Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever had the cinema to yourself?

• 24-01-2014 2:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭

I remember @ least 1 maybe 2 times we all went to see a movie AND WE WERE THE ONLY ONES THERE!!! (Didnt happen very often)

I dont goto the theater anymore...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Yes, and every time it was for an awful film. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Recently me and the gf went to the Harry Hill movie. We were the only two there and we walked out after ten minutes.

A while back I went to see paranormal 2 on my own and I was the only one in the theatre for the whole film. It was spooky, I even changed seats and went up the back so there would be no ghosts behind me.

I did make a couple of phone calls during the film, just to say "HELLO, I'M IN THE CINEMA, IN THE MIDDLE OF A FILM".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

speed 2, there were about 8-10 there for a birthday and no one else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

I did when I had bad BO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

yup , just me and the girlfriend, was for the matrix film if I remember
    awful film to be honest, no wonder no one was their!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Years ago I went to Pirates of the Caribbean 3 with a new girlfriend.

Whole back row to ourselves, didn't see a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Years ago I went to Pirates of the Caribbean 3 with a new girlfriend.

Whole back row to ourselves, didn't see a thing.

You should have moved closer if you couldn't see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Warrior is the only one (Black Dynamite and Star Trek Into Darkness had 2 other people) where I had the cinema to myself, damn good film too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

The nearest I had to an empty cinema was the Jaws anniversary screening (last year I think). Only three people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Loads of times, off the top of my head saw The Dark Knight Rises about a week after release during a really hot day and had the entire place to myself, bunch of other ones over the years, afternoon weekday screenings ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Only once, when I went to see the UK indie film Albatross, starring Jessica Brown Findlay, Felicity Jones and Sebastian Koch.

It's only happened twice where it's been me and one other person. Once was for the long-forgotten 1995 thriller Kiss of Death, with Nicolas Cage, Samuel L. Jackson and David Caruso.
    The second time was for A Clockwork Orange, where I was on my own for the first twenty minutes, and then another guy came in, corresponding almost exactly with
    Alex's arrest and detention
    . He had missed - either by accident or design -
    all the opening scenes of rape violence
    . If he'd never seen it before, he may have wondered what all the fuss was about.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Weekday afternoons are great times to watch a flick

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

When I saw Dirty Pretty Things I had to myself, also when I saw Rush recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

went to the hobbit tuesday night. There was only 2 others there at a 6pm showing

I saw The Descent in an empty cinema, that was an experience to say the least.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I saw Jules and Jim in the Lighthouse a few years ago and I was the only person there. I was delighted to see a great film on the big screen but some more punters might have added to the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

It happened to me once in 1997 when I went to see Event Horizon. It wasn't empty when I went in (I think there were three or four others there).
    When it was over and I got up to leave I was the only person there.
    It almost happened again when I went to see The Thin Red Line. I was on my way in and it was about to start. The cinema owner said "Erm, there's only yourself" so I felt bad and said "Ah it's OK" and went home. I didn't want to put him to the expense/trouble for one person.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

lukin wrote: »
    It happened to me once in 1997 when I went to see Event Horizon. It wasn't empty when I went in (I think there were three or four others there).
    It almost happened again when I went to see The Thin Red Line. I was on my way in and it was about to start. The cinema owner said "Erm, there's only yourself" so I felt bad and said "Ah it's OK" and went home. I didn't want to put him to the expense/trouble for one person.

Was it the only screen in the cinema or something?

lukin wrote: »

Films would play regardless I thought, definitely would now since it's all digital projection. I know when I worked in a cinema many moons ago it'd be very rare they wouldn't play a movie in case people arrived late. Anyone work in a cinema now care to shed some light?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Was it the only screen in the cinema or something?

No there were two other screens but it was a small cinema in a small town (it has since closed down). Erra yer man was a bit of a b******s to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Sure plenty of times. Third part of Star wars, The dark knight, Captain America, Thor, The hurt locker. Plenty more i can't think of I'm sure.

The missus isn't into super heroes or war movies so if i can't get a mate to go with me, i go on my own.

There were two guy's clearly on their own at The wolf of wall street last night, So not to strange it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

A few times actually mostly with films on their last legs in their cinema runs or films that don't attract big audiences.

Went to see Anchorman 2 with the Girlfriend last week and we were the only ones there. Saw The Dark Knight and the Dark knight Rises in empty Cinemas but that was during the end of their runs.

Any films with small runs in cinema usually don't have a lot of people. So went to see the Railway men during the week and that was empty too.

