Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Education

• 26-01-2014 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭

Just wondering did most of ye who grew up on a farm enjoy school to the farm work, a mixture of both or farming all the way :D Personally id prefer on the being on the farm instead of sitting in front of a book wouldn't be my cup of tea.
    Would ye change how ye went about education? Maybe finish secondary school?
    Get a degree in college?
    I know some may go straight into farming after secondary school but others find going to college and maybe a few years working before settling back into farming is a good experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I done a masters in software engineering but was quite pointless as it stands unless i go back to the workforce, it is handy fixing computers for friends/family etc but if i had started farming 5 years earlier financially i would be way better off. Everyone should finish sec school in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

finished secondary school, did apprenticeship and now farming fulltime since November, loved getting away from farm but I always knew I be back to it, lived the life drinking and rag weeks in college it a experience everyone should do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I would make sure the lads get a college education and spend their 20s drinking travelling and chasing the ladies, the farm will always be here if they want it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Everyone growing up on a farm should get a good education if they can at all IMO. 'Use what's between your two ears' as my oul lad used to say :D l was lucky enough to have parents that put a value on a good education.

Reality is unless you inherit a large dairy farm, you are going to need to work off farm to bring home the bacon. Nothing wrong with it. Farm then at your leisure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

education is no load to carry, on saying that, I know f all after all my years in school/college:( teaching style has allot to answer for.

The most important thing I would tell young guys and girls If I was asked is - for them to live of their parents for aslong as they can

I'd have to respectfully disagree bob. How is a teenager going to learn the value of money if they continue to be fully dependent on their parents?
    Get them out with little part time jobs asap while still in school. Better if its not in the family business or for relatives as they won't be biased treatment and realise that real life is tough. Sometimes in life we have to do things we don't like, to do things we do. Let them fund their books, nights out etc from their own pocket. Working hard in teens/early twenties can save a life time of drudgery for poor money and zero job satisfaction.

Muckit wrote: »
    I'd have to respectfully disagree bob. How is a teenager going to learn the value of money if they continue to be fully dependent on their parents?
    Get them out with little part time jobs asap while still in school. Better if its not in the family business or for relatives as they won't be biased treatment and realise that real life is tough. Sometimes in life we have to do things we don't like, to do things we do. Let them fund their books, nights out etc from their own pocket. Working hard in teens/early twenties can save a life time of drudgery for poor money and zero job satisfaction.

my thinking is more so to go and experience life before getting tied down into a full time job, travel during your holidays, do crappy paying intern jobs etc.

I worked hardish in school and college, played sport hard and rushed everything and never took time off or travel much during summer holidays, always home to work on the farm etc. I taught it wouldnt be of any benefit to be off gallivanting. I made a balls of my teens and twenties which I regret and despise farming and my foolishness. Parents also shouldnt have allowed it

Most will work for 40yrs of your life so why rush to start working, you will have commitments for the rest of your days. Stay in college for longer and head to different colleges to do semesters

You will spend long enough in work serving some pricks who know less that you and make more money than you. Anyway parents like moaning how much little Johnny and Mary are costing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

my thinking is more so to go and experience life before getting tied down into a full time job, travel during your holidays, do crappy paying intern jobs etc.

I worked hardish in school and college, played sport hard and rushed everything and never took time off or travel much during summer holidays, always home to work on the farm etc. I taught it wouldnt be of any benefit to be off gallivanting.

Most will work for 40yrs of your life so why rush to start working, you will have commitments for the rest of your days. Stay in college for longer and head to different colleges to do semesters

You will spend long enough in work serving some pricks who know less that you and make more money than you. Anyway parents like moaning how much little Johnny and Mary are costing them
    Tbh I prefers to have my own money and not rely on the parents. Ye go and do what ye want and don't have to ask mammy and daddy for money. And ye get away from the home too which is a plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

I worked hardish in school and college, played sport hard and rushed everything and never took time off or travel much during summer holidays, always home to work on the farm etc. I taught it wouldnt be of any benefit to be off gallivanting. I made a balls of my teens and twenties which I regret and despise farming and my foolishness. Parents also shouldnt have allowed it

I think lads a combination of muckit and bobs ideas would work well! They would then be able to have the best of both worlds, bob to get away from those pricks you have to have pretty good education and get into the "easy money" jobs and muckit bobs right live life to the max when young and goaway as much as you can and as far as you can for as long as you can! Because when the time comes you'll be lucky to get to d pub for a few hours a week!

Very easy get away when your older when you have money and plenty of annual leave to use up! :D hard put an old head on young shoulders. Young people wouldn't trully appreciate all that travelling has to offer. One pub is the same as another.

The only 5am starts l've ever done in my life were studying for the leaving, finshing college projects and studying for exams.

Since college l've only got up this early to catch a plane for the holidays! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

I think what Muckit is saying is working and being self sufficient as a teen helps one value education and therefore provides a focus to complete studies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

mayota wrote: »
    I think what Muckit is saying is working and being self sufficient as a teen helps one value education and therefore provides a focus to complete studies.

Definitely true!

The only 5am starts l've ever done in my life were studying for the leaving, finshing college projects and studying for exams.

Since college l've only got up this early to catch a plane for the holidays! :D

You lazy fecker,

In college I had loads of free time and no money, now I have few quid and no bloody time. If you have time you dont need money to have the craic, if you have money you cant buy time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Everyone growing up on a farm should get a good education if they can at all IMO. 'Use what's between your two ears' as my oul lad used to say :D l was lucky enough to have parents that put a value on a good education.

Reality is unless you inherit a large dairy farm, you are going to need to work off farm to bring home the bacon. Nothing wrong with it. Farm then at your leisure.

