Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Odometer on my bike ticked over to 50,000km today

• 24-01-2014 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭

Today, the odometer on my bike ticked over to 50,000km. I felt I should mark this milestone in some meaningful way - and a Boards post feels like a suitable way.

efrl.jpg

I've cycled everywhere for most of my life. I remember getting lifts to school "back in the day" early in primary school, and genuinely remember the shock on the 1st of September around 4th class (I would have been about 10) when my mother said to us "Right - no more lifts to school. I'll buy you bikes or you can walk". And that was that. I cycled right through secondary school. And then for four years in and out of Dublin city to college (I mastered the art of safely cycling in traffic going up George's Street and down Dame Street during those years). When I started work 6 and a half years ago, I just kept with the flow. It was at this point that I bought an odometer for the bike to see how far I was actually cycling. Given that I had been cycling for about 12 years at that point, I imagine the true figure is somewhere around 120,000km - but we have to start counting somewhere!
    In hindsight - kicking me out of the car was probably the single biggest gift to get from a parent. Suddenly there was an "outside world". It's funny how the confines of a car separates you from the outside world. I realised that the world didn't consist of just "home", "the car" and "school".. But there was actually somewhere in between. With different routes that you could choose between.. And weather.. Suddenly I had the ability to explore places on the bike.

It wasn't long before I was having all sorts of adventures. I started cycling recreationally up in the mountains, raced Ironman Switzerland and the many, many, many miles of cycling in the Wicklow mountains to train for it:
    4837641935_5fa60d37e4_b%5B1%5D%5B4%5D.jpg

I cycled from Dublin to Dingle to go on holidays one year :
    CycleToKerry-1%5B1%5D%5B3%5D.jpg

During the Big Freeze in December 2010, there was a week a half where the roads in South West Dublin were covered in a foot and a half of snow and compacted ice, and impassable to any vehicle. Mountain bike was literally the only way to get around, and that I did! It was quite surreal making the 11km cycle to work on completely empty roads. You get quite fast at cycling in snow after a few days, it turns out, with a cycle / jump off and carry the bike combination where the snow got too deep to cycle through.

When I got married, I was damned if I was posting all of the invitations, so we created a twelve man cycle currier race to deliver the invitations around Dublin by bike. Time was assigned per invitation delivered, per km between invitations, as well as "tea time" when dropping into houses, and we set off in a staggered fashion with the winner being the first person crossing the finishing line having delivered all of his/her invitations. It turned out to be great craic, and a good talking point at the wedding.

Some personal musings on fifty thousand kilometres in the saddle:

Health: Does a large amount of cycling effect male fertility? I'm probably in a unique enough position to blast this one out of the water. I had been cycling for 12 years when I took part in a study on the effect of exercise on the body. Among other things, for the males participating, the two main factors in male fertility, sperm count and mobility, were measured. The people who exercised regularly scored significantly higher than those who didn't, and the subcategory of those who "cycled regularly" scored higher again than people who didn't. It seems if you want to be less fertile, chose a sedentary method of transport. The cardiovascular performance results of the study showed very clearly that people who walked or cycled to get around were in much better shape than people who drove or took another exercise-free method. I guess it's a funny quirk of human risk perception that many people see cycling as dangerous when your life expectancy actually goes up as soon as you start cycling. We seem to lack the long range risk perception to appreciate how badly obesity can damage our health/quality of life, or that of our children.

