skodas have the control arm set up....ony 1 way too find out I suppose and that is call in for a look.:)

Friend of mine had a vrs 170cr for two years, He bought a new 184, I spoke with himand he ia=sked me if I would like ot take it for a drive. I said no thank, that is waht garages have demos form as I would not allow anyone to drive my cars.
    Anyhow i aske him how did it feel power wise compared to the 170.
    He smiled and asked "What power difference"

He said it felt the same.

So basically I am with him and cannot imagine how 10 hp and a couple of lbs torque can make any difference to be honest,
    If there is a difference in power delivery then it must be down to mapping. Which again can be altered with a DTUK box which will show these results.
    232bhp and 500nm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

RedorDead wrote: »
    Skoda Irelands press car is particularly alluring :)

BfG3FVdIEAEngaG.jpg

BfFdzU-IYAEUP5C.jpg

Images courtesy of @lordhumphreys on twitter

I like the front end but the back end doesn't look right in the last picture. Is there a spoiler at the back?

The blue or white for me I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Moocow100

I looked for one in Deasys in cork 15 week wait minimum and with any extras like the keyless and glass roof + towbar 500 euro it s up to 37500 euro . I don't like the lines of the boot by the license plate though .