Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ursus C-385..What to do?

• 02-02-2014 6:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25

Well lads have an old ursus as mentioned above, its in average condition..has been sitting up for last 5 months as a result of a new tractor.Rear tyres are as good as new, goes great when its going.
    She's 2wd, some glass missing, we cant start at all, not even by jump starting it.
    Just a waste of space at the moment.
    Just wondering what some of ye lads would recommend doing with it in terms of selling it, for example selling it as it is? or giving it to a mechanic so he can get it starting?
    Just thinking about putting it on donedeal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭John J. Lyons

where are you based ? , PM me if you like - I might be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

there is still a healthy export market for these. If you put it up for sale at a reasonable price you should have plenty of takers

Lots of ads on donedeal for people looking to buy Zetor, Ursus and Belarus tractors, presumably for export. You could try ringing one of them and they'll give you an idea of what they would pay for it.

Like anything, its worth more if its running and driving, and if it was running ok before you parked it up, then its probably not too big of a job to get it going again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭John J. Lyons

You are a bit away from me to buy - but you would be better off advertising it and putting it going - I wouldnt bother with export market - under 1k you be looking at or in some cases they wont take her as she is too old now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

I had a zetor 8011 and was told they are same tractor bar a few horse power and had similiar problem often and this was the remedy i used,it takes roughly half an hour. pump fresh diesel through the system including injectors same as if tank ran dry then tow it to start for some strange reason, was told its wear or sticking in injector pump,don't belt pump with a hammer, clean out diesel priming pump first, or simply open pipes at injectors first and tow tractor same as tow-starting it, to spare starter - if it has the same dual power system as zetor, when a supply of diesel is coming at injectors tighten pipes and try starting and repeat if necessary
    if idle for a while some condensation in tank can cause a sludge to form that wont allow diesel through system so you may need to open all pipes and blow them out. moisture could also aggravate a fungal problem but that is not as big a problem as a few years back so its unlikely, but you could add soltron if in doubt.

did it start yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bulls Notion

well we started by putting new terminals, as they were fecked.
    We charged up the battery and tried starting it, but it didn't even turn..
    Took starter out, and found out it was bunched so got it done up earlier this week and we will be putting the starter in tomorrow morning.
    Ill let you know how it goes!

OOOPs thought you had diesel misfiring problem, :o, so was i wrong about it being similiar tractor to zetor 8011 as well? :confused:::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bulls Notion

Put starter in and she never turned, just examined the whole engine today and its completely bunched,water mixing with oil etc.Not sure what to do with it.

drain engine oil out for a start regardless of whether it's parked outside or not ,if parked outside i suspect it might be water gone in exaust because I saw a fella buy a dexta from a neighbour for 100£ , man thought engine fxxd his words not mine , yer man drained the oil/water mix onto field in front of him and flushed it (mix of waste oil & diesel) ,changed filter ,put in fresh used oil . water in this case had gone in exaust( the same can happen any tractor as drain hole blocks and water goes in open valves).He opened injectors off block to allow any water on top of piston to escape and pulled as if tow starting,tightened them back in place again,(I didn't think that was necessary if he had pulled stopper) anyway he pulled dexta to start and away she went.he changed oil and filter then. The worst it can be is probably water leaked in around a sleeve ,while idle or head gasket,unlikely. you wont know until you start it, a running engine will give some clue,pressure test rad to check for gasket, or check rad for bubbles when you get it running.it could be fine.
    Block sealer ( not rad sealer) added using hot water through rad hoses only might seal sleeve, that's if they have sleeved blocks, I stand to be corrected on that though, otherwise try the poor farmers anti freeze trick , drain radiator immediately after stopping, fill after starting for now, good luck

what i should have said is,if water goes in exaust it fills space above pistons and out any open valve in head and into oil,2 or 3 pistons will have water on top, so its vital to drain engine and leave sump stud out until engine has been turned ideally with injectors removed or loose,some say there is no need as water will come out through exaust anyway but make sure diesel is shut off though as well to avoid compression damage, best of luck