Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good man Enda

• 24-01-2014 3:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Does anyone think Enda Kenny's brining Bono with him to a buisness forum was another disaster. Bring Bono a man who moved his company out of the state to entice company's to invest and move to Ireland. I wounder did he get paid for it and did he get paid in to his over seas company. So far this week we have had irish water, rehab lotto and now this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Does anyone think Enda Kenny's brining Bono with him to a buisness forum was another disaster. Bring Bono a man who moved his company out of the state to entice company's to invest and move to Ireland. I wounder did he get paid for it and did he get paid in to his over seas company. So far this week we have had irish water, rehab lotto and now this

Did he "bring" him or was Bono not just there anyway trying to drum up cash for his anti aids charity RED ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Did Enda bring him? Or did he go independently?

And how was it a disaster?

Did you just make all that up and hope someone might agree with your ramblings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

If Enda wished to impress people whom he wishes to move their companies to Ireland, then they would not be put off by someone who moved their company.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

ardmacha wrote: »
    If Enda wished to impress people whom he wishes to move their companies to Ireland, then they would not be put off by someone who moved their company.
    Ah lads, can't ye get yeer facts right, he ony moved da wan (to The Netherlands) de resht of um is shtill here, jobs, tax etc.

Do ye work for the Sindo, Daily Wail, Farmers' Junket, Starless, Sunlight or wha;?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭noodler

ardmacha wrote: »

This to be honest.

We have been benefitting from such actions for years yet cry holy bloody murder when someone does it to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Enda Kenny has been the worst Taoiseach in my living memory (that's John Brutal forward by the way....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Really blue??? Brian, Bertie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Blue Magic wrote: »
    Enda Kenny has been the worst Taoiseach in my living memory (that's John Brutal forward by the way....)

You have a very short memory then - cue Cowen and Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Blue Magic wrote: »

What a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Avns1s wrote: »
    You have a very short memory then - cue Cowen and Bertie.

I dunno. While Cowen and Bertie were no prizes themselves, I've come to realise that they actually delivered what they promised - that the "party" would continue for as long as possible!

Kenny on the other hand promised, reform, a new approach and transparency... instead we got more of the same "austerity for some", cute-hoorism and jobs for the boys as we had with their predecessors.

On that criteria then Kenny is arguably the worst of the 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭A Scoundrel

Enda Kenny, the proxy Taoiseach.

He's been the Troika's ambassador to Ireland for the past 3 years. I think it laughable that otherwise intelligent individuals praise his 'leadership'. Come, now. Save it for the Fine Gael Ard Fheis.

Ireland has had three fine Taoisigh: Sean Lemass, C.J. Haughey, and Bertie Ahern. We may find the latter two ethically reprehensible, but I am referring to social and economic progress alone, regardless of their unattractive personalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭sin_city

Enda Kenny, the proxy Taoiseach.

He's been the Troika's ambassador to Ireland for the past 3 years. I think it laughable that otherwise intelligent individuals praise his 'leadership'. Come, now. Save it for the Fine Gael Ard Fheis.

Ireland has had three fine Taoisigh: Sean Lemass, C.J. Haughey, and Bertie Ahern. We may find the latter two ethically reprehensible, but I am referring to social and economic progress alone, regardless of their unattractive personalities.

Bertie's benchmarking was a great idea.

I consider most politicians PR people. You're not going to get the truth but when Bertie said in 2006 "the boom is getting boomier", you have to question either his intelligence or his intentions in deceiving the public he was supposed to be serving.....He didn't need to say it.

If it really was Lemass that started the change that would lead to a low Corp tax then he deserves a lot of credit.

sin_city wrote: »
    Bertie's benchmarking was a great idea.

I consider most politicians PR people. You're not going to get the truth but when Bertie said in 2006 "the boom is getting boomier", you have to question either his intelligence or his intentions in deceiving the public he was supposed to be serving.....He didn't need to say it.
    I'm going to go off on a bit of a tangent here, but since when did Irish people treat Bertie like an economic demigod, and believe everything the Taoiseach said?

Post-Haughey, Irish politics has been riddled with public skpeticism. Bertie was not treated or hailed as an economic maestro in office, he was always seen as a chancer. I wouldn't have let Bertie Ahern in charge of the finances of our local GAA club, nevermind take economic advice from the man. People form their opinions, they always have, and Bertie was always a chancer in the public mind. If the public invest heavily in a known chancer's promises, they deserve their fate.

Bertie was a great Taoiseach, but certainly not for his personal economic talents. He was a politician and a man. His brain was in his stomach and his guts, but he did not have a brain trained for criticism. Cowen, on the other hand, was academically bright, but utterly without gumption and leadership, and is deserving of nothing but ire.

Ahern is a complex figure, deserving of great criticism, yet worthy, too, of public accolades for his achievements, all of which are unlikely to be recognized over the short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭sin_city

Ahern is a complex figure, deserving of great criticism, yet worthy, too, of public accolades for his achievements, all of which are unlikely to be recognized over the short term.

I don't know....I think a lot of people will never vote for Fianna Fail again because of him.

sin_city wrote: »
    I don't know....I think a lot of people will never vote for Fianna Fail again because of him.
    I don't blame them. Fianna Fail scarcely deserve a vote after the last administration. I think Bertie Ahern's importance is misremembered and he is unfairly castigated for the economic collapse, but I am no apologist for Fianna Fail after Ahern. Nobody can excuse Fianna Fail policy after 2008. They don't deserve re-election in the foreseeable future.

Lets see again after 2020.