Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much does it cost you?

• 31-01-2014 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭

2014 is well under way. You've probably seen a match or two already. You've definite plans of ones to see that are coming up. Come July you may start giving out about the price of championship tickets, yet will be disappointed if you are not in the hunt for them come September and will be glad to pay the price, or even above, just to see your county in an All-Ireland Final. It is an expensive past time. It's a passion for us, and we do put our hands in our pockets so that we can get our GAA fix. The question is, how much comes out of your pocket every year? How much does meeting that GAA hunger cost you? Did you ever wonder, or work it out?

Just the direct costs. Things like club membership, ticket costs, cost of any schemes you are in etc. Not the cost of the few drinks on match day, or the grub to soak them up, or even the travel costs. Maybe you can work out roughly what it cost you in 2013. You might have some ticket stubs left or whatever or know what matches you were at. You should know your club membership and similar things. A rough total for me came out at about €940. God knows what it would be if I was to include food, drink and travel etc. So how about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,000 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Years off my life with stress and many many crushed dreams :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Flukey wrote: »
    2014 is well under way. You've probably seen a match or two already. You've definite plans of ones to see that are coming up. Come July you may start giving out about the price of championship tickets, yet will be disappointed if you are not in the hunt for them come September and will be glad to pay the price, or even above, just to see your county in an All-Ireland Final. It is an expensive past time. It's a passion for us, and we do put our hands in our pockets so that we can get our GAA fix. The question is, how much comes out of your pocket every year? How much does meeting that GAA hunger cost you? Did you ever wonder, or work it out?

Just the direct costs. Things like club membership, ticket costs, cost of any schemes you are in etc. Not the cost of the few drinks on match day, or the grub to soak them up, or even the travel costs. Maybe you can work out roughly what it cost you in 2013. You might have some ticket stubs left or whatever or know what matches you were at. You should know your club membership and similar things. A rough total for me came out at about €940. God knows what it would be if I was to include food, drink and travel etc. So how about you?

Are you not a Dub as well so travel costs would be low?

I honestly couldn't put a figure on it. Now that the League is starting I might try to keep a log.

As I'm married to a Meath woman we attend club and county games for both counties. I couldn't tell you how many times we drove the M3 to Croker last year.

Some weekends we were at a Cavan game Saturday and then a Meath game Sunday. Indeed, that could yet happen this very weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I spent 445 euros going to Dublin's 20 football games in 2013, 5 O'Byrne Cup games, 9 league games and 6 Leinster/AI champo games.

50 euros - 5 O'Byrne Cup games at a tenner each

Didn't have to pay to get into our 4 home league games at Croke Park. You get into 2013 home league games for free with the 2012 Parnell Pass. (They run from May to May)

30 euros - 2 away league games in Kerry and Donegal at 15e each. ( I got into the third "away" game against Kildare for free with my Parnell Pass as the nice people in Kildare chose to move it to Croker. Thanks Kildare :P )

30 euros - league semi final and final at 15e each (or were they more than that, I forget.)

140 euros to renew the Parnell Pass in May 2013. I got into all club games in Dublin from May onwards with it for free, so I didn't have to pay into any of those.

75 euros - 3 rounds of Leinster champo at 25 quid per ticket (I think Hogan St tix were 25 quid, feel free to correct me if they were not)

120 euros - All Ireland quarter final, semi final and final at 40 quid each

I think that's it for the football. :)

Travel costs were the petrol for the 4 road trips to Carlow, Donegal, Kerry and Drogheda and two over nights stays in Kilarney and Letterkenny. Don't remember what they were exactly.

