Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF and FG to slug it out over Olympic boxer Kenny Egan

• 05-02-2014 10:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

I see Kenny Egan has been approached by FG to stand in the upcoming local elections by Frances Fitzgerald.

Senior party figures believe they can deliver a blow to their rivals by convincing the talented boxer to run as a Fianna Fail candidate.

Party strategists are desperately seeking a second candidate to run in the Clondalkin ward and privately believe Egan would be more attracted to Fianna Fail.

The party's director of elections in Dublin, John Curran, knows Mr Egan personally and has considered making a formal approach.

"John knows Kenny personally and certainly we would jump at the chance of him running for us, he'd top the poll, that's for sure," said a senior source.

Egan last night confirmed that he is still considering his options and is holding discussions with his supporters.

However, Fine Gael sources last night dismissed any attempts by Fianna Fail to win over the sportsman and insisted he will run under its party banner in May.

"Kenny is firmly in the blue corner, make no mistake about it. That's nothing short of waffle coming from the Fianna Failers," a minister told the Irish Independent.

Egan (32) has yet to declare but admitted last week that he had been formally approached by Children's Minister Frances Fitzgerald.

Tony Delaney is Fine Gael's only sitting councillor in Clondalkin, however, he has indicated to the party that he intends to step down.

The news prompted Ms Fitzgerald and other local Fine Gael figures to contact Egan about the prospect of running for the party.

Ms Fitzgerald has held a number of "positive conversations" with Egan in recent weeks and is understood to be confident that he will agree to be a party candidate.

Some figures within Fine Gael have suggested that Egan could be in line for a Seanad seat if he impresses as a councillor.

I don't know if Kenny Egan has any experience as a councillor (he doesn't that I know off).

Does this amount to parish pump politics, or would Egan be the right man for a role as a local election councillor? (possibly senator too)?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ff-to-slug-it-out-with-fine-gael-over-egan-29980519.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It's the local elections so of course it's parish pump politics. That's what local elections are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Well he is a well known womanizing, porn addicted alcoholic who has received thousands of damaging blows to the head. I say he is the perfect person for public office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

I think we should throw in the towel on this story.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Jaysus... what does that say bout the other members of their parties in the area? They seem to be just going to Egan for the celebrity factor. Then again, the article reads like a gossip column so wouldn't be too sure on how seriously to take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Well there's already Sean Kelly in Europe and Eamon Coghlan in the Seanad coming up with all kinds of moronic ideas about how the Irish government should censor/control the whole internet. That other lad in the Dail who used to manage the Galway hurling team was at it too.

FG seem to love recruiting amateur sportsmen to put into office, regardless of whether or not they've two brain cells to rub together.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

And has anyone asked how being fit and good at hitting other similarly fit people qualifies you to be a politician

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Please let me vote for somone who wants to go for election but hasn't been told what to believe in yet.
    FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Sounds on the one hand like he has little or no political convictions, though to be fair FG and FF are essentially the same party politically.

It does show FG and FF up for what they are. They'll take on someone with a famous name or family connections before they look inside their own party for a suitable candidate. Kenny going for an outsider in Pat Cox for president being a perfect example. It seems FG are of the opinion that they have nobody from within the party fit to run as councillor in the area. Sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Red Kev wrote: »
    ] It seems FG are of the opinion that they have nobody from within the party fit to run as councillor in the area. Sad really.
    There's not enough party members left. Most have been given seats on quangos, appointed as judges or been given positions in semi-state or public services already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Red Kev wrote: »
    Sounds on the one hand like he has little or no political convictions, though to be fair FG and FF are essentially the same party politically.

It does show FG and FF up for what they are. They'll take on someone with a famous name or family connections before they look inside their own party for a suitable candidate. Kenny going for an outsider in Pat Cox for president being a perfect example. It seems FG are of the opinion that they have nobody from within the party fit to run as councillor in the area. Sad really.

Sinn Fein would be quite popular in that area also, though as you alluded to above, they are essentially the same party; who also both have very little in the way of political conviction bar making sure they get re-elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Uganda's Idi Amin was a former boxing champion who went into politics. Based on this, we can conclude that an elected Kenny Egan will:

. Gain a reputation for cannibalism;

. Expel all non-national Asians;

. Have five wives and forty children;

. Declare himself King of Scotland;

. Order the public execution of his political enemies.

It should liven the local elections up a bit, if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

And has anyone asked how being fit and good at hitting other similarly fit people qualifies you to be a politician

Well, how does it invalidate one from becoming a politician?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

I see Kenny Egan has been approached by FG to stand in the upcoming local elections by Frances Fitzgerald.

I don't know if Kenny Egan has any experience as a councillor (he doesn't that I know off).

Does this amount to parish pump politics, or would Egan be the right man for a role as a local election councillor? (possibly senator too)?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ff-to-slug-it-out-with-fine-gael-over-egan-29980519.html

You just took my threadhttp://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057138046

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The party political game in this country, the FF v FG charade, decrees that winning the seat and gaining power is everything. They'd put a chimpanzee up for election if they thought he'd get votes.