So it's not rare at all depends on what time you go at and what day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Dude111

Yester wrote:
    Recently me and the gf went to the Harry Hill movie. We were the only two there and we walked out after ten minutes.
    Hehe dont blame ya for walking out icon10.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

weiland79 wrote: »
    Sure plenty of times. Third part of Star wars, The dark knight, Captain America, Thor, The hurt locker. Plenty more i can't think of I'm sure.

The missus isn't into super heroes or war movies so if i can't get a mate to go with me, i go on my own.

There were two guy's clearly on their own at The wolf of wall street last night, So not to strange it seems.

The question is have you ever been the only person in the screening.

Nothing odd/wrong with going to the cinema by yourself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Closest I've ever come to it was This Is The End. Aside from myself and my friend, there was only one other person there. A shame actually, because that's the kind of film made better by audience reaction

krudler wrote: »
    I saw The Descent in an empty cinema, that was an experience to say the least.

Couldn't deal with that! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Entire Savoy cinema to myself. Was an extra on When Brendan met Trudy. It was a nightshoot and I needed a rest. Kipped upstairs in a toilet stall while they created their masterpiece in the foyer.
    Woke up in time to sign the chit and go home £140 richer.
    Never did watch that film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

An 11am Sunday showing in Kino Svetezor Prague of 'Melancholia'. Bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

maximoose wrote: »
    The question is have you ever been the only person in the screening.

Nothing odd/wrong with going to the cinema by yourself :)

Ha Ha sorry didn't read the question properly. Yes twice first was Executive decision with Steven Segal and Kurt Russel and second was Captain America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

once when I went to see reign of fire with my Mam in the middle of the day, it was absolutely awful so that was probably why. had great craic shouting at the screen though, there's something really satisfying about shouting in an empty cinema

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Never by ourselves but with maybe 2-3 others. Funnily enough, "don't be afraid of the dark" was with 2 other people at the screening.

Also Paranormal Activity 3 I saw during the end of it's run, like an early Tuesday showing and there was about 3 other people. I'll be damned if one of the patrons HAD TO CHOOSE THE SEAT IN FRONT OF ME ANYWAY. It was like that bit out of Red Dwarf
    tpm1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭DMcL1971

Went to see 'Howl's Moving Castle' and I was the only person there.

I went to see '2012' during a daytime show when I had the day off work. I was the only person there for the first 5 minutes. Then, what seemed like an entire school tour arrived. It was me (a forty year old bloke) surrounded by about 50 teenagers. They didn't shut up once for the entire length of the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭locustfurnace

Used to finished work around 1pm a few years back and head to cinema (douglas, cork) on way home to pass a few hours before herself got home. Off top of my head I saw Gamer and District 9.. definately a few others just can't think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Was supposed to be shopping in Blanchardstown on a Monday just before Christmas when I saw that Nebraska was showing at 11 o'clock. Thought, feck the shopping, I'll see that instead.
    I was the only person there. It was brilliant. Loved the fact that I had the whole cinema to myself. It felt like a private screening. Would have been very p*ssed off if someone came in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Closest I've come is seeing The Orphanage in Dundrum with maybe 4 or 5 other people scattered about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Has happened to me a few times, the latest was when I went to see Walter mitty on new years day in blanchardstown. The film had only just been released and the tickets were only a fiver because of the mid week deal so I was really surprised that it was just me and my gf, think it was a 10pm showing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Up The Bare Stairs

Happened to me just the once. Cinema in a smallish town and it was an early evening screening of Terrence Malick's The New World so I shouldn't have been surprised. Switched seats half a dozen times during the screening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

It's happened to me a few times. Morning screenings are occasionally empty in Cineworld, especially for the independent stuff. I really like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Yep, love it but hasnt happened for a horror movie yet and I think Id enjoy i but eventually get a tad freaked :eek:, off the top of my head The Muppets movie in Rathmines, Fun with Dick & Jane in the Omniplex Santry, No strings attached in the old cinema in Stillorgan with my old school mate - laughing at pretty much everything on screen and in jokes etc the whole time out loud and an almost empty screen except for myself and two other girls there for the dark knight rises at omniplex :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Nobody else I knew wanted to see The Raid so I went on my own. Didnt think that actually nobody else at all wanted to see the film, at time, in that cinema, on that day. Sat back, relaxed and enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it worth for cinemas to be open so early??

i mean it must cost them a small fortune with electricity and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

fryup wrote: »
    is it worth for cinemas to be open so early??

i mean it must cost them a small fortune with electricity and all that
    Prisoners and Captain Philips were packed when I went to see them at half 10 in the morning, was on a weekday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I think the only film I've seen where I was the only one was 'Sky High', and I really enjoyed it! :D

Myself and herself saw "The Guard" in Connecticut with about four other Americans. Not sure if they could even understand half of the dialogue!