Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On High Alert for thieves..

• 04-02-2014 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

Another thief in the local area,3rd this week,Tractor stolen on Saturday night,Quad Sunday and a Trailer today, in the North Leitrim area.

I have everything locked up but nobody around the house all day, these people used an Oxi settling set to burn a padlock on the shed of the man who got his tractor robbed. Anyone any ideas on to deter them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Another thief in the local area,3rd this week,Tractor stolen on Saturday night,Quad Sunday and a Trailer today, in the North Leitrim area.

I have everything locked up but nobody around the house all day, these people used an Oxi settling set to burn a padlock on the shed of the man who got his tractor robbed. Anyone any ideas on to deter them?
    very little will deter lads that are set up to rob something unless you confront them in the act with backup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

set up text watch in the area

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=75

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

A good dog is the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

A trail camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Be insured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭vermin99

I have a uncle electrician so it might be a bit cheaper. Got one put in about 2 years ago great yoke.its like a very strong halogen light mounted on a shed wallwhen it goes dark it lights up the place like a Christmas tree. You can also get ones that light up when it senses motion .although the normal one only takes a bulb once a year and for 20 quid well worth it.if there's one thing a thief don't like is going into open light. Also a sign saying "beware of the dog" can also work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

A dog is a great deterent. But not a little one, I have a labrador/collie he is a big fella. Very friendly if you are known to him but if you are a stranger watch out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I've a big boxer in the yard, he's harmless but when he barks at new people he sort of growls and bares his teeth. Every one is scared of him. That's what ye want. Soon as someone comes into the yard they bark. And a big long length of a chain so he can scare the **** out of them then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Same kinda stuff being robbed here in W cavan quads, trailers tractors ect ect all them kinda stealing had eased of there until a (VERY) prominent criminal has returned to the area. All i can say is if they want it they WILL take it so be well insured and have a tracker fitted to valuable goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭IrishLad2012

vermin99 wrote: »
    I have a uncle electrician so it might be a bit cheaper. Got one put in about 2 years ago great yoke.its like a very strong halogen light mounted on a shed wallwhen it goes dark it lights up the place like a Christmas tree. You can also get ones that light up when it senses motion .although the normal one only takes a bulb once a year and for 20 quid well worth it.if there's one thing a thief don't like is going into open light. Also a sign saying "beware of the dog" can also work
    Thats the problem around here,the fu**ers stole them in broad daylight.

loveta wrote: »
    Same kinda stuff being robbed here in W cavan quads, trailers tractors ect ect all them kinda stealing had eased of there until a (VERY) prominent criminal has returned to the area. All i can say is if they want it they WILL take it so be well insured and have a tracker fitted to valuable goods.

Do you know where someone would get one of them trackers?best make and that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Do you know where someone would get one of them trackers?best make and that.

done deal, the journal, ebay, they really are common now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I'd put up a few cctv cameras, there are affordable ones on the market, plaster the place in 'CCTV Camera' signs.
    Intersperse the odd dummy camera with real ones so they won't know which is which.
    There are combined spotlight/cameras you can get that turn on a light and take a pic as they're doing so...think they might be around the 100 yoyo mark.

I know there are cute lads that will cover their faces, but add a few beware of the dog signs and a dog, make it hard for the fcukers. Lock up or get rid of loose gear that might look interesting to 'have you any oul scrap?' types.

Lock up wheelbarrows you're not using, they can make use of them to draw out stuff. I know of a lad that got robbed, they used his own wheelbarrow to take gear out where a car was waiting.

Lock up power tools etc., learned of a fella not too far away from me who found his own stolen power tool, plus a load more, being sold by an individual on Done Deal. I'd say a share of tools at car boots would want to be handled with oven gloves, don't encourage the trade.

Don't entertain door-to-door salemen of anything, esp. tools/gates and leave them look around, nothing good came sold that way. If you want to buy something, buy in a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

loveta wrote: »

you wouldn't be based in Quinn country, by any chance? Heard lately that a lad from the "smoke" was out of jail again. Has two eastern European's for muscle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

A good dog or two around the yard are worth having.
    Keep them well and you have the best friends too.
    I was in a yard in Russia (Garage ) a few years ago that let a tiger patrol at night. They had no trouble with robbery :D

A British Friesian bull would hammer a job on a Transit I suppose. Trouble with a dog on a long chain, they just park the wheel of the van on the chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I saw a lad on done deal that got a tractor or digger stolen I can't remember about two weeks ago. He had a tracker on the mechine but by the look of the add he couldn't get it back whether it was broke up or sum thing it don't know. He was slating your man he know who had it and all. Limerick direction. Be no harm post up anything that gets stole off of farms up here big things like quads, tractors, trailers ect. Many eyes may catch one or two of these fuc#ers. (If that's ok mod)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

dogs are good but they can be poisoned easily. and theses guys woulldnt bat an eyelid, at having to do it.
    community text alert sounds a good deal. but since when do ordinary people have to do the work of the guards, on behalf of the judges and lawyers that let this scum out just so they can keep the free legal aid money go round in operation. I understand that the judges lawyers and other parasites of the irish justice have hoilday homes in marbella and bulgaria to pay for but the needs of many for an accountable justice system should outweigh their villa costs in tuscany.