Safety: Although it's hard to deny that there are risks to cycling on the roads - I think there are a few things you can do to bring the chances of getting in an accident down to almost zero (less than that of being in a car accident anyway). I've come to observe a few principles to reduce risk as much as possible:
    • I observe that almost all of the "close calls" I've had have been due to left turning vehicles. Vehicles mostly turn left at junctions with other roads (when turning into drive ways, they seem to check their mirrors more than at junctions so this is less of a risk). That means there's only a small time that they'll occupy an area where you could come in contact with them. If you imagine a box to the front left of a car, that's where they'll turn into. If you never enter this box at a junction, you will never be in the position that you could be hit. I find that with very little energy waste, I can avoid ever entering that front left position of a car at a junction, thereby removing the highest risk point on the road. That alone probably reduces my chances of an accident by 75%. x7q0.png
    • Obey the rules of the road. If you show respect to motorists and other cyclists, you'll get a lot more back.
    • You hear this one a lot but most people still don't seem to do it - don't cycle right on the curb. Cycle a .5 to 1m out from it. If you cycle right beside the curb, cars will go by without waiting for a safe space to overtake and inevitably have to pull in on top of you when a car comes in the opposite direction. Cycling a little further out isn't "selfish". It reduces the chances of an accident for everyone around you.
    • Don't ever enter go within a door's-opening-width of a parked car. Even if it means moving into the middle of a traffic lane - if you're never in that space, you'll never be caught by an unexpected opening door.
    • Don't ever go up the inside of a Heavy Goods Vehicle. It may cost 2 or 3 minutes every tenth cycle, but given that almost all cyclists killed are due to left turning HGVs, if you observe this one alone, you probably cut your chances of being killed on the road to virtually zero.

Finance of cycling: We have one car in our household, and averaging the last 5 years (not including the initial purchase of the car) it costs €5427 a year to run between Tax, Insurance, Maintenance, Petrol and Sundry. My cycling to work and everywhere else has removed the need for a second car. In the six and a half years since I started working where I do, that's saved €35,275.50 and counting. I never thought about how much I saved while cycling into college for 4 years, because I probably wouldn't have been able to afford the bus anyway, but it would have been something like €4.40 per day x 260 weekdays a year x 4 years = €4,576. In terms of the cost of cycling, I've spent about €100 a year on components and maintenance (versus €5427 for a car). I bought this book many moons ago, along with a maintenance tool kit and a stand in Lidl, and have done most of my own servicing since. In terms of reducing component costs - the brakes are the only thing that wares out with regularity. I bought these brake shoes, and can just slip in new brake pads (these) - every 2-3 months. I haven't noticed any difference between these and more expensive V-brake options, and the price is certainly right.

It's certainly been a long road, but it's been a fun one. At my current rate, you can expect a "The Odometer on my bike ticked over to 100,000km today" post on the 18th June, 2020!

Here's to the next 50,000km!

Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Really good post! Congrats on the milestone!

I find your observations on safety are spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stevieg2009

Very good post well written thanks for taking the time to share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Conor20: I am in awe here with you. That's one massive achievement to firstly tick over the 50,000km and beyond; but also the history to where you have reached the point you're currently at.

Hope you are proud of yourself :)
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

Very interesting post, some good observations and what a great milestone. Chapeau good sir!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Excellent, congratulations!

I will the detailed reading for the evening :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Congratulations...well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Well done, great post, inspirational.
    But did you have to mention The IronMan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Just thinking 50k should entitle you to a new bike purchase:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I got thoroughly jealous at all this talk of MTBing along abandoned snow roads.

Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That's only 31068.56 in miles.

Wish I'd cycled 31068.56 miles.....

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tommythecat

Congrats! Really nice post to read on a friday morning! I'm gonna look into those brake shoes and pads now! Thanks!

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

well done sir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Very nice post. :)
    Sometimes people say tl,dr (too long, didn't read).
    Your post was ..... too short, I read it all, and want more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

And in one swift moment, the whole boards cycling community was shamed :pac:

Sweet thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Great post ..well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Either I met you on my commute yesterday (nice save!) or some else also hit 50000kms recently too!

Well done, great achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Great post, should be a must-read for anyone who's unsure about starting cycle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 vincentohanlon

Well done Connor. I've done a good few of them KM's at your side! Many more to come!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Great post!
    It's like that tingly Friday feeling...
    So glad I cycled this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Páid

Congratulations. Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭sonandheir

Fair play Conor. I was a long time fair weather commuter and recreational cyclist. Sold my car last July and have clocked up somewhere in region of 4,000 kms on the new Giant defy I got through cycle to work. I absolutely love it, feeling much fitter, gotten into to doing my own servicing (thanks YouTube), and saving a load over driving.
    Most people at work seem totally surprised that I commute by bicycle. I am the only person in the building I work (250 people approx) who cycles, even though I know a fair few who live a lot closer then me.
    You're cycling safety tips are very good and staying out a metre from kerb and watching out for left turning hgvs are advice I'd always pass on to other cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Ulick

What a wonderful post. Well done on getting to that landmark.

