Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit and Run

• 25-01-2014 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

I am looking for any help whatsoever in finding a car, it rammed into my brother's car and sped off, however he got the reg. He gave the gardai the details, however the car is non registered since 2010. It happened on Drumcondra road lwr and the car escaped up hollybank road. If anyone has any info or can help I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Contact the MIBI, that is why we have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Let the Gardai deal with it
    The car is registered you can't unregister a car unless it's gone to be scrapped
    If it ain't scrapped it has a registered owner
    If it is scrapped contact MIBI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭prodigy1

Sorry, Imean the car was sold back in 2010, sold to someone who didnt register it in their name!! Gardai can only hope that it gets stopped at some stage! What is MIBI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

prodigy1 wrote: »
    Sorry, Imean the car was sold back in 2010, sold to someone who didnt register it in their name!! Gardai can only hope that it gets stopped at some stage! What is MIBI?

MIBI is motor insurance bureau of Ireland they deal with uninsured drivers

Gardai can find out who has the car for one thing it must have been NCT'd and insured
    Your story doesn't make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭lmao

angelfire9 wrote: »

Gardai can find out who has the car for one thing it must have been NCT'd and insured

Really, I didn't realise we had a full compliance rate with cars NCT'd and insured!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

angelfire9 wrote: »

It does make sense, you just dont seem to be able to understand:confused:

you can buy a car for cash,not tax,register insure or nct it and take your chances you dont get caught.

how will the guards be able to find the owner unless they luckily manage to catch them at a routine check point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭prodigy1

Your story doesn't make sense[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your replies, I now understand what MIBI is for. Regardin that the story does not make sense, I am still confused by it as well. This is exactly what he has been told by gardai,"The car was sold to someone who didnt register it in their name, (usually few young lads going splits on it) and no insurance on it since 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Leave it to the Gardai OP