For the other 16 games at Croker, the bus fare to/from my house in Sutton to/from Croker was 2.85e per journey. So for 16 games x 2 that means that Dublin Bus got a whopping 92.20e of my money in 2013. Perhaps some of you nice people could take up a collection for me? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭1984baby

I hate the way that everyone always complains about the prices of gaa match tickets and anything to do with them. I think their ticket prices are great value IMO.
    Whenever I am on a holiday, I try to go a local soccer/sports match. The cost of premier league games is ridiculous in comparison. £40 for an average game but approx £80 for a big game (Arsenal vs Man City). €40 average for league games in Spain. In the US, ice hockey, basketball, baseball etc average out at $50.
    Yet gaa league games cost only €10. I have a season ticket for Kilkenny costing €75 - I'm getting 5 league games, 1st round of championship, all ireland club finals plus the possibility of a league 1/4, semi and final. Also with the ticket I can attend any other hurling league game. Guaranteed centre cusack seats for games in croker aswell.
    Rugby and irish soccer games cost from €40 to €100. Even the all Ireland's are only €75.
    If you think the prices are too high and you're being ripped off - DONT GO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

I work shifts and weekends so its hard to get off for every game, i really only make an effort to change shifts for the championship as it is a shallow pool of lads who'd swap with me so I need to keep them onside! I couldnt put a price on last year, I know I didn't miss a championship match, only made one league game, but It'd all add up if I include my membership and the two kid's memberships in the club and their €2 a week each too.

I've said it for years I'd be a rich man if I'd no interest in sport, as I'd go to rugby and league of Ireland games the odd time too, I just love live sport. The money is well spent though, as I couldn't imagine a life sat in every weekend or just going to the pub or cinema!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Club membership is €150 for me.
    Season ticket was €75.
    Club na Mí (Meath supporters club) membership was €20.
    3 O'Byrne Cup games were €30.
    Got the Leinster quarter final for free because of the season ticket and missed the semi final so I only had to pay for the Leinster final and qualifier against Tyrone which I'd say came to about €50 in total.
    Went to a handful of Meath hurling games as well during the year which probably set me back about €40-50.
    So probably spent just less than €400 in the year on just tickets/memberships. First time I've really totted it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

No idea, although I did win €500 in the club draw a few years back so that was a good year. :D

The thing I always think about money spent on tickets in the GAA is that the overwhelming majority of the money ends up being spent in a decent manner.

It's interesting to compare it to some of greed on display in the Irish "charity" sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Lemlin wrote: »
    Are you not a Dub as well so travel costs would be low?

Lemlin, I did not include the travel costs at all, just like I left out food and drink and other ancillary costs, as I wanted to concentrate on the direct costs. Anyway, being from Dublin does not mean we don't have travel costs. It would be nice if places like Omagh or Killarney or Castlebar blasted into space and landed near me when our matches were there, or to keep the space analogy, that I could beam myself to those grounds or travel for free, but no, us Dubs travel too, to all corners of the country, both for football and Hurling matches, and it costs us to do so. Even for matches in Dublin, as we are often told in many other discussions, half of Dublin lives down the country anyway, so they have to travel. Parts of Meath, Kildare and Wicklow are closer to Parnell Park and Croke Park than parts of Dublin are, so some of the fans of those counties have shorter trips than some Dubs living in Dublin do. I live in Dublin, but many Dubs don't.

Now, can we get off the Dubs debate as we've had it many times before and will again? This thread is not about that! It is not about where we live and who we follow and how far we travel. I just wanted to know as a matter of interest about the direct costs, just things I listed that are directly with the GAA. It is fairer to compare them as we all travel different distances, have different levels of hunger and thirst and it would be harder to work out those costs. We'd all know the costs of our club membership, scheme memberships and tickets on days we go to games, but not food and drink. So please Lemlin, and others, stick to the point. What are the direct costs of your GAA interest in a year?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I'm out of pocket by £600 sterling so far due to travel and costs for Gaelic Games and I've been to one game today which I got into for free and doesn't count in that original figure since I was coming home already! About £170 of that was for the Games Development conference, between accommodation, travel and the cost of the conference.

