Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bunch of little gifts for Groom

• 27-01-2014 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭

Hey,

Was just wondering if anyone else has done this or has ideas for it....

Since my OH is staying in the hotel the night before the wedding I thought it'd be nice to spoil him with a sort of hamper of nice things. So far I have special cufflinks that have a symbol that will mean something to him, nice undies - his fav brand, funky socks to wear on the day. After that I was going to fix a watch that he loved but it's not really fixable or at least not in my time frame so even though we agreed we weren't doing the wedding gift thing, I decided to get him a new one - nothing bank breaking but still nice enough to wear on the day. Also I was thinking of a couple of bottles of his favorite craft beers, maybe functional things like headache pills/ vitamin drink/ nice face stuff maybe. And that's all I got!
    Any ideas? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You might be putting him under pressure by showering him with things you'd agreed not to, a watch can be very personal, I wouldn't spend money on it unless he saw it. Save the money for the honeymoon and pick one with him.
    It's all good intentioned but some fresh boxers could be enough as a little gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Nicman

I know what you mean, will have a think about the watch then - just thought it'd be nice for him to have it on the day to wear. I'll reconsider thanks :-)

pressure- wise I honestly don't think he'd feel pressured because he's so good to me anyways, we don't have that sort of relationship. Like we've agreed in the past that we might just do a token gift for a birthday for example and then he'll surprise me with a new phone or something! He never expects back what he gives which is so sweet about him and so I don't think he'd think that way about this.
    I think it's just that weddings can become alot about the bride and I want us both to feel special. I've been getting ready with brides a few times in the past and they might get flowers delivered from the groom or a present and you know they always kind of expect it, yet didn't organise any little surprise for him and I used to think "well that's a bit selfish no?"!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

A few nice beers for the night before is a good idea,some of his favourite crisps and choc,maybe a dvd?

I stayed in the hotel the night before mine and it was lovely to sit up having a drink and reminiscing with my bridesmaids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Does he have a favourite aftershave he's run out of / doesn't have?

Chuck in a hand written note (on the back of a special photo of the two of ye?) highlighting why you can't wait to marry him tomorrow.
    Yeah, very rosemantic (bleagh :p), but I think anyone would love that :)
    If my OH did that, I'd be so chuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I got my husband a little book called "For my groom on our wedding day" and in it it has pages with headings eg my first impression of you, a day in our lives in the future, what I'm looking forward to most about our wedding day" etc and you fill it in yourself. My husband loved it and still when he comes across it will have a little read of it

Moonbeam wrote: »
    A few nice beers for the night before is a good idea,some of his favourite crisps and choc,maybe a dvd?

I stayed in the hotel the night before mine and it was lovely to sit up having a drink and reminiscing with my bridesmaids.

Super idea- he LOVES salt & vinegar crisps :-) thanks

@Whiskeyman: he has more aftershave than he knows what to do with! But a lovely idea all the same. I'm DEFO going to do the note on the photo, what a lovely idea :-)
    ...maybe I should throw in an ol' sleeping pill while im at it..help settle the nerves the night before ;-) haha!

whiskeyman - would you feel weird about it if your OH got you a watch or something special and you hadnt gotten her anything? Like he knows im not one of these who expects something in return, just want him to feel special....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I got mine a bottle of Midleton Barry Crockett for our wedding, I had absolutely no idea what to get him.
    Apparently he has something for me put having issues getting it..2 years on lol
    When we had our 1st child I got him a lovely watch,for the 2nd I got him a lovely parker pen set,we got married a few weeks after #3 was born so got him nothing for that:)
    I think small fun but thoughtful things will work lovely.

Moonbeam wrote: »
    I got mine a bottle of Midleton Barry Crockett for our wedding, I had absolutely no idea what to get him.
    Apparently he has something for me put having issues getting it..2 years on lol
    When we had our 1st child I got him a lovely watch,for the 2nd I got him a lovely parker pen set,we got married a few weeks after #3 was born so got him nothing for that:)
    I think small fun but thoughtful things will work lovely.

Aw legendary - whiskey, can never go wrong with that!! Magic pressie :-) I think small and thoughtful too - like I know im getting a watch but I mean anyone can get a watch. He's got this thing about swallows - the birds, so I scoured the net and found cufflinks with swallows on them and they're really gorgeous too :-) Im loving these ideas lads I gotta say! Also going to engrave on the back of the watch for the craic "don't be late" - how apt eh!