Anyway you should take note of strange cars in the area. take numberplate (probably fake) and type of car. also the occupants a description of some sort.
    However they can have disguise for cameras
    they can have phone jammers for alarms
    they can bypass electrics for alarms.
    they have bolt cutters for locks.

only thing is to keep everything under lock and key and hope for the best, cos if they really want it, theyll get it, no thanks to their best buddies the lawyers and judges.

Most of these guys are opportunists, they rock up when they spot an open gate while people are away at mass or something, they want to work away without getting confronted. There's probably little you can do about the hardened specialists tbh only keep everything locked down and keep the eyes open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Miname wrote: »
    A good dog is the best option.

Dog is priceless. Woke Us one night and their car was on back lane ready to make a quick exit. When they seen lights in house they fled. thanks to the dogs they got nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Mains Fence on the gate going into the yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

A lock only keeps an honest man out.Most robbers are brazen bast**ds house around here that was robbed was not far off been finished.One of them was working cement mixer while others robbed the house anybody driving by would just think it was workers in it.

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Mains Fence on the gate going into the yard

That's an idea, people from non-farming backgrounds are petrified of electric fences!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

A gang was going around Clare last Tuesday stealing Catalytic Converters from 4x4's parked in public places. They did 5 jeeps in a few hours. Apparently they just slide in under the jeeps, because they are high enough, and will have it cut out in a matter of minutes. There is precious metals in the CAT that fetch a few quid. So be aware. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

A gang was going around Clare last Tuesday stealing Catalytic Converters from 4x4's parked in public places. They did 5 jeeps in a few hours. Apparently they just slide in under the jeeps, because they are high enough, and will have it cut out in a matter of minutes. There is precious metals in the CAT that fetch a few quid. So be aware. :mad:

ya heard about that too. Its platinum and something else in them. Supposedly whats in them is worth more than gold :D

A gang was going around Clare last Tuesday stealing Catalytic Converters from 4x4's parked in public places. They did 5 jeeps in a few hours.

There is something fcuking seriously lacking in legislation in the buying of metals by the scrapyards from anyone who rocks up with a trailer or van of stuff, obtained legally or otherwise. :mad: I suppose nothing will happen until they strip the lead off the roof of some minister's gaff or Leinster House.

That's the problem. scrapyards never ask, I scrapped a car there last year, it was driveable but had a lot of engine problems, I drove it to the scrapyard, they never asked if it was my car, didn't ask to see the Taxbook or nothing, just paid me and gave me a receipt.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I said wrote: »
    A lock only keeps an honest man out.Most robbers are brazen bast**ds house around here that was robbed was not far off been finished.One of them was working cement mixer while others robbed the house anybody driving by would just think it was workers in it.

Ah but you need two locks, a dummy lock and a concealed real lock. You'd need to be handy with the welder to make this:
    Behind the dummy lock have a hasp that drops down inside the door onto a pipe with a no6 inside pointing at their feet. I'll leave you work out the dimensions and legalities yourselves.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Nekarsulm wrote: »

They might need a change of Pampers when that goes off.:D

As an earlier poster aluded to crime is actually facilited in this country - it is an industry all of it's own thanks to free legal aid. I have it on good authority that certain practising beneficiaries of the scheme have been known to gift their more regular clients at Christmas with bottles of whiskey. It's a profitable business to be in. Like many other facets of the Irish State all is not what it should be.

Knowing this country, they'd probably sue you for hearing loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

AFAIK you need a gun license for those here in the Republic.

Not legal here AFAIK
    I know black powder is not available in the republic, nor indeed is it possible to legally reload your own ammunition here.

Remarkably similar to the spring latch on an Ifor Williams sheep deck.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Now that would stop a thief.
    Would need to brief regular visitors to the farm about it.
    I know a man who had gates stolen from his yard. After that he electrified the main gate going into the yard but forgot to tell his friend about it. He called in one night to check a cow that was due for calfing and got a nazty shock trying to open the gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Not legal here AFAIK
    I know black powder is not available in the republic, nor indeed is it possible to legally reload your own ammunition here.

