Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adding electronic drums to a recorded song

Options
  • 24-01-2014 1:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭

Hi all,

Quick question regarding a particular scenario I'm trying to figure out. I used to be a sound engineer years ago but it was all live work I did so I'm not really familiar with any studio or DAW stuff.

My friend is a singer and has recorded some tunes (I think mp3 format with with Ableton) but we live in different countries so can't physically get together. I'm a drummer and he wants to send me the recordings he made and then I put some drums on them. I have an electronic kit with midi out but I don't have a sound card / interface, so I'm thinking I can use a DAW (with built in drums) to import / play his recordings, and then I can overlay the built in DAW drums on his mix to make a new recording.

- What would be the best approach to do this?
    - Does his recording need to be in a particular format?
    - Is there a particular DAW that would be best suited for this scenario?
    - Which is better or easier, get a sound card with midi in and record my electronic kit or use a DAW with built in drums?

TIA

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

TBH, it really depends on how much you want to spend. I've played drums on recordings / collaborations with a few different people.

Does your kit have a stereo output? If it does, then you could get a cheap stereo RCA to mini jack cable (less than a tenner). Something like this:
    Stereo_Y_Cable_Lg.jpg.