Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group Buy - What would you like included?

• 02-02-2014 11:45pm

Howdy gents (and ladies, if there are any),

In the last group buy thread, we're currently discussing a potential new group buy. The thread is here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057104915

After mild discussion and interest in a particular wax (in the 'Today I did' thread, I think it would be good to, by default, include Collinite 845 Liquid Insulator Wax (Priced at €20.95).

But following, what can only be described (in an exaggerated way) as uproar and fury by one moronic member (me :o), a poll was decided upon, to see what other users, in general, would like included.

Unfortunately, I can't figure out how a poll would work on this occasion, as there are so many various products, so I thought it'd be good for people to throw out random suggestions of products they'd like to see in this group buy (or indeed, in any future buy) and also propose a rough price that they'd be happy to shell out for it (possibly in March).

To keep things somewhat realistic, we'll set a minimum price of €40 that you have to be willing to pay for it (as that was the price of the last one, and we got three excellent products for that price). And a max of €100 (to keep it within reach for most people). We'll then use an average price to work out what other items to include.

So, as I'm starting the thread, I'll kick off and say I'd like to see some generic accessories in there along the way. They're the kind of things I'd never really buy on their own but always find myself needing (and forget to add to orders all the time! :o ).

Things like A Grit Guard or A Bottle And Sprayer are the kind of things that are always worth having around the place as you'll always use them, but, for me personally, anyway, I always find myself needing more of (i only have one guard, and one spare bottle).

They're relatively inexpensive, too, so they help to pad out the GB a bit (and it's always fun opening packages with something you can play around with there and then, rather than opening it and putting your wax straight onto a shelf to use a couple of weeks later).

I'd also be happy to shell out around €60 or so. A manageable amount that won't hit me hard (and personally, as I tend to collect stuff off Curran as he's not too far, leaves me a bit of breathing space to add to the group buy, incase there's anything else I want to get off him at the same time).

But that's just me.

Anyone any suggestions of their own? :)

We're using http://www.DetailingShed.com/

How much would you be willing to spend on a GB 19 votes

€40 or less
    0% 0 votes
    €50
    5% 1 vote
    €60
    52% 10 votes
    €70
    36% 7 votes
    €80
    0% 0 votes
    €90
    5% 1 vote
    €100 or more
    0% 0 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

2 grit guards a bottle and drying towel would do wonders for me, so i shall be keeping an eye on this thread

Should also add, this was the proposed group buy (which ye can also opt in favour of) :
    vectra wrote: »
    Possibly this ?
    Would have to get the OK from the mods here first though.

Can be changed if needs be
    can also possibly be split in two
    Wheels / bodywork.

OAC Wheel Cleanse - 9.95
    Chemical Guys Wheel Gerbil - 12.95
    Tar Cleanse - 15.95
    CG's Medium Clay Bar 100g - 10.95 (not on the site but can get it in)
    Luber - 9.95
    COLLINITE 845 LIQUID INSULATOR WAX - 20.95
    OAC Glitz - 13.95
    CG's Signature Glass Cleaner - 9.95

€104.60 is the total there!
    + €7.95 delivery = €112.55
    Call it €90

Maybe a possible budget choice? I'm stone broke at the minute but that could be useful to most of us on here and then something like vectras post for people who can afford that

As a poll? Could be handy alright.

Would you be happy to start pricing at €40, though? (which is really €50, if you have to add postage)

As a poll? Could be handy alright.

Would you be happy to start pricing at €40, though? (which is really €50, if you have to add postage)

Yeah sounds good to me! I had a bigger budget but other issues came up, if you seen :o

Just added the poll. Also made it private (none of anyone's business who else can or can't afford what). I think that's fair :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Voted,
    Price doesnt bother me once I get a deal on the products I want.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Maybe a bucket or two as the ones I have are not very effective I think they are too wide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Money wouldn't be a problem here. My buckets are too wide too, got them in Halfords before I got the grit yoke.

I got the tar, wheel and iron deal that was on DS before Christmas. I must buy a snow foamer too!

Will follow this thread.

Do DetailingShed sell buckets? (cant check at the moment)?

If not, as I'd imagine they'd be incredibly awkward to post out to people, tesco do a mean bucket for €4.50 (usually marked at €2.50 on the shelves, but always scans at €4.50). It's black and usually in the car care aisle.

Get one more than you need though. They're a grand bucket, but if you land if on an awkward or sharp object it's done for. They break fairly easily. But if you're handy with them they'll last forever.

Detailingshed did a deal on 2 buckets and other items before Christmas as fasr as I am aware.

I must question this with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I'm trying to stay out of the group buy thread after blowing my DA budget last week.

TBH, I've got most of what's there or something very similar, so for that reason...I'm out.

Has anyone else got anything to add at all?

Probably should have just left you to it, Vectra. My apologies for sticking my nose in! :o

LOL
    Welcome to the club,

Couild be something in the pipepline.

Under discussion at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭west cork lad

A group buy of umbrellas. Every since I got the drying towel it hasn't stopped raining. ;-P

How about a group buy of Carcoons LOL

vectra wrote: »
    How about a group buy of Carcoons LOL

Had to Google that. They look class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Lads, just a heads up that there is a possible group buy in motion for a set of wheel woolies on irishmotoring if anyone wants to head over and put your name down. they look like a great purchase

Mc Love wrote: »
    Lads, just a heads up that there is a possible group buy in motion for a set of wheel woolies on irishmotoring if anyone wants to head over and put your name down. they look like a great purchase

Just stuck my head over and will likely put my name down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Mc Love wrote: »

You got a link to it?

Click my sig.