It would be an interesting study to see the average amount spent by supporters, including the cost of travel to the games - the analysis of it could be a powerful tool to use as leverage for cheaper ticket prices.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Jason89

Would be afraid to add it all up. Very rarely miss a Donegal game from January till when they get knocked out. So far this year I've been to the 3 McKenna cup games (2 at home 1 away to armagh)and Laois away (missed Galway). It's not the ticket price that puts my cost up its everything else that goes with it especially the travelling. Don't drive so if the rest the family not going it means getting bus eireann everywhere which isn't cheap.also attend the ladies matches when I can as local girl on the panel

If I had no interest in sport I'd be extremely well off as I follow Ireland football team home and away when sometimes the home game costs as much as an away game

I posted this thread last year. Throughout 2014 I kept a record and adding it all up it came to about €1000 for the direct costs of my GAA fix, as laid out in the opening post. For 2014:

Club membership: €95
    Parnell Pass: €165
    Friends of Dublin Hurling: €20
    Match tickets: €720

Total: €1000

Did anyone else keep any kind of tab or have an idea of what they spent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Didn't keep a tab, but I still have the 1 way train ticket from Dublin to Cork for the Munster final that cost fúcking €64!!!

Got the season ticket so the money slips silently out of the account, which is just as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

An addiction to other things - racing, gambling would cost a lot more

Its a healthy and social addiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The only expense from GAA for me this year was non-playing club membership at fifty euro. Put my press pass to good use to get into all Wexford's home League games, and have a GPA pass from a relation on the panel to get into the others :D And tickets to all championship games were complimentary too owing to my connection to the panel.

And people give out about the cost of a match day :p

The only expense from GAA for me this year was non-playing club membership at fifty euro. Put my press pass to good use to get into all Wexford's home League games, and have a GPA pass from a relation on the panel to get into the others :D And tickets to all championship games were complimentary too owing to my connection to the panel.

All Wexford championship games? Both of them? Wow. Lucky you. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,518 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I calculated how much I spent on tickets in 2014. Very little compared to Flukey :eek:

Total was €297. Nearly all of that was from championship games involving Kilkenny. Since I live in Galway, I don't get to see too many League games in Nowlan Park. And I only had access to a car from April onwards.

I don't have any club membership to pay at the moment. If I was to include travel costs in particular, my total would rise significantly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,731 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

5 x All Ireland final tickets - €420 (€10 surcharge on 2 of the tickets got through club)
    5 x Semi final replay tickets - €75 (1 family 2+1 and 2 terrace)
    2 x Semi final - €80
    5 x Quarter Final - €60 (3 comps)
    2 x Munster Final - €70 (just realised Munster Final stand tickets were a fiver more than Quarter Final double header - go figure!)
    2 x Munster Semi Final - €20 (€15 + €5)
    U21 Munster Semi Final - €15
    League games - all comps
    County Championship games - comp county pass
    Club membership - €100

Add in train travel to 2 games in Dublin, driving to and Hotel in Castlebar, driving to Ennis, Cork and Dublin and going on the beer after most championship games and for 2 days after the final and...................oh Jesus, no wonder I'm broke this month.

And people give out about the cost of a match day :p

I had a pass a couple of years back because I was refereeing at the time, but I wouldn't use it going into games because I reasoned the club hosting the game get's a fair whack of the gate money and I'd hate to see it happen to my club where a heap of people rock up with passes. I only used it once and that was into a county final!!

I must keep track of what I spend on it this year, though I'm bringing the kids now so if I factor in the sweets and burgers etc it will look frightening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

ProudDUB wrote: »
    All Wexford championship games? Both of them? Wow. Lucky you. :p

Three actually ;) But sure isn't it easier to follow the successful counties and the bandwagons they tend to bring with them (same thing applies as regards the hurling in Wexford)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

I haven't done up how much it cost me per year. I only recently while revamping my site, done up how many match's attended, distance traveled and number of match photos taken each year. 2014 stats (though this includes our trip to NY)

I calculated how much I spent on tickets in 2014. Very little compared to Flukey :eek:

