Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Change x5 into commercial cost ?

• 31-01-2014 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

Anyone have idea of cost to changing x5 into commercial ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

bob5666 wrote: »
    Anyone have idea of cost to changing x5 into commercial ?

Considering commercials one are a goid bit cheaper to buy than passenger ones, would better option not be to sell the passenger one, buy a commercial one, pocket a few quid and save yourself the hassle and expense if conversion :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭bob5666

Not many to choose from tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I recall a figure of €2k mentioned before for a Landcruiser, probably similar for an X5.

Will save about €1500 a year in tax but with only 2 seats may not be practical after conversion depending on your needs.

I recall a figure of €2k mentioned before for a Landcruiser, probably similar for an X5.

Will save about €1500 a year in tax but with only 2 seats may not be practical after conversion depending on your needs.
    Im a plumber so two seats will do me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I think it costs about a grand

Ring JJ Reillys in Longford, they do it

Sound wil try them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭dingus12

Is it not a case of removing the rear seats and carpet, installing a false floor where the passenger foot well is for the back seats, filling up the seat and seat belt bolt holes with weld or chemical metal. Blanking off the side windows with sheet metal. Surely you wouldn't pay more than 100 euro for all that if you done the work yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Theanswers

You can buy a fine socket set for 2,000 euro.

As the poster above said - 100-120 euro for the physical job including materials and day's work. Nothing Fancy.

If She's from Ireland (Passenger).

Just remove seats and weld up holes. (Cost's nothing)
    No need to touch the windows as VRT was paid. If you want to do something you can just pull the fuse/ unplug the motor behind the door card.

Likewise get a Suitably Qualified engineer to inspect and pass it - about 100 euro.

get it weighed

Book and undertake a DOE

Tax time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

I did mine myself and it cost me a couple of euros
    The only thing i had to buy was this
    122_lge_zps73c51f19.jpg

Firstly ring your local tax office to see what they want you to do.

It differs from county to county

this is what i had to do. my jeep was already registered in Ireland before i converted it.

1. remove rear seats
    2. remove rear seatbelts.
    3. plug up all bolt holes for the seats and seatbelts with a metal putty no need to weld the up.
    4. get the jeep weighted with a printed weight docket
    5. a form from the doe test centre that needs to be signed by the garda

and thats it nothing to be done to the windows or floor pan.

when the above was done i had to go over to my tax office(nass) the teaster came out checked over the work done and she was happy.
    she sent off the form and now all im waiting on is the doe which is up friday

i went into the doe centre and asked the tester do i need to do anything else he said everything was grand.

now just to pass the doe test. when its passed the form i will get i have to bring that over to the tax office and then i can tax the jeep.

Thanks very much for all the info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

Lads thinking about bringing a x5 in from uk and changing it to commercial.. What vrt rate would the x5 come under? Class A or B..
    Or would i be better to get it changed to commercial in uk and then bring it to ireland and vrt it??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

You will pay VRT on the import of a jeep and commercialize it. There is an option on the revenue site to do that.

The loophole of the past has been closed.