Your safety tip in relation to going up the insude of HGV's is one I follow myslef and all urban/commuting cyclists should follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

My legs got tired reading this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Carpenter wrote: »
    My legs got tired reading this

Your legs can read?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I wonder how many kilos heavier you would be if you ate the same amount but didn't cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Well done man.
    I did with Christmas cards what you did with wedding invites one winter. It ended up better than a stag night!
    So how many bikes in the shed? Any big falls, cycling into parked cars....that sort of story?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Time for a hip replacement maybe? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Great post, well done Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Really enjoyed reading that, thank you for taking the time to share it here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Lovely story.

Well done Conor and thanks for writing that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I'm not into cycling really but that first post would encourage me to do it more regularly. Its just a pity my workplace isn't more near by.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

... and congratulations Conor on making Post of the Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 gannon

Very good post Conor. The wedding invitations was a great idea and lets hope we do another one in the next few years.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

That's all kinds of lovely.

Congratulations, and good luck with the next 50k!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Conor20

I know it's been a long, long time since I started this thread. But this morning I hit another notable milestone. Today, the odometer on my bike ticked over 75,000km (46,500 miles).

75000KmOnTheBike-1.jpg

Some updates since I started this thread 25,000km ago..

I changed jobs roughly two years ago and the commute jumped to 26km (16 miles) each way. Because this type of distance is something which most people would drive or use public transport to cover, and I must admit I wasn't sure if I could cycle 52km every day, it was a good opportunity to look into the costs of each and decide which option to take. There is no easy public transport covering the journey so I had a simple choice: buy a car and drive, or cycle and save that money. We moved house as part of the job change and my wife did need a car, and so that gave a way to know exactly what it would cost to buy and operate a car, and hence to work out how much I would save by cycling.

We looked to find the cheapest car to own and operate for my wife's car, and that turned out to be a second hand electric Nissan Leaf. We picked up the cheapest second hand Leaf we could find with the range we needed, which was a 2015 Leaf costing €14,950. I was able to observe the costs (depreciation, insurance, "Fuel" (electricity), maintenance) of that over the last two years (below) and it cost €448.78 a month to keep on the road. That's €448.78 * 12 = €5,385.36 a year, and €5,385.36 * 2 = €10,770.72 for two years. 11 grand!

Monthly Car costs:
    • Monthly Payment / Deprecation: €247.92 per month
    • Insurance: €152.26
    • Electricity: 8kWh per day @ .14 8 * .14 = €1.12 per day * 30 = €33.60 per month
    • Maintenance: Just tires as it's an electric car with no engine. €320 for a set of new tires. 360 / 24 = €15 per month
    • Total: 247.92 + 152.26 + 33.60 + 15 = €448.78 per month
    • €448.78 * 12 = €5,385.36 per year

I already had a bike so I was able to make the decision: was I willing to accept €448.78 a month, tax free, to ditch the car and cycle into work every day?
    You can probably guess what I chose. I've been doing the commute for the best part of two years now, so I've saved €448.78 a month * 22 months = €9,873.16 on car costs so far. Because of tax on income, I'd need to get a raise of €7,970.33 a year to increase my income by €5,385.36.. A long cycle commute leaves lots of time to think about numbers!

About three years ago, I had bought an electric bike conversion kit from Dillinger which you could fit to an existing bike. It was one of their early models and while it worked well for a while, eventually, the contacts on the battery wore down and it stopped working. So the bulk of the commute above, I did on a fairly bog-standard commuter bike. However, four months ago, about half way through the winter, I decided I'd try out a newer version of the kit to see if it could take some time off of the commute. I bought Dillinger's newer conversion kit, a 250W electric front wheel with a battery that slots into the bike bottle holder, so you can fit it to most "normal" bikes. It appears that electric bike technology has come on a huge way in the last few years, and I've been really impressed. It's taken about 15 minutes off of the cycle each way, and admittedly, it makes cycling in the wind and hills significantly easier. It wasn't particularly cheap - €550 - but given it's about the cost of running a car for a single month, I didn't feel too bad. I'm glad I went for it. While I probably would have continued cycling regardless, I feel like an electric kit like this could genuinely enable anyone to commute 10-20km each way every day as a genuine alternative to a car. It also gave me a way to ferry two kids around by bike:

TwoKidsOnTheBike-1.jpg

Since I started this thread in 2014, I initially made slower progress towards 100,000km than expected due to the arrival of two children, but since the move to a longer commute, I've been racking up quite a few miles. Working out how much I was saving by cycling each day (€20.40 every day!) keeps me sane on the days that the weather is bad, and on the days that the weather is good, it's a pleasure.

So another 25,000km on, still having fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

What a great story! I hope you don't mind if I quote it here and there to advocate (e-) cycling over motorised commute? The numbers speak for themselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Well done , I admire what you're doing and keep it up ,also you saved serious money by going for an electric car., however What is the extra time involved in the commute cycling over driving ?.

If I was you, I'd also be more generous to my biking budget and buy one one of these

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=131783

It would also be interesting to see how much Co2 your family has saved per annum .

Bigus wrote: »
    What is the extra time involved in the commute cycling over driving ?.
    I commute a very same distance and by driving I can save about 30 to 40 min per trip against the bike
    It would also be interesting to see how much Co2 your family has saved per annum .
    A lot :cool:

Manufacturing an electric car (or any car) takes massive amout of resources, so before you travel your first km in it it has already done more damage to the Environment that a single bike for the lifetime of the rider.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Seweryn wrote: »
    I commute a very same distance and by driving I can save about 30 to 40 min per trip against the bike
    depends on the commute. for me, it's about an hour whether i cycle, drive*, or take PT, but cycling is by far the most consistent/predictable timewise. and that's also allowing for the shower at the end.

*caveat here is that i haven't driven to the office in many years; it's about half an hour in clear traffic, so my guess at an hour is based on normal rush hour traffic, with the average being pushed up by snarl-ups on the M50.

depends on the commute. for me, it's about an hour whether i cycle, drive*, or take PT, but cycling is by far the most consistent/predictable timewise. and that's also allowing for the shower at the end.
    That is for sure. It very much depends on the roads you commute on (especially when driving. For cycling it makes little to no difference). My commute time by bike or car is normally +/- 5 min one way or the other.
    *caveat here is that i haven't driven to the office in many years; it's about half an hour in clear traffic, so my guess at an hour is based on normal rush hour traffic, with the average being pushed up by snarl-ups on the M50.
    Ah... the "rush hour". It is the hour when things barely move ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Very cool thread! I was mulling over the idea of a house purchase which would involve a bike commute from Greystones to Dublin city centre & this has renewed my confidence in the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Very cool thread! I was mulling over the idea of a house purchase which would involve a bike commute from Greystones to Dublin city centre & this has renewed my confidence in the idea.

The electric bike, as someone has suggested elsewhere, would make a big difference for that commute.

Well done, I admire what you're doing and keep it up, also you saved serious money by going for an electric car. However what is the extra time involved in the commute cycling over driving?

It takes about the same time on average to cycle vs drive due to traffic on the roads. The biggest difference is the consistancy of cycling over driving. Because of the big variability of driving (sometimes it would take 40 minutes by car, sometimes 1.5 hours - you would never know) I would need to leave lots of extra time to ensure I'm on time for work. On a bike, I know exactly what time I'll arrive so I don't need to leave a big buffer just in case there's a crash on the road, etc. The electric bike took about 15-20 minutes off the cycle time, and also when I arrived I was able to jump straight into other things like looking after kids, so it was a big gain.