I warm up during the league, but once the championship gets going, I get into top gear. Basically, if you want to find me on almost any Sunday afternoon between June and September, the first place to look is in Croke Park. In total between, club finals, leagues and championships, I had 22 match days in Croke Park in 2014. Had the Kerry v Mayo replay been in its rightful place in Croke Park, it would have been 23. If they want an American Football match in Croke Park, take one in October and slot it into the International Rules slot, when that is in Australia. If Garth Brooks had come, that would not have upped my attendances. If he wants to play 5 times in Croke Park this year, let him take up Hurling and/or Football during the next few months, join a team here through whatever tentative county connections he may have and then help bring his team to Croke Park. He can leave his guitar at home. Anyway, what other things they do in Croke Park is another debate, so let's get back to the point of what the direct costs of your GAA "fix" are. Try to keep a record as the year goes on, leaving out travel, food, drink and other ancillary costs. I am sure you'll find it interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

I posted this thread last year. Throughout 2014 I kept a record and adding it all up it came to about €1000 for the direct costs of my GAA fix, as laid out in the opening post. For 2014:

Club membership: €95
    Parnell Pass: €165
    Friends of Dublin Hurling: €20
    Match tickets: €720

Total: €1000

Did anyone else keep any kind of tab or have an idea of what they spent?

I must add up what it cost me last year. Is it just for yourself or include the family (not including grub, travel, etc?)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Season Ticket €80
    Kilkenny v Galway €20
    Kilkenny v Galway Replay €15
    Kilkenny v Dublin €35
    Kilkenny v Limerick €35
    Kilkenny v Tipperary €80
    Kilkenny v Tipperary Replay €50

Not 100% on the season ticket cost, think it was 80 anyway. €315 just on match tickets from last year. I attended 6 matches under the season ticket I think (works out at an average of €26 per game)

mayo.mick wrote: »
    I must add up what it cost me last year. Is it just for yourself or include the family (not including grub, travel, etc?)

Leave out the grub and travel. Do it for yourself first and then you could give a separate total for family. As I mentioned before, we all have different distances to travel and some people eat or drink more than others, so it is not a good comparison to make. There are also all sorts of other expenses we have like GAA merchandise etc. We all know all those other expenses add up to. It is also harder to keep a record of all the ancillary stuff. It is easier to quantify club memberships, scheme memberships and tickets, so keep to those things. Set up a little spreadsheet and keep adding the things to it as the year progresses. That is what I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

I spend a shocking amount on matches, still getting over bringing the family, 7 of em 2013 to all Ireland and replay

I can live with big match cost mostly but you get screwed big time if you've a big interest in local games - I mean really screwed if your goin junior intermediat senior and juvenile games to

Making over 16s pay pisses me off whose that hitting only patents again

Big big gaa fan but youd want deep pockets

Three actually ;) But sure isn't it easier to follow the successful counties and the bandwagons they tend to bring with them (same thing applies as regards the hurling in Wexford)

Well, when you've finished scrounging tickets off every one you know, go back and check out the first page of this thread. I go to O'Byrne Cup games in the depths of January, even the away ones. So I have no idea what being a bandwagoner is like. :D

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well, when you've finished scrounging tickets off every one you know, go back and check out the first page of this thread. I go to O'Byrne Cup games in the depths of January, even the away ones. So I have no idea what being a bandwagoner is like. :D

:mad: Ah ProdDUB, now you've gone and done it, letting the cat out the bag. Now the whole country knows that us Dubs don't just go to 3 matches in the summer and that we have been at matches outside of Croke Park. 1884 to 2014, 130 years of keeping that secret, and now here in 2015 you've gone and blown it. Tsk Tsk. Calling yourself a Proud Dub, and then going and blowing our little secret. Terrible. Well, we might as well go the whole hog now and admit that we sometimes arrive at matches on time and have been in other parts of Croke Park, not just Hill 16, and have come to matches sober and gone straight to games from home without stopping off for a few pints on the way and that we know what Hurling is. OK, I know they won't believe a word of it, but still, you should not have said anything. The thread was about how much things cost, but that post has cost us Dubs our reputation.:)

Anyway, we should take Laois next Sunday. Thanks to you though, people in Portarlington next Sunday might realise that the people in blue shirts are not just a whole load of AIG staff, along with some Vodafone and Arnotts staff at the match and around the town. Say nothing more and maybe not too many people will have seen the thread and come the summer, they'll all believe the myth again. Please be more careful in future and think before posting the truth.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I never actually say down to calculate it but I'd usually go to all our home hurling league games and all our hurling championship games and then maybe one football championship game. So presuming maybe 4 hurling championship games and one football championship game the whole lot totals to maybe €170 or so.