They use shortened 12ga blanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

How about one of these
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantrap

Local forge has one up on the wall, it was used for poachers in olden times

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Not legal here AFAIK

Remarkably similar to the spring latch on an Ifor Williams sheep deck.......

I feel a bit of guntering coming on.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I feel a bit of guntering coming on.:D

Go on ya know ya want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Id love to set up a pitfall trap for them covered with leaves, when ye have them just fill it in!!

Reggie. wrote: »
    Go on ya know ya want to

I wouldn't recommend you post the results up here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Id love to set up a pitfall trap for them covered with leaves, when ye have them just fill it in!!

Drop in a little slurry or muck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Phone rings -
    "Ya, who is it?"
    " Kev, here. I'm after falling in the fooking pit,....forgot all about it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Back to the sensible question asked by the OP.

Dogs, for sure.

Coupled with a few strategically placed high resolution (Number Plate and Face recogniser quality in court of law) cameras that are set to record on movement and send their pictures up to a web- based file store every time they record movement.

That way, the dogs will distract the scroats for long enough that they will have to show their faces, and if they scarper, as most of the cowards will do when they face a couple of drooling Dobermen, their fizzogs will be sitting on a server in belgium for you to send to the Polis at your leisure.

Cost:
    1) Dogs ??
    2) Camera and setup: Less that a grand once off, and ought tosignificantly reduce yer insurance premium.
    3) A s&^tload of signs telling the scroats that yer place is mined, dogged and recorded, so move on lads!:cool:

Dogs can be poisoned
    Balaclavas can be worn, number plates can be changed.
    Signs can be ignored.

please remember you are dealing with scum, and they do scummy things.

Best of all the recommendations I saw here was the community wide alert text system.
    Another option would be to have shotgun close to hand. As you saw yesterday the scum shot at another cop.
    Another one could be independent security. doing rounds of rural areas at night,
    Farmers and businesses pay into a kitty and this security guy drives around all night. And notes all cars in areas and alerts police if he notices anything suspicious.
    Or pay one of the local criminals protection money. ( Im not joking, its easy money for him and he may pass on info that this area is not to be targeted, maybe) but can you trust a tick not to suck blood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Ridiculous reply in anything approaching a law abiding society.

My advice still stands, as realistic and reasonable. This "Die Hard With A Vengeance" crap simply does not stand up!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Just in case anyone takes some of the obviously tongue-in-cheek 'advice' above seriously, here's some pertinent information:

1. In Ireland, firearms are licensed SOLELY for the purposes of hunting or target shooting. Using a licensed firearm for any other purpose breaches the terms of the Firearm Certificate and is treated very seriously by the Gardaí and the DPP.
    In the eyes of the our legal system, the defence of your person/family/home/property is NOT a valid reason for the possession of a firearm, and any hint that a firearm may be intended for such a purpose will result in the refusal of a Firearm Certificate Application or the revocation of an existing Firearm Certificate.

2. Keeping a licensed firearm "handy" demonstrates a degree of planning and perhaps even an intention to 'lie-in-wait' that will weigh very heavily against the Certificate holder should they find themselves before the courts.
    This goes double for getting creative with home-brewed 'less-lethal' ammunition!

3. Noise-maker devices of the type mentioned previously require the possession of a Firearm Certificate for the ammunition.
    Given the all-encompassing nature of the Firearms Acts, the device itself almost certainly requires a Firearm Certificate too.

4. Booby-traps are flat out illegal!

[MOD]

Let's stick to legal solutions, huh?

[/MOD]

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    Ridiculous reply in anything approaching a law abiding society.

My advice still stands, as realistic :eek:and reasonable. This "Die Hard With A Vengeance" crap simply does not stand up!!

Well go ahead and pick apart everything ive said.
    There is nothing die hard fantasy about it. maybe the gun part ok.

You say a law abiding society..... If you mean a society that tolerates repeat offenders that learn their trade from the cradle and graduate skills from the finishing schools of young offenders institutions, then ok its a law abiding society.

But just remember scum dont follow the rules of law,
    if they did the elderly guy from clare who lived on his own wouldnt have had to cycle 20 miles to check hi,mself into a care home to get away from the scumbags who robbed and beat him.
    Dogs can be poisoned
    Balaclavas can be worn, number plates can be changed.
    Signs can be ignored.
    Ive forgot to add jammers are used as well to stop mobile signals from going out.

You make a mistake that scum 1 scum think like you. they dont. 2 scum are stupid. They are not stupid.

By all means use those solutions that you gave, but i am after giving realistic ways of bypassing them.