This is pretty straight forward to calculate. Cycling vs car for example, I calculated (here) saved 724.2kg CO2 per year (I cycled 3,640km that year, which in a petrol car which emits 200g CO2/km would be 728kg CO2). Charging the battery in the bike for those 3,640km from the Irish grid released 3.8kg CO2, so cycling instead of driving prevented 724.2kg CO2 being released into the atmosphere. I need to do an all up calculation for our family to know the full number to date, but we've done a few things thus far (see those here if you're interested) -
    1. Switched to cycling over driving (Bike to Work scheme to save 50%)
    2. Swithing our lights to LEDs - this one pays for itself in about ten minutes
    3. Insulate the house really well (SEAI grant for this)
    4. Switching to an electric car
    5. Adding Solar panels (SEAI Grant for this)
    6. and we hope soon to switch our house's heating to a heat pump (SEAI grant for this) so we can heat it electrically and no longer have any gas / oil bills.

Definitely go for it. With an electric bike, it'd be no problem at all. I found that after a few weeks of the longer cycle commute, I started having more and more energy throughout the day so there's probably some beneficial fitness and metabolism effects from cycling a decent distance every day that you can take advantage of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 RenewalDiary

The financing side is insightful. Thank you.

Do you have anyone you'd recommend for bike insurance?

The financing side is insightful. Thank you.
    Do you have anyone you'd recommend for bike insurance?

No problem, thanks.

For insurance - I'm not if you mean insurance for yourself or your bikes. If you're talking about your bikes, add them explicitly to your home insurance. For yourself while you're cycling, if you join Cycling Ireland, it includes insurance for you in accidents, both for you and any third party involved in an accident. Check out http://www.cyclingireland.ie/page/membership/insurance :
    Membership of Cycling Ireland provides the following Insurance cover.

1: Personal Accident
    This cover again applies to when you are training, competing or officiating in an approved activities of Cycling Ireland. Medical expenses are covered to a maximum of €2,500 each claim which includes dental expenses up to €2,000. Excess of €250 applies to medical and dental claims. There is also an inner limit of €250 for physiotherapy expenses. Loss of earnings is covered for a maximum of €150 per week for a maximum of 13 weeks with the first week not being covered.

2: Public Liability (“Third Party”)
    Covers you for any third party liability or property damage for which you are held legally liable. (a third party is a person not accredited with membership of Cycling Ireland) when you are training, competing or officiating in an approved Cycling Ireland activity. (a €500 excess applies to each claim, to be paid by claimant). There is no cover in respect of any Injury or Damage suffered by one participant caused by another participant during training activities.

There is an indemnity limit of €7.5 million per incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭delynet

Just spotted this discussion. Great opening post and nice to read the updates since.

I put something similar together a while back, my own journey to get to 50,000.

https://www.dely.net/cycling-blog/buying-a-bicycle-the-first-50000km/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

delynet wrote: »
    Just spotted this discussion. Great opening post and nice to read the updates since.

I put something similar together a while back, my own journey to get to 50,000.

https://www.dely.net/cycling-blog/buying-a-bicycle-the-first-50000km/

Great read!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Whats the odometer at today? :)

SomeFool wrote: »
    Whats the odometer at today? :)

It ticked over 80,000km about a month ago. 80,950km today. And the vast majority of those kms on a hybrid bike I bought second hand for €240 on Adverts. It's 12 years now and so it's saved about €65,124 in car expenses. I can only imagine how much in future health costs it's saved. At least that much again I assume. Maintenance on the bike has continued to be very little - new brake pads twice a year and new tires every 18-24 months, about €100 a year. I did also spend about €1,000 on an electric bike a few years ago, and while I don't use it that often, it has proven to be incredibly useful for shopping, getting kids around and for travel to social or work events where I want/need to wear more formal clothes.

The projection in my initial post that I would hit 100,000km by July 2020 turned out to be overly optimistic as it was based on the millage I was wracking up with daily commutes plus a lot of weekend cycling. Nevertheless, there have been plenty of adventures since that initial post - I moved country for 18 months, and took the bike with me. For those 18 months, I was doing a daily commute of 26km each way on the bike, so 52km a day. I certainly got the "oh god.. not this 26km cycle" feeling on winter mornings when it was dark and raining but once I got going, I always enjoyed it a lot. In some ways I enjoyed these cycles to work because they were hard. When you arrive at work having cycled in the wind and the rain, even just sitting at a desk feels good! I try to create this contrast in my life - experience (very mild) hardship to appreciate comfort.

So a little while to go before I get to 100,000km but I'll get there!