No idea what is spend on club games but I'd go very often to see both my own club and other senior club matches.at a total guess maybe another €200.

Maybe Galway under 21 or minor games or something, another €50 maybe.

And I'd always go to the hurling all Ireland final too, that's another 80 (well 130 the last 3 years)

Club membership is another 30 I think.

So that's somewhere between 500 and 600 euros depending on a lot of variables. But that's before we factor in food, drink, travel etc.

But whatever the total is I can assure you it's a pittance compared to the emotional cost in terms of pain, frustration and heartbreak and watching them consistently fall short year on year.

And I often do question our sanity going to thurles or somewhere full of hope and leaving the place a couple of hours later vowing to never ever return but if it's Galway are there again this summer we'll still travel with the usual amount of false hope and watch us lose to yet another **** team down there!

Anyway, we should take Laois next Sunday. Thanks to you though, people in Portarlington next Sunday might realise that the people in blue shirts are not just a whole load of AIG staff, along with some Vodafone and Arnotts staff at the match and around the town. Say nothing more and maybe not too many people will have seen the thread and come the summer, they'll all believe the myth again. Please be more careful in future and think before posting the truth.;)

And guess what? I get extra Dub bonus points, as I put four brand spanking new tires on my car today, (very expensive Dunlops thank you very much,) so that I won't be skidding all over the motorway on Sunday afternoon. I've known I needed them since I got a service last month. I was going to put off getting them 'till closer to my NCT date. But oh no, when a Dubs road trip is on the cards, one must put safety first & damm the expense !

( Those of you in the cheap seats, who are laughing hysterically at seeing the words 'Dubs', 'road trip' & 'expense' all in the same sentence, can shag off ! :P )

However, I lose half the aforementioned bonus points, as I could have sworn that that the game was in Portlaoise and not Portarlington. Doh ! I would have felt a right tit sitting in O'Moore Park on Sunday afternoon, wondering where every one was. I only lose half the bonus points, as expecting Dubs to to navigate a landlocked county that has not just one, but TWO towns, beginning with the word 'Port' was a not so genius idea that was never going to end well ! :confused::rolleyes::confused::rolleyes: :confused:

Ah well, in fairness ProudDub, you would have been tired after getting those new tyres. After all, it is tough work lifting a car onto the piles of blocks before you take the tyres off. Fair balls to you for finding a 151 MH reg at this time of year to nick them off. The recession must be easing in Meath. We'll soften their cough next Sunday, set down a few markers and all that.

Now, just so you are certain, the match next Sunday is in Navan, not Nobber or Cavan. It's only an hour from Dublin. Keep going until you see adults feeding on children. You'll know you are close then. I know that happens whatever direction you go out of Dublin, but the green and gold shirts should be a giveaway.

In the spirit of being a good neighbour, the Dubs will not stay around Navan after the game, but will retreat back over the border... and spend their money in Dublin. We're not helping Meath get out of the recession any quicker than necessary. ;)

Anyway, I digress. Add the ticket price to your total for the year. I amn't up and going yet due to clashes with other things, but I hope to open my ticket spending soon. I already have some advance travel booked for Killarney, but of course that does not count by my criteria.

Ah well, in fairness ProudDub, you would have been tired after getting those new tyres. After all, it is tough work lifting a car onto the piles of blocks before you take the tyres off. Fair balls to you for finding a 151 MH reg at this time of year to nick them off. The recession must be easing in Meath. We'll soften their cough next Sunday, set down a few markers and all that.

Now, just so you are certain, the match next Sunday is in Navan, not Nobber or Cavan. It's only an hour from Dublin. Keep going until you see adults feeding on children. You'll know you are close then. I know that happens whatever direction you go out of Dublin, but the green and gold shirts should be a giveaway.