Nothing against Kenny Egan but it's difficult to see what abilities or qualifications he would bring to the role other than being a minor celebrity who will bring in votes because he's at least more recognisable than yer man in the grey suit beside him.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    The party political game in this country, the FF v FG charade, decrees that winning the seat and gaining power is everything. They'd put a chimpanzee up for election if they thought he'd get votes.

As opposed to the likes of the Socialist Party? They'd run Joe Higgins in The Voice if they could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

c_man wrote: »
    Well, how does it invalidate one from becoming a politician?

It doesn't, but on the other hand I'm not familiar with Kenny Egans political views. I don't recall him making any political speeches/statements in the past.

Has be been deemed an appropriate political figure based merely on the wow factor of being a minor celebrity from Clondalkin, recognised by locals as a decent boxer?

Surely if he was politically motivated he would have approached a political party by now, rather than being enticed (senators seat awaiting him) by a politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

tin79 wrote: »
    Well he is a well known womanizing, porn addicted alcoholic.

Really???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭ebbsy

As opposed to the likes of the Socialist Party? They'd run Joe Higgins in The Voice if they could.

Joe Higgins at least has half a brain in his head, as opposed to most of the local and national reps who do not have a clue what they are doing. There needs to be more clever people chosen.

Kenny Egan ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

ebbsy wrote: »
    Joe Higgins at least has half a brain in his head, as opposed to most of the local and national reps who do not have a clue what they are doing. There needs to be more clever people chosen.

Kenny Egan ? :D

Well there's already Sean Kelly in Europe and Eamon Coghlan in the Seanad coming up with all kinds of moronic ideas about how the Irish government should censor/control the whole internet. That other lad in the Dail who used to manage the Galway hurling team was at it too.

FG seem to love recruiting amateur sportsmen to put into office, regardless of whether or not they've two brain cells to rub together.

Can't comment on Coughlan but Seán Kelly seems to be the only MEP taking the bid to make Ireland a member of CERN seriously. He was also the only Fine Gael MEP to vote against a conservative motion to send an important report on reproductive rights and LGBT health back to committee (i.e. he voted in favour of the report along with Labour & Socialist MEPs, as opposed to the right wing conservative lobby who campaigned for, and sadly succeeded in, blocking the report by sending it back).

A former sportsman he may be but from what I've read about him he seems to be one of the better MEPs we have.

Has be been deemed an appropriate political figure based merely on the wow factor of being a minor celebrity from Clondalkin, recognised by locals as a decent boxer?

Most likely imo. Still, it shouldn't be up to me or you to decide who can or can't run in an election. Off with him and let the people decide.
    It doesn't, but on the other hand I'm not familiar with Kenny Egans political views. I don't recall him making any political speeches/statements in the past.

Meh, same with most newcomers, from all parties, to elections here in Galway at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

So far as I know, Kenny Egan is a committed Social Democrat, but one who has adopted many neo-Marxist ideas and integrated them into a more Swedish -style Social/Progressive approach to governance. One suspects that Kenny has confined his reading to the more conventional side of the Political and Economic spectrum, and is probably a supply-sider with monetarist leanings. I base this assumption on his reported support for Ireland continuing in the Eurozone, while insisting on Irish retention of tax sovereignty.He has clearly been influenced by Keynes, but I would not be at all surprised if he is also an admirer of Friedman. Socially i would expect him to lean to a more liberal stance on social issues, and while his stance on gay rights is unclear, as a man who makes a living while stripped to the waist and dressed in shiny shorts, he is likely to be fairly pro rather than anti-gay, as well as a convinced feminist.Even if he does not win a seat on this occasion, he can rest assured that he would be capable of batin" the bleedin' head off his opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

For all his flaws, Higgins has actual views and opinions, rather than just "sure it'll be grand."
    Can't comment on Coughlan but Seán Kelly seems to be the only MEP taking the bid to make Ireland a member of CERN seriously. He was also the only Fine Gael MEP to vote against a conservative motion to send an important report on reproductive rights and LGBT health back to committee (i.e. he voted in favour of the report along with Labour & Socialist MEPs, as opposed to the right wing conservative lobby who campaigned for, and sadly succeeded in, blocking the report by sending it back).

A former sportsman he may be but from what I've read about him he seems to be one of the better MEPs we have.

Not to mention being one of the few Irish politicians to have past experience of running a huge organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

He hasn't a clue about anything. Very uninspiring.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/02/11/standing-count/

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

he's running in my constituency, I hope he comes to visit my house to tell me all about his political views and excellent plans for the area.

I'm probably going to vote for Gino Kenny, whenever I see his posters I feel sorry for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

He hasn't a clue about anything. Very uninspiring.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/02/11/standing-count/

He comes across as an emptyhead. Very aggressive too. And you can tell someone prompted him to tell him to say that he was for gay marriage.

Can't see him lasting very long in politics.