Get a good education, when you come back to the farm you see things in a different way. One of the great learning expieriances for me was sharing a house with five lads; One miser, two decent lads, one with notions. The education also stood to me as I look at the world differnetly than if I had been locked into farming the way the old lad did 'cos we always did it this way'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

My advice ,get as much education as you can.knowledge is king.then go and see a bit of the world,see different cultures.go on a solo holiday,I did thisc2 years ago as our ski group broke up due to family's,unemployment etc.ended up travelling to Austria solo and meeting 10 other people from Scotland ,Wales ,Russia and the USA.sound bunch and had a really great holiday .still friends with them all too.once u start farming its hard to get away for too long but it is possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I've always worked some bit on the farm, but 2bh I much more preferred the books for most my teens/early 20s. Got a decent education, which isn't being put in much use at the minute (aside from the 180hours greencert!!), but I've zero regrets about that, and would certainly expect to use my education in the future again!

On the living off your folks, or say going straight onto the farm after school etc, its fine if you only want to do that short term, but in my view if you have no real plan moving forward in your early 20s, then you will run into trouble within afew years, with a decent risk of depression etc! You need motivation and goals/targets in life, and just having a very general one of eventually take over the farm from your parents, or eventually move out/travel for a year etc etc isn't good enough at all, because we all know how the years can slip on ha, and you suddenly find yourself say 30, and your very much so tied down to the farm, or say your parents are depend on you etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

College education guarantees nothing. I didn't go, the rest of my family did. I knew what I wanted to do which at 18-19 is half the battle. Did my leaving, worked, farmed, did the part time Teagasc course. I don't regret it. I don't yearn for the college life and all the traveling college students apparently do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

Well said a college degree guarantees nothing, it’s what you do with it. It’s a passport to the workforce as nearly all positions demand a degree nowadays.

Not saying that’s right but that’s the way it is. If you know what you want out of life at 18, then fair play to you, you’re in the minority.

When I left secondary school, went straight to ag college & on to the farm, I used to think that I was backward to all my school friends who were working hard towards degrees, :rolleyes:
    it was only went I went back to education years later, that I learned that you can earn a degree in most colleges by turning up everyday.
    IMO you’d learn more by spending a year abroad on your own without any support from anyone, learn to stand on your own two feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

case885 wrote: »
    Just wondering did most of ye who grew up on a farm enjoy school to the farm work, a mixture of both or farming all the way :D Personally id prefer on the being on the farm instead of sitting in front of a book wouldn't be my cup of tea.
    Would ye change how ye went about education? Maybe finish secondary school?
    Get a degree in college?
    I know some may go straight into farming after secondary school but others find going to college and maybe a few years working before settling back into farming is a good experience.

I am in my late 30s and i can still remember my first day at school and i can honestly say i hated every fcuking second of every minute of every hour of every year of school.was forced by my parents to stay on and do the leaving cert then went of to ag collage which i loved good craic made life time friends "learned a bit two" would have loved to had traveled after getting my green cert but my father was in bad health. I seen some of the most street wise shrewd successful people with no 3rd level and some of the biggest tits wit diplomas coming out of every angle of them, now which one would ya like working with/for i ask ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

loveta wrote: »
    I am in my late 30s and i can still remember my first day at school and i can honestly say i hated every fcuking second of every minute of every hour of every year of school.was forced by my parents to stay on and do the leaving cert then went of to ag collage which i loved good craic made life time friends "learned a bit two" would have loved to had traveled after getting my green cert but my father was in bad health. I seen some of the most street wise shrewd successful people with no 3rd level and some of the biggest tits wit diplomas coming out of every angle of them, now which one would ya like working with/for i ask ya

Not trying to have a go at you loveta, but I hate that auld talk. I know loads of poor people with no education and some wealthy. But believe me when i say that on the whole the people with the higher levels of education, in my humble experience, have by far the better quality of life be it better working conditions or more money. Those tits would be tits with or without diplomas as would the successful people be successful with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I went to a good few secondary schools, (the headmasters could never come round to my way of thinking). Regardless i wanted to study something completly outside of farming and did. Still use what i learnt to an extent from everywhere i was, however it is the wider range and sort of people that you meet and can lead or mislead you that just are that bit out of your comfort zone back home. Travelling was the best decision i ever made and the contacts i made when travelling have landed me more contracts than would ever have been made if i had just stayed round home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Did my leaving cert, never lived on a farm as I grew up but would work with contractors during the summers so after school I tried the buildings and sparky as well. Wasn't happy with either so when I was 18 I signed up cos I Hadnt any idea what I wanted to do. Few trips overseas and after building a house I got myself in order and started off farming myself.
    Was never given anything for nothing as I grew up and I believe that it made me the person I am today as I understand the value of a days work. I had to work to earn money to buy anything so i learned to value that item as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sure without education I wouldn't be able to read boards.ie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

What about a large tillage farm or market garden?!
    Did anyone do crop and machinery management in ag college? Looks like a very good course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Not trying to have a go at you loveta, but I hate that auld talk. I know loads of poor people with no education and some wealthy. But believe me when i say that on the whole the people with the higher levels of education, in my humble experience, have by far the better quality of life be it better working conditions or more money. Those tits would be tits with or without diplomas as would the successful people be successful with them.

No offence taken,
    Your right in some of what your saying and we all need a certain standard of a education but having a degree in something does not necessarily make you any good at it in my honest opinion "be it correct or incorrect" there is to much emphasis put on "the bit of paper" than there is on the bit of knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

ideally it would be great to have a degree in something that might compliment farming, say for instance, business & accounting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

jfh wrote: »
    ideally it would be great to have a degree in something that might compliment farming, say for instance, business & accounting.

or veterinary:D