In the spirit of being a good neighbour, the Dubs will not stay around Navan after the game, but will retreat back over the border... and spend their money in Dublin. We're not helping Meath get out of the recession any quicker than necessary. ;)

Anyway, I digress. Add the ticket price to your total for the year. I amn't up and going yet due to clashes with other things, but I hope to open my ticket spending soon. I already have some advance travel booked for Killarney, but of course that does not count by my criteria.

Go away would ya I'd say the majority of the Dubs will be walking down from their homes inJohnstown to Pairc Tailteann and dropping into Beggy's for their pints on the way back after the match!! At least the game being in Navan will keep the costs down for many displaced Dubs :pac:

rpurfield wrote: »
    Go away would ya I'd say the majority of the Dubs will be walking down from their homes inJohnstown to Pairc Tailteann and dropping into Beggy's for their pints on the way back after the match!! At least the game being in Navan will keep the costs down for many displaced Dubs :pac:

Ah now hold on there, didn't you know, as we get told here every summer, all Dubs live within 10 minutes of Croke Park and never have to travel? Only 31 counties in Ireland have to travel to matches. Yes, the entire population of Dublin, all one million of us, all live on Drumcondra Road, Jones Road, Summerhill and the North Circular Road. Yep, all we have to do is have the Sunday dinner and nip over to the game, or so we get told. Of course in any other discussion, we are told that Dublin is full of culchies, and that half of us Dubs live in Wicklow, half of us in Meath, half of us in Kildare, half of us in Westmeath, half of us in Wexford, half of us in Louth and so on. The standard of maths isn't strong beyond the pale. Your post should be framed as it must be the first ever post from a non-Dub in the GAA forum to say that are some Dublin GAA fans living in a place where they can't see Croke Park from their home. It is one of the few that indicates that we go to matches on days other than summer Sundays. This surely is a historic day in this forum.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

It's GAA an awful waste of money? You are paying money for tickets while the players get zilch.
    Isnt it only popular because there is absolutely nothing to do in Rural Ireland? Its just a (slightly) more civilised version of faction fighting?
    Honestly, it's appalling stuff - totally lacking in skill or intelligence.
    Why not watch exciting and skilful sports like rugby? Or spend your money on trips to Dublin to enjoy the arts or theatre or a decent restaurant. At least it would broaden your horizons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,518 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

LorMal wrote: »
    It's GAA an awful waste of money? You are paying money for tickets while the players get zilch.
    Isnt it only popular because there is absolutely nothing to do in Rural Ireland? Its just a (slightly) more civilised version of faction fighting?
    Honestly, it's appalling stuff - totally lacking in skill or intelligence.
    Why not watch exciting and skilful sports like rugby? Or spend your money on trips to Dublin to enjoy the arts or theatre or a decent restaurant. At least it would broaden your horizons?

Obvious troll is obvious :rolleyes:

Absolutely. Someone with very narrow horizons, who needs to broaden them.

Ah now hold on there, didn't you know, as we get told here every summer, all Dubs live within 10 minutes of Croke Park and never have to travel? Only 31 counties in Ireland have to travel to matches. Yes, the entire population of Dublin, all one million of us, all live on Drumcondra Road, Jones Road, Summerhill and the North Circular Road. Yep, all we have to do is have the Sunday dinner and nip over to the game, or so we get told. Of course in any other discussion, we are told that Dublin is full of culchies, and that half of us Dubs live in Wicklow, half of us in Meath, half of us in Kildare, half of us in Westmeath, half of us in Wexford, half of us in Louth and so on. The standard of maths isn't strong beyond the pale. Your post should be framed as it must be the first ever post from a non-Dub in the GAA forum to say that are some Dublin GAA fans living in a place where they can't see Croke Park from their home. It is one of the few that indicates that we go to matches on days other than summer Sundays. This surely is a historic day in this forum.:)

It's hard to deny it when I set foot in my club and there's more Dubs in it than Meath folk!!

BOOM !!!

BACK OF THE NET !!!

HE SHOOTS AND HE SCORES !!!

THEY THINK IT'S ALL OVER !!!

IT IS NOW !!!

:D:D:D:D