I love that idea!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Oh yeah. Here's a bottle of whiskey the night before. You reap what you sow. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

Nicman, you sound like the best bride/wife! I completely agree that the bride often takes over as main focus at weddings.
    I think all your suggestions sound great provided he doesn't mind having his watch bought for him. As others have said it can be a very personal thing and while you may spend "some" money on it it may be wasted if he'd rather have got something else. Got OH a watch before, he wore it awhile because he's not that into watches it didn't matter that I picked it. It either got lost or broke eventually. It wasn't that expensive :P
    My OH bought his and the groomsparty's cufflinks, so make sure yours hasn't done that. He may be torn between his own and yours. Same goes for socks, LOL as they sell "wedding" socks as a novelty these days. Just check, I'm sure he'll share that info with you anyway.
    Hipflask of his fave liquor, if he has one? Maybe get it engraved. He can always share the contents with the lads rather than laying into the booze by himself.
    Does his cravat/tie require a tie-pin?
    Fave aftershave is also a nice idea. Maybe throw in some tick-tacks/mints, gum, favourite bar to keep him going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭cmbutterfly45

Just an old superstition but your not meant to buy anyone your in a relationship with a watch as "it puts time on your relationship"
    I'm very superstitious but if your not could b a nice idea.
    I'd probably go with something simpler like the beer and crisps, still shows the same thought without making him feel bad if he hasn't done a big gift for you!

Gatica wrote: »
    Nicman, you sound like the best bride/wife! I completely agree that the bride often takes over as main focus at weddings.
    I think all your suggestions sound great provided he doesn't mind having his watch bought for him. As others have said it can be a very personal thing and while you may spend "some" money on it it may be wasted if he'd rather have got something else. Got OH a watch before, he wore it awhile because he's not that into watches it didn't matter that I picked it. It either got lost or broke eventually. It wasn't that expensive :P
    My OH bought his and the groomsparty's cufflinks, so make sure yours hasn't done that. He may be torn between his own and yours. Same goes for socks, LOL as they sell "wedding" socks as a novelty these days. Just check, I'm sure he'll share that info with you anyway.
    Hipflask of his fave liquor, if he has one? Maybe get it engraved. He can always share the contents with the lads rather than laying into the booze by himself.
    Does his cravat/tie require a tie-pin?
    Fave aftershave is also a nice idea. Maybe throw in some tick-tacks/mints, gum, favourite bar to keep him going.

Aw shucks Gatica! The thing with the watch is that the place I'm buying it says there is zero problem exchanging it for another if he doesn't like it and they have a huge selection. Maybe I should rethink engraving it then though..... On the cufflinks - he's totally not the sort to think of getting special cufflinks for himself and defo wouldnt get ones for the best man - I ws actually thinking of getting the best man cufflinks but then I don't know if his shirt requires them....
    He doesn't have a cravat and is wearing a waistcoat so wont need a tiepin but great idea and defo would have used that idea if he needed one :-) Mints/ sweets etc, love it! thanks guys :-)

........Oh and on the whole will he feel bad thing if I get him a substantial gift.... he arrived home after a non-leisure weekend away last night with my favorite perfume with body lotions etc as a nice surprise for no reason - that's just how we roll! ;-)

Beer Baron wrote: »
    Oh yeah. Here's a bottle of whiskey the night before. You reap what you sow. Lol

....Class! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

I'm doing a boudoir shoot for him and giving him the prints the night before the wedding, make him glad he's marrying me!!!

pooch90 wrote: »
    I'm doing a boudoir shoot for him and giving him the prints the night before the wedding, make him glad he's marrying me!!!

I had considered that, but the only photographer that does it in the part of country I'm in is expensive, only does it Mon-Fri, and doesn't include hair & make up or have outfits. So I'd have to buy the lingerie, get my hair & make up done, and take a day off work...just wasn't feasible. But well done, I think it's a fantastic thing to do and would LOVE to get it done myself. On the other hand, I do try to dress up in lingerie or other theme outfits now again which he loves :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

I just asked the photographer that's doing our wedding. A lot of them do it but don't advertise it as such.
    I'm sh******* it but it won't be for a few months and black and white photos are very flattering :D:D:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

As a wedding gift I kept a diary of the year leading up to our big day, I kept cinema receipts and ticket stubs, plane tickets and all that jazz, I wrote about the good and the not so good but the general theme was "this year I'm writing down all the reasons I'm marrying you". He absolutely loved it and says it's the best gift he's ever received. If I'm honest it was a great exercise for me too as on the days when I was stressed on not really feeling the love it made me think a little bit harder about us, and before long I'd be in floods of tears with happiness and being all gushy and mushy :D In return he gave me a copy of my favourite childhood book and wrote a message in it about how one day we'd read it to our own baby (who arrives in July!!).

Personally I think gifts between bride and groom mean most when they're from one heart to another, whatever that may be. You seem to know him very well OP (always a good thing when you're pledging your lives to each other :pac:), it seems like he'll appreciate little things you've put a lot of thought into.