Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

neighbours from hell

• 24-01-2014 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭

Ok so we have lived in a council house for 2 years and it is a quiet place except for the house next door to me . they have serious scum in and out of the house at all hours over the weekend, major rows in it too, drinking and drug taking 24/7 , rubbish being thrown into our garden and items been stolen from our garden. Called the council today and they told me they know all about them they are trying to evict but they contacted lawyers who are fighting their eviction notice on the grounds its in breach of their basic human rights to evict them.
    Was also asked to make a statement to the guards about the threats and harassment i received the other night but if i do i could be called as a witness in court dont really want to go there as it would basically make things 10x times worse for me
    Is there anything i and my wife can do? we have 4 small kids and it isnt a safe environment for them to be in. we dont have a moments piece and are living in fear .
    any advice given would be really appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Have a look here

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html

Also have a chat with one of your local councillors or one of the nearest Sinn Fein representitives.

You could also ring the guards some night they are having a drug fuelled party.

As if life aint hard enough than to be dealing with scum neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Have a look here

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html

Also have a chat with one of your local councillors or one of the nearest Sinn Fein representitives.

You could also ring the guards some night they are having a drug fuelled party.

As if life aint hard enough than to be dealing with scum neighbours.

Thanks Rhys , rang garda last night but wanted a statement but were currently too afraid to give one , your right ill try that 1st thing monday morning thanking you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭chefwes

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Thanks Rhys , rang garda last night but wanted a statement but were currently too afraid to give one , your right ill try that 1st thing monday morning thanking you :)

Man as much as I hate saying it but definatly go to sinn fein they'll help you out.

chefwes wrote: »
    Man as much as I hate saying it but definatly go to sinn fein they'll help you out.

Are sinn fein the best crowd to go to ? ( i know nothing about politics or parties ) lol

I presume you are dealing with the anti social section in the council?

Report every instance of this behaviour, also report to the gardai. Tell them you just want these things noted for now. Explain you want them noted on their computer system.
    The anti social section in the council deal closely with gardai. Perhaps find your local community guard & let them know of the situation.

Also if any of your other neighbours were to report anti social behaviour that would help the council with eviction.
    It does take a while but the council can evict. The more incidents they have on record the better it us.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I presume you are dealing with the anti social section in the council?

Report every instance of this behaviour, also report to the gardai. Tell them you just want these things noted for now. Explain you want them noted on their computer system.
    The anti social section in the council deal closely with gardai. Perhaps find your local community guard & let them know of the situation.

Also if any of your other neighbours were to report anti social behaviour that would help the council with eviction.
    It does take a while but the council can evict. The more incidents they have on record the better it us.

yes was told this by a committee tonight :) have lots of incidents and reports gone in over the past few months , but no movement or change in attitude yet :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Ham Sambo

The council have a duty of care for all their tenants who are on their books, the contract that you and your neighbours signed outlines in black and white what can happen when 'anti-social behaviour' becomes a serious issue. Whoever you are dealing with in the housing section is dragging his or her heels and you need to go over their heads, if this was a private rented tenancy you could approach the PRTB but because it's the council you will have to deal with them, however both sets of rules apply to private rented or council houses.

If it is proven that this is taking place the council can give your neighbours up to seven days notice to quit for serious offences, Google your local councils website and see what the set up is, I can imagine it's not a nice place you are in at the moment, e-mail all your local TD's Co. Councillers, etc, e-mail them every day with updates as to what is going on, e-mail them until you become a complete pain in the ar*e to them until they sort this out. best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Are sinn fein the best crowd to go to ? ( i know nothing about politics or parties ) lol

Just a word of advice Sinn Fein wouldn't be sending them a friendly letter or anything like that, but you wouldn't be bothered again. If you are looking for PC help I'd advise looking elsewhere. That's if what they say is true, never asked them for help with a situation like this, but I know they don't look kindly on innocent people especially children being in harms way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Okay here's a positive, you are both council tennants, it would be a much more difficult situation if they were renting privately as you have to go via the PRTB and that takes a hell of long time especially with an apathetic LL. get onto your local county councillor, it would probably be even better if ye have a residents Comittee and you could get a county councillor to come to the meeting and listen to everyone's concerns and complaints. The good thing is that they are already in the process of trying to evict them, give them every bit of ammunition you can, start making a log of all incidences, right down the time, date, what happened, who was involved etc. start logging complaints with the gardai, keep onto the council.

If you are fearful then Sinn Fein is apparently the way to go, I've never heard of it being done myself but apparently they are very helpful in cases like this.

Just wanted to say that there is nothing worse than being the victim of anti-social behavior, have been myself though to a lesser extent, it's hell on earth trying to live that way wondering what's going to happen next.